Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island, USA

Perfect hotel for visiting Oxford area

Posted May 16, 2017
The hotel was great in accommodating our change in schedule. Throughout our stay, we were treated like special guests by the professional and friendly staff. Food and service were excellent and always available. The location made it easy to walk (10 mins) or catch the bus into the town center - and convenient to stores and restaurants in the neighborhood. Free parking on hotel grounds is a plus, as is free wifi. We highly recommend the Cotswold Lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Great hotel for visiting Oxford

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Reasonable walk into the centre of Oxford.
The hotel was just what we needed, a relaxed atmosphere, very good service and excellent food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant one night stay

Posted May 5, 2017
Arrived early but room was ready so could check in. Clean and comfortable room on the ground floor. Good shower, complimentary toiletries, fluffy towels. Bed comfortable pillows a little hard. Staff very helpful and friendly throughout stay. Bottled water in room a nice touch. The only downside was that out room overlooked car park and was noisy in the morning (Sunday lie in didn't happen) could also hear people in rooms above and side. A good 20/25 minute brisk walk into Oxford which didn't bother us. Opposite Gees bar and restaurant which was recommended on trip advisor. Some good coffee shops in the little village going out of Oxford.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the centre of Oxford

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: good location, nice breakfast, nice staff
Cons: room soundproofing poor a lot of noise from the corridor and the room upstairs
nice four star hotel walking distance to the centre of town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Good choice for our visits

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The location is great for us -- visiting in Jericho area, and walking in meadow or in university park. Food choices for cooked breakfast.
Cons: No need for improvement. This hotel is a good choice.
Location: There are small restaurants nearby, parks for walks, bus stop for easy access to down. The 12 min. walk to the center is along a pleasant street.
Stayed here for 3 nights, and a return visit -- both in April. We had minor issues, which were quickly addressed by staff. Our room had been recently renovated. Restaurant is very pleasant for breakfast and cooked breakfast was very good. Parking is available and hotel is set back from street, so very quiet. Would definitely stay here again, and will recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

Oxford Hotel within walking distance to City

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Position to center / cleanliness / comfort / friendly and helpful staff / free parking
Cons: maintenance working weekends
Location: Very close to center of City
Hotel in an excellent position to explore Oxford with free paring as a bonus. Staff very helpful and friendly. cleanliness and comfort excellent. Breakfast excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sandwich,Kent

Comfortable and convenient stay

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The character and the friendly staff.
Cons: Slightly older plumbing in the bathroom, which could be a little updated.
Location: Oxford city, where to you start ? We did the Ashmolean Museum, the Bodleian Library and Christchurch College.
A very lovely Victorian hotel that immediately has a homely and elegant feel. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, especially Josh in the bar/restaurant. Considering how may rooms and people staying (although fairly quiet at this time of year), there wasn't any disturbance from other residents. We opted for the restaurant in the evening, rather than walk the 15 minutes into the city and it was gorgeous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but cold!

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Ambience, decor, helpful staff, location.
Cons: Turn the heating on in April!!
Location: Reasonably close to Oxford centre. Oxford speaks for itself, great city!
Characterful hotel, helpful staff, good decor. Bar and restaurant very good, plenty of parking space. About 15 minute walk to Oxford centre, alternatively plenty of buses with a nearby stop. We stayed here early April and the outside temperature was around 12°C daytime, and 7°C overnight but there was no heating on anywhere. When I asked about this at reception I was told it's summer from April onwards so they turn the heating off! Come on, this is a joke, petty economising on the part of hotel management! We were able to get an electric heater put into our room which helped, but obviously still had a cold bathroom with damp towels as there was no heating in the towel rail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK

Comfortable hotel close to city, with good parking

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Excellent stay. A hotel that was comfortable, convenient and well-priced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stanford-le-Hope, Essex

Very friendly hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Conveniently located. Felt very at home. Staff couldn't do enough for you. Very comfortable bed and the breakfast was perfect. All cooked to order and hot. Would definitely go back.