Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Excellent stay

Posted Aug 30, 2017
After moving rooms,the first one too small,we had an amazing stay, the bed was very comfortable the room very clean. Breakfast was cooked to order and plenty of choice, the staff were excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Well situated hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Other than what was already mentioned, we found the front desk staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, often going above and beyond expectations.
Cons: The only item we would mention here is the bed situation - the bed really needed replacement.
Location: see above
This hotel was excellent in every way with two exceptions. Most importantly, we were given a room with a "dead" bed. The bed had certainly seen better days and we woke each morning with a stiff backs. The bed should have been replaced years ago. That being said the room was spacious, clean, quiet and the bathroom and shower were top notch. Our booking did not include breakfast but we chose to eat breakfast at the hotel each morning of our stay. The servers were uncertain about the cost for our breakfasts and on one occasion we were charged a different cost than the other days. Our ratings above are lower due only to the bed situation - the hotel would have otherwise been rated excellent. We found the hotel to be perfectly situated for our daily excursions, walking throughout Oxford.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel that has seen better days

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: The character
Cons: all the amenities
I was stuck in a room on the 3rd floor with the lift only going to second floor. The room was under the eves and the telephone was not working. This could not be resolved. I feel that they stick Expedia customers in the least pleasant places.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel in great central location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Great modern hotel in an even better location for a weekend in Oxford. Only down side was that our room on the top floor was very warm, but the air con unit was too loud to keep on at night and opening the window was also not possible with the noise from air con vents outside. Bed was also made up with a thick duvet and blanket in August. But other than that, very nice, lovely staff and affordable for the location.
5 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Pamela

East gate Hotel Oxford

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent position, very comfortable with helpful staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great Location - Terrible Housekeeping

Posted Aug 3, 2017
We loved the location, the breakfast and the bar. The front desk staff and the housekeeping was the worst I've experienced in 40 years of travel. We stayed six nights and never once got good housekeeping service. Dirty coffee mugs, dirty water glasses, one set of towels for two guests (this happened every night... they were not capable of correcting it), etc. Th fromt desk was staffed by students and trainees. Apparently the employee with experience was on holiday. They forgot to send my dress shirts out to launder, and so they washed them with the sheets and hung them wrinkled in my closet.
4 out of 5
by Thomas Uhr

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Work visit to Oxford

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was very good.
Cons: The floorboards in the third floor corridor could do with replacing - they squeak pretty loudly whenever someone walks down the corridor.
I stayed in the Eastgate for one night on a recent trip to Oxford. My room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were very welcoming. I would stay there again.