Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hampshire

clean rooms

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Location: Great Thai restaurant across the road
Tiny room, struggled to walk around the bed. shower very dated and not very efficient. Needs some tlc and possibly not selling tiny rooms for a high price, breakfast was OK however, tables not cleared and 1 person serving so he was not able to do everything. I don't feel I got value for money. Rooms were clean though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel reasonably close to activities.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Large room, comfortable bed. Close to restaurants.
For anybody interested in motor or motorcycle museums, this hotel is in a good location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

I hated this hotel

Posted May 7, 2016
So they put me in room 17.,,. Next to a bar with outside speakers pointed at my single glazed windows. 11:15 and the music is blaring so I go to reception to be told this has never gapped before. The lady said she would call and get it turned off. 12:15 I return to the reception and a different lady says: 'we have a problem with them because they have a late licence until 2am' ..,. Wow! They put me in another room. Also free wifi isn't 'free' when to access it you are required to give your name, phone number, postal address, emails address and agree for these details to be shared with marketers. Also I booked this hotel with 'pay at hotel' and by the time I'd gotten there they'd already charged my credit card. No wonder!!! After the room they put me in I would have never paid the bill when checking out Not 4 star!!!!! Rubbish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely little hotel. Value for money. Recommended.

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Customer service
Cons: Perfect as it is.
Location: Hotel has it's own bar and the White Horse opposite is also nice.
First and foremost the staff are excellent. Happy to help where they can, always happy to go that extra step... I was due to leave the hotel before breakfast started... when I told the staff about this the previous night they asked me if I would like for them to have something made and packed for me. Money can't buy that sort of customer service. Location was fine. For me it was just a place to spend the night as I had business down in Hinton air field 20 mins drive east of the hotel. Hotel is near a clock tower... if you have your windows open you can really hear it... but with windows closed you will have to listen very carefully to hear it. Room was clean. I had problems with the hot water... in the evenings I didn't appear to get any in the sink unless I ran the shower on full hot at max water flow for a while. However water was always hot in the mornings. Staff did offer to have me in a different room when one became available... ultimately I didn't need this as water did eventually get hot. I would stay at this hotel again... the customer service itself was enough to win me over. A very big thank you to the staff especially the lady who was on shift when I checked in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Central hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: It was central and car parking.
Cons: The shower cubicle.
Location: We were there to see family. We used to live near Banbury.
Overall the hotel was fine but the supposedly new shower cubicle was absolutely useless. The size was very small but whoever put it together was not very qualified. The doors did not shut properly and there was hardly any room to move inside it, and I am not a very big person. Otherwise apart from being short staffed, the hotel was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leigh, Lancs

Lovely stay

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: Excellent location. Friendly staff
Location: Good location for town and excellent motorway links
Very pleasant overnight stop for a day in nearby Oxford. This was our second stay. The previous one being an overnight stop on the way back from a holiday in France. The hotel is in the centre of town but 5 mins from the M40. The hotel has a lovely quaint charm. The bar is a pleasant place to relax, and the restaurant is reasonable. £90 for 3 including 2 bottles of wine. The rooms are simple but comfortable with a large selection of complimentary tea, coffee, chocolate and biscuits. The manager is very pleasant and all the staff are very helpful. There is a large selection for breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leeds

Dissapointing experience

Posted Jun 30, 2015
The bedrooms were very noisy and we haz todo complain during the night and although we did get a discount it did not compensate for loss of sleep i do not think that expedia should boom this hotel and that the should vet first
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheltenham

Will never use again

Posted Dec 8, 2014
We booked one room approx 2 months before the stay however the night before the visit (21:00 hrs) we were contacted to be advised that there would be a disco on the night we were there. Not sure exactly what the caller would have expected us to do, it was 9pm and we were setting off in morning???? When we got to the hotel we tried to book a table for the evening meal only to be told that this was not possible due to the disco. Very unhelpful staff with no consideration to hotel members. Will never use again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North East England

Convenient for town

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: POSITION
Cons: Pre letting checks on plumbing and facilities
Location: Check out the guides
PAll ok except that the shower did not work properly in room 19
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Qatar

Not what we expected

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Convenient location near to the town centre.
Cons: Either remove the reference to climate control from the listing on Expedia or install the climate control to the rooms!
The hotel is conveniently located if you want to walk into the town centre. It has its own parking, but the spaces are limited and if you arrive late there may not be room. There are a lot of stairways to navigate to some of the rooms and the corridors are quite narrow in some places. Although Expedia list the hotel as having climate controlled air conditioning there was not even a fan in the room, which made it quite uncomfortable in the unusually warm and humid weather during our visit. Because of the difficult stairways to reach the room and the lack of air-conditioning, my wife insisted we move to another hotel. It may have seemed "ok" for me if given more of a chance, but I would rather pay for a second hotel room than have a miserable wife holiday!