Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good basic hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Basic hotel that we used for 1 night. The bathroom was quite small but was neat and clean. Staff friendly. Parking availability is a plus.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't recommend

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
I wouldn't return to The Ridings. It isn't your usual b&b where the proprietor is on site. When we arrived the front door was locked and there was a note in the window to call about rentals. Because I didn't have an international phone plan, I had to wait until someone else came along who called the proprietor for us. Strike one. We had booked a room with two twin beds - instead it had one full bed and a cot. Strike two. We didn't get clean towels once over our four night stay and the room was only made up twice - once because we specifically asked. Strike three. If you plan on visiting Oxford (I was in town to visit a friend there) the location isn't bad. It's a mile walk to Christ Church College and a little further to city center. There are buses if you're not a big walker.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Poor night's sleep

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Easy to find. Clean room, apart from the blocked sink. Comfortable bed.
Cons: Unblocking the bathroom sink. Putting in a blind to cover the skylight. Installing a working TV aerial.
Location: The location was good for Oxford. It was a 20-30 min walk into the city centre, where there were plenty of restaurants etc.
Having a skylight in the room is fine, but at 4.30am it wasn't so good! It would make for a better night's sleep if the owner put in a blind. Also even though the place was clean, which I would expect as standard, some sink unblocker would be appreciated in the bathroom. A simple thing, but it's usually the simple things that mean the difference between a good stay and a poor stay. The shower was weak but bearable. Also there was a TV in the room, but the reception was so poor that it was not worth watching. The swan-shaped towels were a nice touch but I would have preferred a good night's sleep! Also, I hadn't booked breakfast, but I noticed a breakfast room set up with cereal. So, I asked if we could have breakfast, but was told they didn't serve breakfast at that guest house and that we would have to go further up the road to another property. Very strange! I said we would pick up breakfast in the city. Overall, a disappointing experience.
3 out of 5
by Holly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Avril

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Really convenient location, however accommodation in need of a little upgrade. Ensuite shower cosy.....not much room to move. Bed not very comfortable although served our purpose. Only 3 car parking spaces. That aside very pleasant owners and amazingly quiet.
4 out of 5
by Nicholas

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Just passing through so can't really say much but it had everything you need in a guesthouse. Few minor nitpicks like slightly awkward layout and a bit of a walk from the city but basically a very satisfying place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location is fairly central
Cons: Cleaning standards.
Fairly central location, only a 20 min walk from central Oxford. Friendly staff. However very disappointed at the cleanliness of the room - dust everywhere, hair on the bed sheets to the point we needed to take antihistamines to stop the sneezing and itchy eyes. And check-out at 10:30 am? Seriously? All of this for £65 a night...
5 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels