Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business turns into pleasue.

Posted Dec 9, 2012
Beautiful location. Ideal location - 10 mins from centre of Oxford. Service fantastic. Food great. Will definitely be returning in 2013 with Rochdale Hornets RLFC.
4 out of 5
by Andrews

Good value hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2012 on Hotels
Good to stay at but only downside nobody there in morning to check us out despite having asked what time we would leaving. Not a problem as we put key through letter box, just a bit odd. Handy for Thornhill park and ride.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay near Oxford.

Posted Nov 5, 2012
Super. we chose wisely. Close to oxford. Good food. Good coffee. Nice proprietors.
2 out of 5
by A Powell

Dropped in my estimation

Posted Nov 3, 2012 on Hotels
Having stayed here before i was happy to rebook but this time things had changed, after a very poor nights sleep in an extremely uncomfortable bed i had to miss out on a cooked breakfast as they had changed the times so it started too late, it was 7am but its now 8.15am.room maintenance has dropped and the bathroom had loose tiles etc, curtains in the room were too small didn't cover the window and were full of holes. staff were helpful but it was difficult as i don't speak polish( i think) a letdown i won't be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from UK

Fantastic pub. restuarant, B&B at a great rate

Posted Oct 22, 2012
Pros: Staff and buildings
Cons: Nothing, it was all good
Location: Village location in the countryside but only a few minutes away from Oxford.
Highly recommended if are having a weekend break in the Oxford viscinity or need somewhere really nice to stay during the week. Our room was lovely, the dinner we had in the restuarant was excellent and all the staff really friendly, chatty and helpful. It is within easy driving distance of the city centre and even closer is one of the park and rides where you can leave the car all day for the price of a £2.50 per person return trip into Oxford on the bus. We would stay again and be very confident in recommending it to friends and family.
5 out of 5
by Traveller

good location to visit Oxford

Posted Oct 20, 2012 on Hotels
Lovely old pub. Clean rooms. Good food. Breakfast a bit pricey.
4 out of 5
by Simon

Home from Home

Posted Oct 12, 2012 on Hotels
Really nice venue, complete with comfy sofas and real wood fire.Definate homely feel. Had an evening meal and breakfast there both of which were very good and reasonably priced. The room was compact but had everything I needed, including being in a quiet location. Would visit there again if in the area. Within easy driving distance to Oxford.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous-ness @its best!

Posted Oct 2, 2012 on Hotels
When will you ever have a chance to stay at a British cottage-style, countryside (Yet super city accessible...I was presenting at a conference at Oxford University and the bus to get there was right across the street.) hotel WITH the most charming pub of all time housed in a connected 500-year old building? Pretty much never, and most certainly never at such an affordable price. So, if you are even just slightly considering The Talkhouse book it today. You will be beyond EXCITED upon entrance.
4 out of 5
by Sarah

Clean and friendly

Posted Sep 27, 2012 on Hotels
We had to check in really early and they were very helpful. Bed comfortable, breakfast great, excellent service. Would definitely recommend. Lovely pub.