Ratings based on 298 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
From when you drive up to the hotel, you get a sense the quality you come to expect from the De Vere Oxford London. Well manicured gardens & parking is well placed. The room was a good size with patio doors & a little patio with wrought iron table & chairs, modern, very clean & tidy, only concern was no air con, which wouldn't have been an issue, usually, but we were having a mini heatwave & the fans supplied were not quite enough, (they were very quiet though, so ok to have on all night). Couldn't work out how to get water out of the main shower head, so used the smaller one which was freehand instead, (even after asking at reception, must have had a different model from the one they told us about, as had no leaver or pipe to pull out), we were only there two nights so coped ok. Food was beautiful & service was impeccable. Very quiet situation, on the bank of the Thames with plenty of ducks & geese. Only a five minute drive to a park & ride site, then only a ten minute ride into Oxford itself, so much quicker than the usual bus route of 28 minutes. If in Oxford again would definitely return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On The Thames

Posted Jun 27, 2017
In the heart of the countryside. Large and beautiful grounds. Ideal for folks with a car. However there is an excellent taxi service to center of Oxford for a fixed 10 pound price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff and service exceeding expectations

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: The staff
My husband and I stayed at this hotel 17-19 May and were greatly impressed by the hotel and in particular the staff and service they provided at this property. From the moment we were checked in by Erica and checked out by Nimisha the service was flawless. Every staff member was immaculately groomed and excellent ambassadors for the hotel. We were at the end of a ten day driving holiday around England and the staff, service and food at this property was of an excellent standard. Having worked in Hospitality and Tourism for many years I can appreciate the effort it takes to make service appear 'effortless' and I applaud the manager of this property for maintaining a high standard of excellence across all departments. Highly recommend to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Short break to visit Oxford

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The blend of old and new is perfectly achieved with ancient beams and stone in many areas together with modern, comfortable large bedrooms.
Cons: Dinner menu could be extended and although restuarant staff were very pleasant, some might think a bit over attentive (better than the opposite).
Location: Riverside walks, pubs and an easy route into the City centre. Guided walk tours highly recommended.
High quality hotel, matched by the staff, in lovely grounds and in a great location just outside Oxford. We wanted to visit Oxford City and were able to use the park and ride, conveniently situated a few minutes drive from the hotel. Very good bar, breakfast and evening meal. We only stayed 2 nights so didn't utilise all the facilities - spa and pool looked very appealing- but would happily recommend it for at least a short City break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in quiet location

Posted May 1, 2017
Nice Hotel in quiet location, very comfortable room.
5 out of 5
by John

Great break

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous, needed to wind down and chill and it ticked all the boxs
5 out of 5
by ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Rural location for Oxford

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: I liked using the swimming pool, it was a good extra.
Cons: I think the price was a little high for one night.
Location: Hotel is in a small village outside Oxford. There's a twice hourly bus to and from Oxford otherwise a car is useful. Football stadium nearby.
Hotel was close to where I wanted to be. Staff called me a taxi as requested as soon as I arrived but it cost £10 and the driver said the hotel should have told me that. I thought that pretty costly for a 20 minute ride. My room was not yet ready at 11:30 but I paid my bill anyway. When I returned by bus (they should have provided a bus timetable) I was checked in as my room was then ready but it was not easy to find and the key did not work. In the evening my friend who lives nearby came to have dinner with me. The restaurant was nice and the food fairly interesting. However we got tired of people (at least 5) asking us if everything was ok. The dessert was disappointing. The bill took a long time to get done. Next day I was going to a wedding in the afternoon and asked if I could keep my room after 11:00 but was told only until noon which was not useful to me. Hint: IF they'd offered another night I might have paid for it and stayed.
5 out of 5
by Lucy

Beautiful hotel in lovely setting

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Had a lovely stay, the hotel was beautiful and the staff were incredibly friendly.
5 out of 5
by Roy

Very frenzy and helpful

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
If you use the park and ride .they do not give you a text to let you no when you are runninG out of time