Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Nice hotel within easy reach of centre of oxford

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Good location. Room was clean and very nice decour.
Cons: Breakfast. Bigger servings on the full English. Waitresses be aware of when things run out so customers don't have to ask.
Location: 30 mins walk to Oxford centre or a bus ride in. Visit the Cotswolds and Blenheim Palace.
Stayed here for 3 nights. Good location for visiting Oxford centre or going into the Cotswolds. Choice of food in hotel restaurant could have been better so tried the local pubs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Falko Lukesch, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your great review! We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Falko Lukesch Operations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in peaceful location

Posted May 18, 2017
Very good food , nice service however no air conditioning at room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Falko Lukesch, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your great review! We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Falko Lukesch Operations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Pleasant

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Everyone was exceptionally nice. The hotel, while in a residential area, feels secluded and private.
Cons: The hotel seems short on staff. Had to wait for an extended time or go to reception to get service in the bar. A couple of shelves in the bathroom.
Location: If you don't mind a good walk (45 min) into the center of Oxford, the hotel is well suited to for walking trips around Oxford. Or an easy drive.
Enjoyed our stay. Lots of nooks and crannies to sit down and relax. Nice bar area. Room was reasonably spacious but the bathroom was a little tight with very little space for sundries. One disappointment was that Expedia indicated we would receive 20% off food and drink at the hotel which didn't happen. Overall a reasonable value though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by Falko Lukesch, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your great review! We are surprised that Expedia states that you would receive a discount of 20% on food and drinks as we do not have any promotion with them regarding food and beverage discounts. We will investigate the issues and apologize for any inconveniences! We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Falko Lukesch Operations Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida.

Never again.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Okay location.
Cons: Our room had stains on the walls and ceiling. Provide comfortable beds. Wash the towel in something else. (They smelt horrible.) Reduce the price.
Location: The hotel is a short walk from a bus stop that takes you into Oxford for 3.50 pounds return.
Over priced, dirty rooms & the most uncomfortable beds we've ever tried to sleep in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Miamian, Thanks for your review and I am pleased you found the bus into Oxford. I am very disappointed about your room experience however, even more so that you did not wish to highlight any of this during your stay. If you had of alerted us to any of these factors then we would of course looked into the problems for you. Thanks once again and best wishes, Sally Russell
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings

Lovely hotel,just a short bus ride from city.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Location: Location was great,a 5 minute walk to bus stop, they came very frequent, then a 10min ride in to the city. With loads to do.
Lovely hotel, we had the coach house which was very sweet and not adjoined to the hotel, but right by the reception. Breakfast was great lots of choice. A short walk to the bus stop and a short ride in to the city, roughly 10mins. Would definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by Falko Lukesch, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, Thank you very much for the great rating! We are proud that we could fulfill all your expectations to your entire satisfaction! We hope to see you at Hawkwell soon! Best Wishes, Falko Lukesch Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Amazing Hotel!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Location: Definitely check out the Iffley Lock and the trail alongside the Thames River all the way to the Centre of Oxford.
Hawkwell House Hotel is an amazing hotel all the way around. All of the staff were incredibly welcoming and very lovely. I enjoyed my room very much - very spacious and had excellent cable TV. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the wait staff was professional and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Oxford.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by Falko Lukesch, Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer, Thank you very much for the great feedback! We highly appreciate that and we are proud that we could fulfill all your expectations! We hope to see you at Hawkwell soon! Kind regards, Falko Lukesch Operations Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Needs updating. Walls in room were grubby. Bed was very hard
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Falko, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your honest feedback. As we take the feedback of our customers very serious in order to improve our facilities and services, we would kindly like to ask if you could come into contact with us to discuss the issue more in detail. Unfortunately, you have sen an anonymous feedback so we cannot see in which room you have stayed to review the bed and walls. As all our rooms are refurbished I cannot imagine that they are dirty or damages. However, we fully apologize that we could not meet all your expectations! Again, thank you very much for the honest feedback and we hope to hearing from you soon! Kind regards, Falko Lukesch House Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

OK hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights when visiting Oxford due to its high rating. We stayed at a room in Elm house, one of the three buildings that belong to this hotel. The room is quite small with a queen bed and a buck bed. TV is not working at all. The floor is not flat with the center sinking down which makes the desk on which the TV is put not leveled. I am always worried the cup will slip down to the floor. The carpet was not vacuumed the next day we came back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Falko, Hotel Management
Dear Tracy, Thank you very much for taking the time and leave us a feedback on Expedia. We fully apologize that we could not meet your expectations to your entire satisfaction. The TV was not working as the satellite has been damaged due to the weather and we had to wait for the company to repair it. Regarding to the carpet I will address this personally to the housekeeping department. We take the cleanliness in our hotel very serious! Again, we fully apologies for all inconveniences and hope to welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Falko Lukesch House Manager
5 out of 5
by Richard

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017
Dear Richard, Thank you very much for the high rating! We are proud that we could meet your expectations to your entire satisfaction! We hope to see you soon! Kind regards, Falko Lukesch House Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glastonbury

Great spot for the city

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Cons: The restaurant on Sunday night was not as good as it could been and while the duty manager compensated there were silly errors that should not happen.
Location: Take a city tour either on the open bus or a walking tour. The green buses have a live guide who add interest to the tour.
Close to the city centre and a nice walk along the river to get there. The hotel is well presented and all the staff are very friendly and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Falko , Hotel Management
Dear Iain, Thank you very much for your constructive feedback! We are glad that you generally enjoyed your stay at Hawkwell. We fully apologize for any inconveniences with the dinner. I would highly appreciate if you could come into touch with me to discuss the issues further and give us the opportunity for improvements! We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Falko Lukesch House Manager