Ratings based on 440 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glastonbury

Great spot for the city

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Cons: The restaurant on Sunday night was not as good as it could been and while the duty manager compensated there were silly errors that should not happen.
Location: Take a city tour either on the open bus or a walking tour. The green buses have a live guide who add interest to the tour.
Close to the city centre and a nice walk along the river to get there. The hotel is well presented and all the staff are very friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Birthday Weekend Away

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: The staff were brilliant. Always having an smile and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Location: Oxford city centre and Bicester Village outlet shopping centre are close by.
We arrived at the hotel on the Friday evening and were greeted to a warm welcome from the receptionist. Booking in was quick and simple. We had a lovely warm spacious room. We had an evening meal in the restaurant the first night and had a lovely meal. We then retired to the bar where once again the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to Oxford and the surrounding area. With the town centre a short bus or car ride away. After a day in Oxford we choose once again to eat in the hotel restaurant. On retiring to our room we found that the young baby in the room next door was constantly crying, not its fault as the poor child was ill. When we enquired about moving rooms the hotel staff could not have been more helpful. They found us another room, even offering to move our belonging's, without any fuss. Meaning that we were able to enjoy a good night sleep. It is certainly a hotel we will be retuning too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Ammie Jones - Group Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Good morning Keith, many thanks for leaving feedback following your recent stay at Hawkwell House. I am delighted you found the team friendly and very helpful and I'm pleased to hear that we were able to assist in moving your room to allow you a relaxing nights sleep. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albans

Located in a quiet area

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Generally comfortable. Within the room it would have been good to have: 1 - a mini fridge 2 - safe, for valuables Staff polite and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely family short break.

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
We had a lovely two nights stay at the hotel. Our family room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The beds had great mattresses. The staff were attentive and looked after us well. Breakfast was lovely and not rushed. Dinner in the restaurant was great and they catered well for our 5 year old daughter. Oxford is a short 15 mins bus ride away, with a bus every 15 minutes. Also easy to take a taxi to Oxford high street for about £8. Overall a very enjoyable family break away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing & noisy birthday break

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in room 102 which was pretty clean but had slightly dated furniture/decor. The main problem is that room 102 is only one room (room 101) away from the foyer, restaurant, bar and the room where someone was having a wedding. The music was fairly loud and continued until around 1 and I could make out entire conversations of people in the foyer. Combined with the tiled floors in the corridors the noise in the room was very loud, disruptive. We were then woken up several times during the night (3am, 5am, 6:30 am) by the passers by and sound of cutlery and plates being moved around. Come 7 am the neighbours were using their shower which sounded as loud as if we were in the same room. I have never stayed in a hotel where the sound from the corridor has been such a problem, it really was terrible. Everything else was average, except maybe the breakfast which was good and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Overall, I think we would have been content (if not happy) with the hotel & room if we had been somewhere else. But for what was meant to be a surprise birthday break and at £160 for one night we were very disappointed. Sadly, I couldn't recommend this hotel and wouldn't wish to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2016
hotel just what we wanted for overnight stay. Food good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet clean hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
I am Dairy free and the restaurant were great at being flexible for this. My room was really large and very quiet
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, with helpful staff

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Was a really nice place to stay, well out of main area of town, therefore lovely and quiet. Breakfast was delicious and there were plenty of choices. Would definitely recommend to my friends. Also staff very helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay.

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyed my stay at the Hawkwell hotel as it's a really lovely place to stay. Location is good and the village where it's located is beautiful. Staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough to help you. Great stay.