Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matthew from Basingstoke

Not as great as I expected

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
The original rooms are very very small. Nice atmosphere to it though and unique. However the staff lack of experience and manners. The service is full of hickups, they get things wrong or forget a lot. Very expensive meals in the restaurant and would not pay or go back again. You would expect 5 star for that kind of money, and I would actually get better service in a budget motel. They completely missed out my partners birthday even though they were told twice by email and once more on the day by phone and promising me a birthday cake at dinner. They didn't even do it!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Don't waste your money! Other nicer hotels around

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Got there late but had to walk to the room as it was in diffent building Shower head had so much limescale it was spraying water in all direction apart from downwards Hot water took 20 mins to come and when it did it went too hot and there was no inbetween hot and cold Bed had an almighty cracking noise with any movement So turning from one side to the other would wake you up ( I am a very light sleeper) Supposed to have had the best suite in the hotel! Paying that sort of money you expect the room to be cleaned The decor was nice but had marks and stains all over as in water marks on ceiling and walls Food order was late by 45 mins and was clearly told no mushrooms yet the dish came out with extra mushrooms The guy was very apologetic and did say he did tell the kitchen no mushroom Offered to take it back but did warn me it will take another 30 mins or so or I could pick it all out!!! I had to do that as I was very hungry. Early morning people were outside the window of the bathroom chatting!! So was up early as could not sleep anymore due to that Really expected a lot and was left very disappointed Me and the wife left early instead of staying till 11ish Drove out and had breakfast at a service! Won't stay there again We normally don't write reviews but this was really bad and even though we never go with other people's reviews I regret it this time as many people have had similar experiences at this hotel
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rosamund from Zurich

Horrendously disappointed

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at the Crazy Bear for 1 night and were incredibly disappointed with our room, we had booked a superior room so expected something spectacular, we had seen the photographs of the huge copper bathtubs and opulent rooms. Our room was in the cottage, a short walk along the road. Firstly the bathroom would have been more suited in a hostel, tiny, dirty shower curtain, cracked bathtub, shower that flooded the floor. A shower curtain in a 4* hotel?! Secondly there were 4 bulbs out in an already dark room. We had a sitting area downstairs which was totally unnecessary, we didn't use it once, the bedroom upstairs was tiny and dark although the bed was comfortable. We were right next to the road which you would think didn't matter in the middle of the country...we were wrong, from 6am we were woken up by constant traffic. Breakfast was disappointing although it was included. We ate at the Thai restaurant which I have to say was delicious although the decor was rather tired, part of the velvet wall covering was hanging off next to us. On checking out we did complain and the lady was very nice and admitted that the room we had "was like marmite", so clearly had met with a number of complaints in the past. Had we booked a standard room I would have been slightly annoyed but having booked not a deluxe but a superior, 1 below a suite, I was pretty furious! It isn't cheap and in no way worth what we paid, we tried to swap rooms but they were apparently full.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Claire from Brentwood

Lovely hotel...the room was that good for the pric

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
The standard room in the outside cottage is very small alot of money if your paying over £200 a night for. Also there seems to be a fan or vibrate noise coming from the kitchen area we think that went on all night it was very annoying and difficult to sleep in. There is a nice living room area downstairs but unless there is someone you know staying in the upstairs next room... really not ideal to sit down there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deborah from Stratford upon Avon

Crazy but fun

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
I've always wanted to try out the Crazy Bear and was extremely happy with the deal I got through Hotels.com. It is a crazy concept and they executed it down to every detail. We had afternoon tea on arrival, which was extremely filling. The scones were the best I've tasted all year! Breakfast was good, too. We ate out in the evening, but I've heard really good reviews from friends about the Thai restaurant. The staff were friendly, fun and helpful. The only downside was the room temperature. With ceiling to floor furry wallpaper and the thickest blackest drapes ever, the room retained so much heat and the mini fan they gave us just couldn't cope. It would be perfect to snuggle in on a cold winter's day, but in summer it was baking.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Will get a lot more for your money elsewhere.

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
Pre arranged with the crazy bear a birthday plate to come out after our mains for my partner. Even say the note on the open table print out stating this was to be done. It never come. Waited 20mins to get an iron- before having to ask a second time. Room was nice- but not worth the money spent though. Setting is good, Food was superb, farm shop is worth a visit. But Would I go again? Probably not just based on everything else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Susan from Banbury

Special Birthday Treat

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
It was a special birthday treat for my partner. The food was excellent. The room was good, but as it was very hot we had a large airconditioning machine - which was extremely noisy, but efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by GARY from somewhere else

Get ready to smile!

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
1 night stay; booked it, as intrigued by name & room descriptions. It is, as it says "crazy" - in a really good way. We had a smile on our faces, from arrival to departure -if you are into pleasantly opulent weird (but friendly), this is your kind of place. nb: don't know if mentioned in description (luckily we're able-bodied, so didn't pay attention), but some rooms unsuitable for disabled access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel at countryside

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Amazing hotel to stay at countryside not far from london with excellent food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Saturday night stay following activity day

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
I had booked to stay at the hotel for several reasons. Primarily it was part of a weekend treat for my husbands birthday. Having booked the Gold Activity Day package, as well as eaten in their London restuarant, I had heard a lot about place, I wanted to make a special weekend of it. Overall the experience was good, have had better customer service in particular the reception team were not overly firendly. The restaurant staff were more friendly and engaging. We stayed in Rm 16 (only 16 rooms in total), which was one of the smallest rooms by my reckoning. It was lavishly decorated, although a tight squeeze, which was made worse by the fact there was no temperature control in the room. We had asked for the temperature to be adjusted and seems like it fell on deaf ears. I think we were above the kitchen of the restaurant, the bathroom was a sauna, we only had a very small bedroom window which we had to leave open all the time although had to keep the blinds closed as people from outside could see in; (it was only 14 degrees C outside - cant imnage how uncomfortable it would be in the middle of summer). Also the bed / pillows not the most comfortable. Other issue was the amount I was charged booking via this site compared to the actual cost of the room that was stated on my final bill, there was a significant mark up. I would consider coming back to stay as an exception, in one of the bigger rooms.