Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sussex

Convenient location for town and station

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Good hotel.room lighting too bright. Some small holes in towels. No ventilation in bathroom.otherwise a comfortable stay.room was quiet an clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice an central

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pity no car park. No lift and i.m disabled. Noisy on a night. Staff ok. Breakfeast staff very polite and obliging.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice affordable, hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The Royal Oxford is an affordable, nice place to stay if you're sightseeing in Oxford -- especially if you don't have a car. Its a 5 minute walk to the bus station which we easily did with our luggage. It's also close to the train station, and a short walk across the bridge to Oxford Castle and everything else. The rooms are specious and nice. I guess with no lift we were lucky to be on the 1st floor (one flight above the ground floor).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Posted Sep 4, 2017
No Elevator, evetything in the washroom need to be update.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Beautiful & Historic

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Quiet, safe location. Nicely appointed, clean rooms.
Cons: None
Location: Christ Church, University of Oxford, Bodleian Library, shops, and restaurants
Nice rooms, easy walk to Christ Church, University of Oxford, Bodleian Library, shops, and restaurants. Quiet, safe, delightful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Good hotel close to the station

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Depends on your standards but I thought it was a good hotel, ticked all the boxes for me.
Location: Oxford. Close to the station and a short walk into town proper
Stayed here for one night as a tourist. Good location close to the station, room wasn't modern but had everything we needed. Was a little concerned about street noise having a road frontage room but it wasn't a problem at all. The hotel is only a short pleasant walk from Oxford central. Breakfast was adequate.
4 out of 5
by Christine

Close to city centre

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
Great location if travelling to Oxford by train. No parking if using a car. Close to centre of town. No lifts to take luggage upstairs but staff very helpful. Breakfast not the most generous servings but tasty. Good value for the price. Room was a decent size. Bathroom was clean with showe over bath so could be tricky if you have mobility issues
3 out of 5
by John E

Okay Stay in Oxford

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
I did not enjoy my stay at the Royal Oxford. It was nice that I was upgraded to a larger room, but the room wasn't that great. It was very difficult to get the temperature right. The a/c would get the room too cold, blowing air directly on the bed. I turned off the a/c and opened the window, but the street noise was too loud. The frnishings were also worn. Parking was a nightmare. The confirmation didn't mention they had parking arrangement close by. I found out about it at check in after I spent a very long time searching for parking and then paying quite a bit, over $50 to park in a city lot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City centre hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The hotel room was perfectly fine however our room faced the street and it was very very noisy nearly all through the night. on the plus side the parking arrangement with staples was very convenient
4 out of 5
by Ning

Close to train station.

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Just one night stay and everything was good.