Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Enfield

Relaxing and Beautiful

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Staff welcoming upon arrival. Hotel is really beautiful in beautiful grounds with a touch of history. Rooms are really nice, big and modern. Spa is nice however could do with a refurb every things all a bit small, old, and run down. In the bar and restaurant staff are a bit slow with bringing you food and a tad unorganised. The food is ok i wouldnt have dinner there but breakfast is good. Food and drink a bit over priced. Better off going in town to eat and drink. However my stay was pleasant and relaxing exactly what me and my partner went for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: free parking at sister hotel in Oxford was very convenient. You can walk down a path along the Thames to get into town from the parking
Overall excellent. Expanded hours for gym and pool may have been good. Directions using GPS and address on website was a little off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malaysia

Good hotel and peaceful

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Friendly , spacious and clean. Staffs are helpful, and near to town
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from reading

Expensive but not the standard expected

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We stayed in a standard twin room in August... The room was large but very dark, with only one tiny window. The window restraints were broken as was the safe and one bedside lamp. The room was boiling hot, no aircon only a fan, so not ideal. Cleanliness was good as was location (quiet). Breakfast was excellent but interrupted by a fire alarm (neither genuine or a test) so we ate most of it cold. It would have been appropriate to apologise to diners and offer to resupply warm food. Overall not what I'd hoped at £265 for one night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Reasonable hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Reasonable distance from Oxford
Cons: see above
Location: Reasonable distance from Oxford. Plenty to do in Oxford and surrounding areas.
Disappointing restaurant menu. Bed and settee uncomfortable. Breakfast overpriced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cookham

Nice hotel and romm but Spa and Gym is a let down

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The rooms and the grounds the hotel were on are amazing
Cons: The Spa and Gym areas and the friendliness of their staff. All other staff were very pleasant.
We booked mainly for the Spa experience however this was disappointing. The Spa staff were not as friendly and welcoming as expected especially as this was for a relaxing weekend. The Spa had run out of men's products which was disappointing as this was the whole point of booking so we could experience. It was agreed with staff we could use the woman's products however they didn't appear to be knowledgeable. The facial and massage we received in the end was very good. The steam room needs upgrading to a more modern standard. There were a few other things that attention to detail could be better to bring the hotel to a higher standard that's expected. For example the sauna had no water in the bowl, with a water cooler just outside the sauna but had no cups, the female changing area run out of bags to put your damp costume in. The pool area was nice however only had 2 loungers which the whole time had towels reserved on them. The gym needs to be updated with more modern equipment. The Spa really lets the whole hotel down and the rooms, bar and grounds are really amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
This is a nice hotel for visiting Oxford. My only problem was it is a bit too far out of town in an area where there is nothing else nearby. The hotel itself is quite pleasant with a lovely garden next to river Thames.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

does not deliver

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Very nice gardens.
Cons: get the wireless internet working in the rooms.
Marginal breakfast. Dinner menu boring beyond belief so we ate elsewhere. Room ok but overpriced. Supposed to be 'superior but was just big enough to house the basics. The terrace was just a door opening onto the lawn. Breakfast was "included". That was a con. I was asked £5 for a kipper. The scrambled eggs were so dried up that they looked they had been on display for an hour, although the omolette was ok. Staff generally very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2016
Nice hotel , beautiful walk along the river into Oxford ....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a nice setting

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Lovely friendly and good food. Would recommend it to a friend