Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Town, South Africa

Loved my stay at Cotswold Lodge.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Geographical convenience, the rooms, the lounge with the fire, the staff, the breakfast
The staff were very helpful and checked me into my room early so that I could shower after a lengthy stint of travel. The room was comfortable and had everything I needed and I enjoyed the convenience of the lodge being so close to town. The breakfast was also delicious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very unimpressed. Will not return.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Improvements to customer service. Turning the heating on during cold weather. Soundproofing. No outdoor only room connection.
I booked the room 2 weeks before my stay and paid up front. My daughter was attending Uni interviews nearby on Sun/Mon and so I decided to stay alone overnight. My wife, son and I dropped her off and decided I would stay whilst they returned to London. When I arrived I was given a key for the room, which I was told I would need to go outside to reach, i.e. it was not internally connected to the body of the hotel. I was also asked if I would like a newspaper in the morning though not told I'd be charged. Having reached my room I immediately received a call from the front desk asking me how many people were staying?! I was accompanied by wife and son because it was mid-afternoon, but I found it extremely rude to have this challenged. I only booked for one person, so why would they be staying with me, and why was it necessary to call my room less than 5 minutes after I arrived? Whilst I was extremely disappointed at the value of the hotel rate I paid, having to go outside to get to my chalet style room, that was nothing compared to later discovering that I could hear the conversations in each the rooms next to me word for word. Furthermore, any and all footsteps in the room above projected themselves down into my room. The radiators were also off on a cold day and would not come on until later that afternoon. Finally, when my wife used the bathroom near reception a member of staff was exiting the cubicle and promptly washed her face in the bathroom right in front of her.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close enough to city with parking

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Nice old English style hotel in a quiet residential area. Within walking distance from city center (frequent bus service also available)+ free parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norfolk

Cotswold hotel, very helpful friendly staff

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: staff
Cons: pillows were very hard
within easy walking distance of all shops and attractions and is in a quiet location perfect for business or tourist customers. our room was clean and had good décor and facilities, the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay again and recomend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very polite and friendly staff

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Very polite and friendly staff. Faultlessly clean and cosy environment. My single room was cramped but this was exceptional value all round. Highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced hotel in Oxford

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Parking was convenient
We were unimpressed by this hotel, which perhaps does not warrant the number of stars it has. The room was relatively small and utilitarian. It was overpriced for what it offered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO, USA

Hotel in Quiet Part of Oxford, UK

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Location: Close to downtown Oxford (15 minute walk), close to Pitt Rivers Museum, and literally across the street from the Oxford campus.
Excellent staff. The main restaurant is excellent, better than most commercial restaurants in the city. The pub also is excellent, is open 24 hours, and has a quiet atmosphere for the harried traveler. The reading room is a delight. This small hotel would stand out anywhere as being in the top 5%. It is so much better than a chain hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful lovely place to stay. Shall definitely return soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wizcat

A good experience

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Ebookers
The hotel was in a good spot, 10 minutes walk from the centre in a lovely quiet situation. The staff were very friendly and polite and could not do enough for you. The breakfast was just ok and not worth the £12.50 it cost but was a minor quibble as overall our stay was very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Mr. Grumpy

Cotswold Lodge

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Orbitz
A very nice facility, close enough to the heart of Oxford to walk easily, but far enough to be a little quieter. Near the University Parks, and close enough to Summertown and Jericho to walk everywhere. Staff was friendly and courteous, the room was comfortable and the location was great. The only thing that could have been better would be the soundproofing--I could hear people walking around in the room above me. I would happily visit again.