Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

A very disapointing stay!

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: The hotel was set in lovely surroundings.
Cons: Money needs to be spent all over the place.
Location: Lots of great places to eat and very nice local pubs
Very misleading from the limited photos. Mansion house looks fine from a far however on closer inspection it was very lived in to say the least. Once shown where our room was (110 Garden room) it looked like a dilapidated hospital wing with bleach stained bedding and chipped furniture. In a nutshell we were very disappointed!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canterbury

Attention to detail

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: The staff where available when needed and attended to all my requests. The leisure facilities were very enjoyable and relaxing.
Cons: It would be difficult to change the floor level in the disabled bathroom, but a blocked drain could overflow into the room.
Location: We visited the Miele Centre where we researched and later bought kitchen appliances.
This is the best Hotel that I have stayed in recently, the staff and facilities met my every need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joanne from Poole

Relaxing countryside weekend getaway

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Good location, nice surroundings, relaxed atmosphere. Room comfortable. Nice to have little cosy areas for tea/coffee and reading the paper rather than just in the room. Good facilities, pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and small gym. Friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

Superb Staff, Good Hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Great staff, great location and setting. Great view from our Garden Room.
Cons: Some of the furniture and interior could be refreshed or replaced.
Location: It's 5 mins from the A34 and about 10 minutes from Abingdon.
Arriving at the hotel I was struck by the beauty of the location and the surroundings, and on entering the main building I thought someone must have made a mistake and missed a star and a half off the two and a half star rating. It really is a fantastic and interesting building in a great setting. The staff were first class, very friendly and helpful, they seemed relaxed and at ease. The hotel is orientated for business with lots of meeting rooms and facilities, with free flowing coffee areas with fruit and snacks (no extra charges). On closer inspection you can see some areas of the hotel are a bit tired and worn, but I couldn't have cared less. Slightly on the downside was that the sound seemed to travel quite well into our room (a garden room) so we could hear general noise from other guests, but it was nothing terrible. The mattress in the room was okay for one night but I wouldn't like to spend a whole week on it. To end on a high - the restaurant food (dinner and breakfast) was excellent and fairly priced. And the guy at the bar made some great cocktails too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Simon

Nice building in a beautiful setting

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Nice building, traditional style but modernized. Great gardens and setting
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emily from Weymouth

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was nice - friendly staff, comfortable room etc - but it felt a little tired. Things felt a little shabby. The spa/pool facilities were small but nice. Overall it was a lovely hotel, but I didn't feel it was quite worth the cost for a night's stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Clean room, but the ensuite was not up to standard as the loo did not flush every time. However, the room was basic. Set out in large hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Excellent location just outside Oxford

Posted Oct 12, 2015
A good value hotel set in 20 acres of parkland and yet only a 15minute drive to centre of Oxford. Hotel provides a relaxed ambience with plenty of comfortable lounge s and bars to rest in as well as free coffee and Apple stations dotted around the hotel to quench ones thirst. The Garden rooms annex at the back of hotel are well furnished and one can walk through the Italian Garden or covered walk way to main hotel building. The stay also includes use of the leisure facilities-: Gym/ pool/ jacuzzi/ steam room/ sauna . There is a restaurant within the hotel but service was very slow sadly at dinner which spoilt the experience. However the breakfast buffet offered a wide variety of both hot and cold breakfast choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by william from york

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
One night stay. Good room and bathroom but would be better if it had a small fridge as many others do. Good buffet breakfast and good atmosphere with helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a quiet spot in Milton.

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Was given an upgrade to a very nice room, due to issues on our last stay. We were welcomed with a nice place of fruit. We also received a complimentary meal in the very nice restaurant. Delicious!