Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Birthday Weekend Away

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: The staff were brilliant. Always having an smile and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Location: Oxford city centre and Bicester Village outlet shopping centre are close by.
We arrived at the hotel on the Friday evening and were greeted to a warm welcome from the receptionist. Booking in was quick and simple. We had a lovely warm spacious room. We had an evening meal in the restaurant the first night and had a lovely meal. We then retired to the bar where once again the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to Oxford and the surrounding area. With the town centre a short bus or car ride away. After a day in Oxford we choose once again to eat in the hotel restaurant. On retiring to our room we found that the young baby in the room next door was constantly crying, not its fault as the poor child was ill. When we enquired about moving rooms the hotel staff could not have been more helpful. They found us another room, even offering to move our belonging's, without any fuss. Meaning that we were able to enjoy a good night sleep. It is certainly a hotel we will be retuning too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Ammie Jones - Group Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Good morning Keith, many thanks for leaving feedback following your recent stay at Hawkwell House. I am delighted you found the team friendly and very helpful and I'm pleased to hear that we were able to assist in moving your room to allow you a relaxing nights sleep. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albans

Located in a quiet area

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Generally comfortable. Within the room it would have been good to have: 1 - a mini fridge 2 - safe, for valuables Staff polite and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2016
hotel just what we wanted for overnight stay. Food good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Only there for one night - very comfortable and easy access to the city. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australiia

Repeat stayer

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, excellent breakfast and good amenities.
Cons: Maybe a bit more variety or dishes of the day with the evening meal menu.
Location: Close to Oxford. Walk to the Thames to view the canal boats going through the lock, and wander along the side of the river to a little pub.
This was our third stay in the past four years, and we continue to come back each time we are in Oxford. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The hotel has a nice little bar for a drink before dinner. Plenty of parking, and in a quiet neighbourhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Diamond Bar, CA

A great experience surrounded by nature

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, amazing breakfast, cozy room and beautiful surrounding
Cons: Nothing really
Location: The location is in suburb, surrounded by nature, nothing to do nearby the hotel but bus available to reach downtown in 30 min
The hotel is lovely, it's not too modern but in great shape. The staff are extremely nice and warm, everything we requested in the booking description was ready when we got there. The room was very huge with comfy beds, and the bathroom is awesome. We enjoyed the view from window and delicious breakfast. The location is in suburb but not too far from downtown, it's quiet and greenish around, only 20 min to downtown. It's a wonderful choice for a business trip, short driving distance and really wonderful stay to restore after a long trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from turlock ca usa

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Ex beds,food,bath/shower and staff.A fine old hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NZ

Lovely clean welcoming hotel.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: as above
Welcoming place to stay, nice setting and a good distance for a stroll into town along the river. The staff were lovely and breakfast etc very nice. Didn't choose to eat in the restaurant. It is quite a big place and there was a bit of noise with people walking down the hall etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
It is a nice and clean hotel. Stayed with family and everyone enjoyed the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Disappoint experience

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location was handy for the bus route into central Oxford
Cons: Staff could be more friendly and professional
Location: Oxford was fantastic. Botanic gardens, bus tours and Ashmolean Museum were great. Also had a fantastic night at Pegasus Theatre.
We booked this through Expedia and we were surprised when we were told on the 2nd morning of 3 that we hadn't booked the bed and breakfast option, this was done in front of all the guests. In fact when we spoke to the manager after breakfast I showed then my email which was confusing, but didn't say room only. I also showed them that on all booking options on the website, breakfast was included, therefore they grudgingly accepted my argument. The room wasn't cleaned on one day and we had to request a refresh, disappointing for what was badged as a four star hotel. Staff were less than friendly and hotel looked tired in places.