Ratings based on 1,043 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut, U S

Comfortable Hotel in a Lovely Setting

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Spires is a lovely quiet hotel on the outskirts of Oxford. I and my family enjoyed it very much. Unfortunately they had no rooms with 2 beds causing me to let 3 rooms which was quite pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Overnight stay

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location to Oxford city centre, lovely & clean, bright & airy rooms
Cons: N/A
Location: Fantastic city to explore
Excellent service & assistance from staff at this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

overall good

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Facilities, restaurant and easy access to Oxford plus plenty of parking.
Cons: Air conditioning!!
Location: There are lots of things to do in Oxford. Visit the first ever coffee shop in the UK founded 1650. The history is superb.
Bit of a rabbit warren. Rooms very good but hot even when weather was cool. Could do with air conditioning. Staff in restaurant were excellent along with the food, but reception staff could be a little surly. In a good position for access to Oxford. Taxi fare only £5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

Very convenient for town centre

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, good breakfasts and nice seating area outside and especially as it was non-smoking.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Oxford town centre only a 15 minute walk so could easily see all the sights the city had to offer of foot or if not catch a red tour bus.
Lovely stay over the bank holiday weekend. Room size excellent and very peaceful so had good restful weekend. Loved looking out of the window and seeing a badger wander along the back lawn. Will definitely stay here again as very conveniently placed for walking into Oxford.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Convenient location and pleasant room

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Location and room comfort.
Cons: Staff training to be more welcoming and resolve issues more promptly. Breakfast cutlery was lacking - had to wait for spoons.
Location: The walk into the town center was pleasant across the Thames.
Tried to check in early but the room was not ready so we left the luggage and went out. The room was pleasant with a view onto the horse paddock. The wedding was not too noisy and the room facilities were in good order. The blanket was too warm for the hot weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in good position.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, relaxed ambience.
Cons: Air conditioning and noise regulation at night.
Location: Great location close to centre
We spent four nights here recently, and chose it due to the position. It is just 15 minutes walk from the centre of Oxford with plenty of parking. It is a large hotel with a lovely pool which we used every morning. There is a spa, gym, sauna and steam room too. We had a superior room which had a small complimentary mini bar, tea and coffee with biscuits, and a bar of chocolate on the first day. There were nice toiletries, and a small balcony with seating which was very pleasant. We didn't eat at the hotel, preferring to try out the many coffee shops and restaurants in the centre. Our stay was very pleasant and we would definitely return. Only negatives were lack of air conditioning and the noise which travelled up from the outside seating at the bar, which went well on after 12 on one night. Otherwise, great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Magor

nice hotel - great location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: perfectly placed to explore oxford
Lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff and perfect location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Lovely room but very warm , good location. Nice stay for a weekend break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location and nice hotel.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Great location, and good hotel. Don't take room 65 though as near to cleaners room who weren't very quiet. Food pretty good but menu not very varied. Also bar did not do cocktails, was out of Pimms and draught lager was off, but ok if you liked bottled beer or wine! Overall would recommend Hotel but for dining go into Oxford.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

wonderful location, lovely traditional style hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: The deluxe room was spacious and reception was open 24hrs, great for a late check in and early check out we had to do.
Cons: The shower in our room was very small, a taller and larger person would have a lot of trouble with this.
Location: Oxford itself is a bustling town with numerous local activities and sites to see. Many shopping opportunities available as well as plenty of history.
Lovely English style hotel, with everything you need. Very close walk to all the wonderful attractions in Oxford, yet far enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle. The onsite restaurant had an excellent choice and the food was beautiful. Just a couple of moments with staff not understanding my requests, however that may have been my Australian accent! Highly recommended not only for visiting the local area, but as a base to roam around the countryside.