Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2017
I stayed for a couple of nights, while on business. The staff were friendly and welcoming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, setting, location great

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: We were in ground floor room, designed for the disabled ( we are not disabled) therefore the sink in bathroom was low, however understandable.
Location: Son at Oxford university ideal for visit/drop off! Combinded visit to Blenhiem Palace. Travel,Yorkshire to Portsmouth regularly perfect overnight stay
Setting lovely by the river. Room very good, staff courteous and obliging. Used bar for evening meal excellent value and presentation. Breakfast choice wonderful, room perfect and welcomed sofas to relax after whilst reading newspaper. Spa and gym facilities perfect. Will definitely be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great countryside hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Really enjoyed the location outside the city. Plenty of space and good and service excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel looks nice, but is dated and poor bar food

Posted Oct 4, 2017
A flashback to the 1980s and a Berni Inn - beautiful building, large rooms, awful food at the bar - deep fried battered bean burger, sad steak pie. Could be so much more. Great location by the Thames - 10-15 mins from Oxford
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Comfortable resort near town

Posted Oct 3, 2017
I enjoyed my short stay at this resort on the near outskirts of Oxford. I didn't get to enjoy the amenities but wish I had. Room was perfect and comfortable albeit a touch hard to find the first couple of times. Lots of interesting sitting areas sprinkled throughout the confusing corridors! Lovely grounds and modern facilities. Would come again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds, over priced booking in advance

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Cons: staff bit grumpy at breakfast
Location: pub on the river nearby is good and good VFM
Easy check in, lovely grounds, clean, loads of fast hot water. Very relaxing, just a bit too pricey
4 out of 5
by Barrie

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel, could do with aircon in rooms on hot summer evenings
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco , ca

Charming hotel with good facilities, good service

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: its beauty, location and great breakfast
Location: close to Oxford
accommodated handicapped person with appropriate room
5 out of 5
by Dan

Very nice hotel in a quiet location.

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
This is a really nice hotel in a quiet location with lovely grounds. Service was really good and the food in both the bar and the restaurant was great. Nice swimming pool and sauna/steam rooms too. We will definitely stay here again. Rooms clean and comfortable though not particularly spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from nEW yORK

High quality hotel outside Oxford city centre

Posted Jul 5, 2017
De Vere Oxford ( also formerly known as Four Pillars) is located several miles outside of Oxford's centre. The rooms are all very modern and very clean. Breakfast is a buffet which is very good and you can order additional items from the kitchen without charge. Since I was on a cycling vacation I was without a car and decided to dine twice for diner which was excellent both nights. The grounds are country like and abuts a river. Seemed like there was ample parking for all guests. I would recommend staying here. FYI there is a sister hotel closer to the centre if this is a concern