Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Excellent stay

Posted Aug 30, 2017
After moving rooms,the first one too small,we had an amazing stay, the bed was very comfortable the room very clean. Breakfast was cooked to order and plenty of choice, the staff were excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Well situated hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Other than what was already mentioned, we found the front desk staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, often going above and beyond expectations.
Cons: The only item we would mention here is the bed situation - the bed really needed replacement.
Location: see above
This hotel was excellent in every way with two exceptions. Most importantly, we were given a room with a "dead" bed. The bed had certainly seen better days and we woke each morning with a stiff backs. The bed should have been replaced years ago. That being said the room was spacious, clean, quiet and the bathroom and shower were top notch. Our booking did not include breakfast but we chose to eat breakfast at the hotel each morning of our stay. The servers were uncertain about the cost for our breakfasts and on one occasion we were charged a different cost than the other days. Our ratings above are lower due only to the bed situation - the hotel would have otherwise been rated excellent. We found the hotel to be perfectly situated for our daily excursions, walking throughout Oxford.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel that has seen better days

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: The character
Cons: all the amenities
I was stuck in a room on the 3rd floor with the lift only going to second floor. The room was under the eves and the telephone was not working. This could not be resolved. I feel that they stick Expedia customers in the least pleasant places.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel in great central location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Great modern hotel in an even better location for a weekend in Oxford. Only down side was that our room on the top floor was very warm, but the air con unit was too loud to keep on at night and opening the window was also not possible with the noise from air con vents outside. Bed was also made up with a thick duvet and blanket in August. But other than that, very nice, lovely staff and affordable for the location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great Location - Terrible Housekeeping

Posted Aug 3, 2017
We loved the location, the breakfast and the bar. The front desk staff and the housekeeping was the worst I've experienced in 40 years of travel. We stayed six nights and never once got good housekeeping service. Dirty coffee mugs, dirty water glasses, one set of towels for two guests (this happened every night... they were not capable of correcting it), etc. Th fromt desk was staffed by students and trainees. Apparently the employee with experience was on holiday. They forgot to send my dress shirts out to launder, and so they washed them with the sheets and hung them wrinkled in my closet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Work visit to Oxford

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was very good.
Cons: The floorboards in the third floor corridor could do with replacing - they squeak pretty loudly whenever someone walks down the corridor.
I stayed in the Eastgate for one night on a recent trip to Oxford. My room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were very welcoming. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Short Oxford stay

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Great location, good eats, friendly staff, walk to train station
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Joana Perry (Reservations Agent), Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. We're glad to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Kind regards and hope to see you soon,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Great location and bed
Location: Close to all major sites.
We enjoyed our stay - great location, good sized room, very comfortable bed and complementary mini bar (nice touch). Staff very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Joana Perry (Reservations Agent), Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. We're glad to know that our staff contributed to your pleasant stay and that you had a good time. Kind regards and hope to see you soon,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel, great location, helpful staff

Posted Apr 15, 2017
A fabulous hotel, really made our break. We loved the bar/lounge area as it was very relaxing. We loved the hotel decor too! Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Staff were helpful and friendly, answering our questions and telling us about Oxford. A fabulous stay - thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Twickenham, West London

Mercure Oxford Eastgate

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Superb location. Extremely relaxed ambience. Excellent staff. Clean state-of-the-art room facilities.
Cons: Perhaps the cost of breakfast could be a little cheaper - maybe a reduction if one doesn't wish to have a cooked breakfast.
Location: The hotel is in the heart of Oxford city, with all the locations within minutes' walk! Park-and-ride bus-stops very close too!
This hotel couldn't be more convenient for the centre of Oxford, but, since it is located on one of the quaint and quiet lanes of the old town, it was also very relaxing. Immediately upon arrival we were greeted with warm smiles and helpfulness, even though we arrived somewhat before the advertised booking-in time. Every member of staff was welcoming and helpful, including the restaurant staff.