Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely rooms, great restaurant!

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Wotif
We loved our stay, great rooms, clean and modern, and fabulous restaurant, the staff went out if their way to make us feel welcome and to celebrate our daughters birthday!
4 out of 5
by Jane from San Diego

Nice English Country Getaway

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
We wanted a traditional pub experience while visiting relatives. It'seems a beautiful place. The garden areally was lovely but the weather didn'the cooperate. You need a car and theyou have plenty of off road parking. A golf course across the wayear and a winery just down the street was a lovely surprise. The rooms were fine, but the food was fair. They need to work on connectivity (wifi and tv).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tyddewi

Good pub food and a clean comfy room

Posted Jun 12, 2016
The only problem was the view from my room was non-existent (the corridor opposite!) Apart from that everything was absolutely fine. I would stay here again quite happily.
4 out of 5
by Carol from Sale Australia

Dog House 10/5/16

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was old, but well appointed. Free parking. Meals very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Popular and lively

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great choice for breakfast. Friendly staff and very good evening meals.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2016
We often stay in the Abingdon area as we visit relatives every few weeks and sometimes stay nearby. For some reason we'd not come across the Dog House but we're glad we did! The staff were welcoming and helpful, the room was large, clean and quiet. The bed was fabulous. Breakfast was good too. We ate dinner in the restaurant which was fine - the food was ok - not brilliant, but the service was attentive and again the staff were very pleasant. We'll definitely be returning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family gathering

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was perfect apart from check-in and payment for stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little Gem In The Country

Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
On arrival met by really friendly staff at the reception desk, had a lovely breakfast (with great Gluten Free bread) whilst waiting for the room to be ready as we arrived well before check-in. The room was clean and very comfortable, nice and warm. The staff were friendly and food & drink served into a lovely pub. Would visit again, such a nice place.
4 out of 5
by Harvey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, clean, nicely decorated. Great full English breakfast
Location: This is in a rural country setting about 15 minutes outside of Oxford
If you think of what a quaint traditional English Inn would be then this is it but with modern facilities.