Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Julian from London

Ok for a highway break area hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels
Room is basic, bed and towels only. Shower is good. Amenities available from reception. Nothing much to see / do in what is a typical highway rest area. Just used the hotel to crash after a wedding in Oxford, checked in at 11pm or so, out next morning at 8. Took the bus from the nearby roundabout to Oxford stn (£3.5) and train bach to London Paddington for some £25 / 1 hr trip. For me it was good value as all I needed was exactly that, bed, shower and an easy trio back to London.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Stay

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels
My mom and I stayed at this delightful B&B for a couple nights while visiting Oxford. The owner Gilly is a sweetheart who gave us a bus schedule and showed us the bus stop right across the street. We tried to order Chinese for dinner and wanted it delivered to the house. I gave the delivery man the address several times, and when no one showed up after 45 minutes, Gilly called him back and told him to forget it. He drove to the house about 20 minutes later just to yell at her, but she gave it right back to him, and later ordered Indian food for us. The room was cute and had all the comforts of home including a jetted tub, coffee, tea, and snacks. Breakfast was great and Gilly made my scrambled eggs dry just as I requested. We will definitely go back the next time we're in England.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dom from Connecticut

Best B and B we have ever stayed in.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to Oxford, with numerous things to do and see.
Beautiful spacious room, with pleasant neighborhood. Pub a short walk away, with very good food. Convenient location for Oxford and Heathrow. Very friendly and helpful owner.
5 out of 5
by Joe from London

what a lovely find

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at Gidleigh House when attending a friend's wedding - and what a lovely find it was. Gill (the owner) is exceptionally helpful and attentive and we found the room to be most pleasant. The B&B is a large, modern building that is well furnished and very homely. We were also allowed into the main lounge to watch television and have a few beers/nibbles. Our breakfast was really tasty with generous portions. We enjoyed chatting with Gill but never felt that she was imposing on us. We had our baby daughter with us and Gill helpfully provided a travel cot for her to sleep in. The "little things" were what really impressed us - a small box of Roses with the tea/coffee in the room, toothbrushes/toothpaste in the bathroom (we didn't need them, but great to know they were there just in case), lots of towels, flannels, fresh bedding. A really enjoyable stay and we would happily return again. There is parking outside and a good size garden too. Gill also has a small, friendly dog and a cat too.
5 out of 5
by David Fairey from Melbourne

Great place to stay in Oxford Area

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels
Room was light and roomy with everything you would need , even down to shaving Cream as well as a great range of hot drinks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from Sydney

Home away from home

Posted May 1, 2014
Cons: The only negative about Gidleigh House is having to leave. We will make up an excuse to return here some time down the track
GPS found Old London Rd, Wheatley very easily with the house just off a small lane way but well sign posted. We were greeted by Gilly the owner, with a beaming smile and genuine warmth, at the front door. Our room, which had an ensuite, was impeccably presented and had tea/ coffee making facilities, biscuits, chocolates and fruit. It was lovely and warm with a very comfy bed and pleasant view out the window. and we were made feel at home very quickly. Downstairs the sitting room was delightful as was the conservatory dining room which we found very relaxing each morning for breakfast. Oh, those full English breakfasts were scrumptious. Gilly provided us with some great advice on catching the local bus into Oxford, which virtually picked us up and dropped us back at the front door. We also appreciated the advice on what to see and do in Oxford. However the best advice was which local hotel to visit for dinner and a merriment. The Kings Arms pub landlady was an absolute delight, with great food, plenty of Guiness on tap and the pub a real highlight of our visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Peaceful Haven

Posted Apr 29, 2014
From start to finish Gill made us feel welcomed and cared for. Nothing was too much to ask of her. Her attention to details and her fun-loving personality made it seem as if we were with an old friend. Our room was beautifully decorated with lots of small touches to make it "special". The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was as nice as could be. She also helped us with booking for meals and sorting out a car rental problem we had. All in all, it was a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by K from New Jersey

Great hospitality, very comfortable

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Tea, fruit and biscuits when we arrived. Comfortable beds and a really large, nice triple room with a jacuzzi tub. A wonderful English breakfast.
Cons: Location is a little out of the way, but was a great value for the price.
Location: Wheatleigh is 5-7 miles out of Oxford center, which isn't too far. Though, with traffic, it was longer.
We needed a triple room and a double room, so our options were limited. Gidleigh House turned out to be a great find! It's 15 minutes from Oxford, which is no big deal when there is no traffic, and a little bigger deal during rush hour. The rooms were clean and well decorated and Gilly's hospitality was great. The English breakfast was amazing and served in a glassed in porch with really nice views of the garden. My family was very comfortable at Gidleigh House.
5 out of 5
by Bhasu from NY, United States

Pleasant and joyful experience

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels
Had a wonderful stay. The romm was cozy, great area, excellent wi-fi coverage. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels
The best B+B you will find. The highest standards in everything and a charming welcome too.