Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Rural location for Oxford

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: I liked using the swimming pool, it was a good extra.
Cons: I think the price was a little high for one night.
Location: Hotel is in a small village outside Oxford. There's a twice hourly bus to and from Oxford otherwise a car is useful. Football stadium nearby.
Hotel was close to where I wanted to be. Staff called me a taxi as requested as soon as I arrived but it cost £10 and the driver said the hotel should have told me that. I thought that pretty costly for a 20 minute ride. My room was not yet ready at 11:30 but I paid my bill anyway. When I returned by bus (they should have provided a bus timetable) I was checked in as my room was then ready but it was not easy to find and the key did not work. In the evening my friend who lives nearby came to have dinner with me. The restaurant was nice and the food fairly interesting. However we got tired of people (at least 5) asking us if everything was ok. The dessert was disappointing. The bill took a long time to get done. Next day I was going to a wedding in the afternoon and asked if I could keep my room after 11:00 but was told only until noon which was not useful to me. Hint: IF they'd offered another night I might have paid for it and stayed.
5 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Best all round value I have had in many a stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel just outside Oxford

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I had a lovely one night stay here between Christmas and New Year, whilst visiting Oxford. Although the hotel is too far to walk into the town centre, the hotel kindly let us park at their sister hotel which was only a 15 minute walk away. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Enfield

Relaxing and Beautiful

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Staff welcoming upon arrival. Hotel is really beautiful in beautiful grounds with a touch of history. Rooms are really nice, big and modern. Spa is nice however could do with a refurb every things all a bit small, old, and run down. In the bar and restaurant staff are a bit slow with bringing you food and a tad unorganised. The food is ok i wouldnt have dinner there but breakfast is good. Food and drink a bit over priced. Better off going in town to eat and drink. However my stay was pleasant and relaxing exactly what me and my partner went for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location just outside Oxford

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
Good location about 10 minutes drive from Oxford. Ample parking. Stayed only 1 night arriving late so didn't really use Hotel facilities at all so can't comment. There is some background noise either from an airport (?) or the busy roads nearby which was audible through the night (as our window was open) and much to-ing and fro-ing with car doors and Hotel doors banging in the early hours of the morning. Inevitable, I guess. Staff pleasant though and room nicely decorated. Beds also very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

love Oxford loads of history there

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotei and staff were first class and so was the food will definitely stay there again