Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

This hotel was the best part of my trip!

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: Don't change a single thing
Location: 10 minute walk to the city center
The Old Parsonage Hotel is quite simply amazing and is probably up there in terms of the best hotel I've ever stayed at. The property is beautiful, charming, and the perfect mix of old style and architecture with all of the necessary modern amenities. Everyone working there was amazing and incredible helpful. The meals I had in their restaurant were some of the best I had on my trip. The room was perfect - the bed was comfortable, the pillows were great, the room was much larger than I expected, and special features like an espresso machine and heated floors in the bathroom put it over the top. I can't wait to plan my next trip to stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2018 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Jason, We would like to thank you for this fantastic review! We are really glad our staff looked after you so well and assisted you with your requests. We always select people who have a genuine passion for hospitality and love for customer service. We all look forward to welcoming back soon! Kind regards, Lisa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Impeccable service, room, and environment!

Posted Dec 14, 2017
From the moment I contacted the hotel regarding a delayed flight and a need for an airport transfer from LHR to Oxford, I knew that I was going to have a wonderful stay. Lisa, the Manager at Old Parsonage, immediately arranged an easy pickup and smooth drive up and a reservation for dinner at the inn. Then, the welcome to the hotel at check-in was lovely and the room perfectly situated and decorated. I really enjoyed the assortment of teas, sugar lumps, sparkling and still water, the floral arrangement, the warm bathroom floor, and warm towel rack. At the end of the stay, Lisa again managed an extra 1/2 night and an easy transfer to LGW. This hotel is definitely one of my favorites of all time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2018 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear you had a lovely experience at the Old Parsonage Hotel and everything met your expectations. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future! All the best, Lisa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, charming, historic gem

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: The location, charm, quality of the accommodations and the excellent staff.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Well, there's Oxford. Is that enough? Highly recommend a walking tour.
From the moment of arrival, the staff was attentive and welcoming. The room was beautifully appointed, the meals were excellent, and the entire hotel had a warm ambience. First-rate accommodations all the way. Also, the location is wonderful for exploring Oxford. Highly recommended. Be aware that there is no lift, which didn't bother us at all, though the young man who carried our luggage upstairs might disagree.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that our team assisted you so well throughout.The Old Parsonage is 300 years old, its character and its original structure make it one of the most fascinating buildings in Oxford. We hope to see you on a future visit to our beautiful city All the best, Lisa
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sally

Fantastic place to stay in Oxford

Posted Oct 12, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel has an excellent location, incredibly comfortable rooms, wonderful showers and bathrooms, and great restaurant with delicious food choices and bar selection. The service was wonderful too. I highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Toby Aspel, Hotel Management
Dear Sally, Thank you so much for your lovely review.. We all really appreciate your comments regarding our service during your stay in Oxford. Our restaurant, Parsonage Grill is indeed one of the best restaurant Oxford has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! All the best, Lisa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Very charming, quaint hotel with good parking and walking distance to everything. Great staff, good dining. Room was very nice though pretty small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a number of different room categories within our hotel. Perhaps next time we can offer you a higher category that is definitely more spacious and better suited to your needs. Hope to see you again, Lisa
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Stay

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
really nice hotel...coffee and tea in room, bicycles to go around,
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Toby Aspel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your marvellous review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Old Parsonage Hotel. All the best, Lisa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Library and fire - what more can I say?

Posted Sep 29, 2017
This is a traditional building with modern amenities. The bathroom felt spacious while bring compact and the overhead shower head had excellent water pressure and temperature. The air con was effective. The staff were friendly and helpful. A little disconcerting to have to drag a suitcase through the restaurant - but a minor detail. Very quiet and a comfortable stay. Great location amongst the university buildings - really feels like Oxford.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Dawn, We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write your marvellous review. It’s true that to reach some of our bedrooms you must walk through our restaurant, however this is one of the quirks we’ve inherited - the Old Parsonage is over 300 years old and there is little we can do to create an alternative access route. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! All the best, Lisa
4 out of 5
by Melanie

Wonderful, personal experience

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel, genuine service in a great location. Fantastic food and cosy common areas. Room I had was a little small, but suited my need. Beds are clearly good quality, but too hard for my liking. Overall, really authentic experience of the area provided by a high quality boutique hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Toby Aspel, Hotel Management
Dear Melanie, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Old Parsonage. Regarding the bed, we can provide a super-thick mattress protector to guests who prefer a softer mattress, please next time contact reception and they will be more than happy to assist you with any requests you may have. All the best, Lisa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent service

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Comfortable and impecable. The staff is kind and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Isa, Thank you so much for your review. We are glad our staff looked after you so well during your stay. We wish to welcome you back soon! All the best, Lisa