Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Posted Sep 4, 2017
No Elevator, evetything in the washroom need to be update.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Beautiful & Historic

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Quiet, safe location. Nicely appointed, clean rooms.
Cons: None
Location: Christ Church, University of Oxford, Bodleian Library, shops, and restaurants
Nice rooms, easy walk to Christ Church, University of Oxford, Bodleian Library, shops, and restaurants. Quiet, safe, delightful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Good hotel close to the station

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Depends on your standards but I thought it was a good hotel, ticked all the boxes for me.
Location: Oxford. Close to the station and a short walk into town proper
Stayed here for one night as a tourist. Good location close to the station, room wasn't modern but had everything we needed. Was a little concerned about street noise having a road frontage room but it wasn't a problem at all. The hotel is only a short pleasant walk from Oxford central. Breakfast was adequate.
4 out of 5
by Christine

Close to city centre

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
Great location if travelling to Oxford by train. No parking if using a car. Close to centre of town. No lifts to take luggage upstairs but staff very helpful. Breakfast not the most generous servings but tasty. Good value for the price. Room was a decent size. Bathroom was clean with showe over bath so could be tricky if you have mobility issues
3 out of 5
by John E

Okay Stay in Oxford

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
I did not enjoy my stay at the Royal Oxford. It was nice that I was upgraded to a larger room, but the room wasn't that great. It was very difficult to get the temperature right. The a/c would get the room too cold, blowing air directly on the bed. I turned off the a/c and opened the window, but the street noise was too loud. The frnishings were also worn. Parking was a nightmare. The confirmation didn't mention they had parking arrangement close by. I found out about it at check in after I spent a very long time searching for parking and then paying quite a bit, over $50 to park in a city lot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City centre hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The hotel room was perfectly fine however our room faced the street and it was very very noisy nearly all through the night. on the plus side the parking arrangement with staples was very convenient
4 out of 5
by Ning

Close to train station.

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Just one night stay and everything was good.
5 out of 5
by Ryan

Convenient hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were very pleasant and friendly, the room was great, well worth the cost with a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wallinhford

One night stsy

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Ebookers
Fantastic location, lovely room, very comphy bed and pillows, and lovely staff called whwn we left to say found my boyfriends keys and will post to us asap, very sweet, thanks, will Def use this hotel again x
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sussex, UK

good location for a short walk into Oxford

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Location, very convenient for the varios attractions in Oxford
Cons: Breakfast arrangements
Location: Lots of wonderful buildings, colleges and museums to lookaround, a lot of which are free or charge a small entry fee.
Hotel staff were very welcoming and arranged car parking very efficiently. A bit of late night noise from some of the local nightclubs and from a few inconsiderate residents. Room clean and comfortable, bathroom clean but a bit on the small side. Breakfast taken at a nearby cafe was interesting with excellent local produce but let down by bekow average tea & coffee arrangement.