Ratings based on 934 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Lovely hotel in great location

Posted Jan 20, 2018
The ambience is lovely and the staff are all very obliging and co-operative. My only reservation is about the breakfast. On my stays here I've always had the full English brrakfast. It's not cheap. However on a couple of occasions the food has been a bit cold aspects of it weren't all that good. I think the hotel should lift its game in this area. Apart from this it's a fine place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Lovely service. Great old school hotel. Restaurant excellent. Room excellent. Morse bar bit underwhelming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from middlesex

Lovely hotel but unpleasant smell of drains

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Staff were excellent and professional and celebrated my birthday with drinks in room provided by hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Absolutely beautiful. Lovely place to stay. Fantastic location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely hotel in centre of Oxford

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Great time with my daughter shopping and enjoying a spa day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

hotel or disco?

Posted Dec 20, 2017
We reserved a suite for 3 nights while attending a funeral of a family member in Oxford. The first night was lovely. After we retired for the evening on the second night, we heard loud disco music coming from the floor below. It turns out that the Hotel scheduled a Christmas party with loud disco music in the "Parlor" directly below our room. When we complained, we were told that there would be another party in the same space the following night. "Didn't they tell you when you checked in?" they said. We were offered a small garret in the Attic for 2 nights, and so moved rooms in the middle of the night. They did give us a credit for the difference after we asked 3 people at the front desk. But that was a small condolence when dealing with the funeral of a family member. I would like this review not to be posted. But I would like the hotel to know how this affected us. Will not reserve there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Banbury

Loved the decor of the hotel.

Posted Dec 18, 2017
The communal areas were very decroti . Staff very helpful and friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Get away in Oxford

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Cons: Teach your staff to interact with people and clean properly.
Room wasn't prepared properly before our stay (soiled toilet paper in loo, sanitary products in bin), room service breakfast was cold and missing items, staff were rude and were lied to by the valet that our parking was included in our stay (lumped with a £32 bill for a single nights parking). Avoid unless you enjoy paying £250pn to be insulted
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

High Class experience

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Centralised, easily accessible, helpful lady staff at check in counter, helpful male staff at depositing luggages counter, high class toiletries
Cons: Your male staff at counter should be more helpful by telling about pre checking in instead of if you want to check in early, you have to pay 100 pound
Location: Centralised, safe surrounding, next to Museum, supermarkets, shops, restaurants, cafes, bus terminal, Oxford University campus
I was in Oxford in 2016 & noticed this centralised hotel which is opposite to Ashmolean Museum so decided to book it for a one night stay this round. It is in the city centre so it is easily accessible and near to the bus terminal, The staff is helpful. The toiletries used are from Molton Brown (high class). I was there early before check in time 3.30pm so a lady staff helped me in pre checking in - register first & get the key later. I deposited my luggages & went for a tour of the city centre & a gathering with my Oxford lecturer & coursemates. And I pre ordered the next morning's breakfast to be delivered to my room as I needed to rush to the bus terminal to catch the 8am bus to Cardiff. The food was great. So, on the whole, the experience was awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Extra for spa !

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: everything bar the above
Cons: Very simply, stop charging extra for the spa !
Location: Central location great for shopping and sightseeing
Cannot fault the staff or room. Our only surprise was the hotel wished to charge guests £15 each for entrance to the spa. Surely a hotel of this distinction (and price) should allow guests access to this facility without supplement.