Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A horrible hotel and stuff ever!

Posted Sep 15, 2016
I had a very hard time to reach the hotel. Then they refuses to let me in by saying your reservation is only for one and asked me to leave the hotel. And water to charge me double. Please Advise. This was not acceptable at all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Awesome!!!

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Amazing! Location, decor, staff & restaurants were absolutely fantastic !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

would recommend

Posted Aug 5, 2016
The room was a little darkly decorationed and the food in the bar was over priced for my palet of taste but it was an overall lovely hotel.
3 out of 5
by rupinder from Leicester

Dissapointed

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
I never write reviews but i feel i have to here. I was a little disappointed by the whole experience. We had a superior room which was lovely but quite dark. Bath tub was great and decor nice! Window wouldn't close properly and it was cold but room service sorted. Hotel hasn't got the facilities that you think it would have. No outdoor pursuits on site, no DVD player or dvds as marketed in brochure in room, not really much to do. Small bar area and not enough room for all guests in there and no atmosphere. Thai massage was good but in a tiny room not very private or soundproof. Could hear people chatting outside whilst i was having massage. Dining and drinking at beaconsfield is much better! All my other Crazy bear experiences have been great, so this was very disappointing!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sussex

Fabulous

Posted Jul 15, 2016
We stayed here for a birthday treat, the food was fabulous (dinner and breakfast), our room (an original) was small but spectacular (I was expecting it to be small). Staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We also walked up to the farm shop which was quaint and full of local goodies.
3 out of 5
by Andy from Weybridge

Once great (probably) but past its best

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great food (especially the Thai), hotel aging and our room was in an outhouse (our own little cottage), which was in fact a little annoying as we were removed from the hotel and it's facilities. The decor is quirky but wallpaper peeling at the edges and the once decadent interior is now looking a little old in some rooms.
3 out of 5
by Matthew from Basingstoke

Not as great as I expected

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
The original rooms are very very small. Nice atmosphere to it though and unique. However the staff lack of experience and manners. The service is full of hickups, they get things wrong or forget a lot. Very expensive meals in the restaurant and would not pay or go back again. You would expect 5 star for that kind of money, and I would actually get better service in a budget motel. They completely missed out my partners birthday even though they were told twice by email and once more on the day by phone and promising me a birthday cake at dinner. They didn't even do it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste your money! Other nicer hotels around

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Got there late but had to walk to the room as it was in diffent building Shower head had so much limescale it was spraying water in all direction apart from downwards Hot water took 20 mins to come and when it did it went too hot and there was no inbetween hot and cold Bed had an almighty cracking noise with any movement So turning from one side to the other would wake you up ( I am a very light sleeper) Supposed to have had the best suite in the hotel! Paying that sort of money you expect the room to be cleaned The decor was nice but had marks and stains all over as in water marks on ceiling and walls Food order was late by 45 mins and was clearly told no mushrooms yet the dish came out with extra mushrooms The guy was very apologetic and did say he did tell the kitchen no mushroom Offered to take it back but did warn me it will take another 30 mins or so or I could pick it all out!!! I had to do that as I was very hungry. Early morning people were outside the window of the bathroom chatting!! So was up early as could not sleep anymore due to that Really expected a lot and was left very disappointed Me and the wife left early instead of staying till 11ish Drove out and had breakfast at a service! Won't stay there again We normally don't write reviews but this was really bad and even though we never go with other people's reviews I regret it this time as many people have had similar experiences at this hotel
1 out of 5
by Rosamund from Zurich

Horrendously disappointed

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at the Crazy Bear for 1 night and were incredibly disappointed with our room, we had booked a superior room so expected something spectacular, we had seen the photographs of the huge copper bathtubs and opulent rooms. Our room was in the cottage, a short walk along the road. Firstly the bathroom would have been more suited in a hostel, tiny, dirty shower curtain, cracked bathtub, shower that flooded the floor. A shower curtain in a 4* hotel?! Secondly there were 4 bulbs out in an already dark room. We had a sitting area downstairs which was totally unnecessary, we didn't use it once, the bedroom upstairs was tiny and dark although the bed was comfortable. We were right next to the road which you would think didn't matter in the middle of the country...we were wrong, from 6am we were woken up by constant traffic. Breakfast was disappointing although it was included. We ate at the Thai restaurant which I have to say was delicious although the decor was rather tired, part of the velvet wall covering was hanging off next to us. On checking out we did complain and the lady was very nice and admitted that the room we had "was like marmite", so clearly had met with a number of complaints in the past. Had we booked a standard room I would have been slightly annoyed but having booked not a deluxe but a superior, 1 below a suite, I was pretty furious! It isn't cheap and in no way worth what we paid, we tried to swap rooms but they were apparently full.
4 out of 5
by Claire from Brentwood

Lovely hotel...the room was that good for the pric

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
The standard room in the outside cottage is very small alot of money if your paying over £200 a night for. Also there seems to be a fan or vibrate noise coming from the kitchen area we think that went on all night it was very annoying and difficult to sleep in. There is a nice living room area downstairs but unless there is someone you know staying in the upstairs next room... really not ideal to sit down there.