Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in the countryside of Oxfordshire

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The complex consists of two hotels: Heythrop Park, in a historical building, and Crown Plaza, the modern part. I was staying at Heythrop Park and have enjoyed the beautiful landscape and the quietness. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful and has made me feel welcome. Nice 20m indoor pool, many options to relax on a business trip, including a 4 mile hiking path and mountain biking. I will definitely return!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Haythrop Park recent stay

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: The Haythrop hotel & grounds are a wonderful experience with much to explore & discover. The concierge & reception staff were very friendly & helpful
Cons: The management - it's obviously felt appropriate to cut corners on extremely important aspects. Improve the food & employ staff that honour the hotel!
Location: Location is in a stunning area with many famous places to visit
Summary of our stay - We stayed for one night in the Longview room, the room was lovely, comfortable with everything needed & the view just beautiful. The Haythrop estate is large with much to explore, discover & enjoy, we would have needed to stay for many more nights to discover all it has to offer. Swimming pool facilities very acceptable, although take care, the floor is extremely slippery & apparently the mens changing rooms were freezing. The downside 1. Some of the staff were super friendly, namely the wonderful concierge and reception staff and a few others but some really were not & seemed not to care in the slightest. 2. The food, for a hotel of this level is atrocious, we ate breakfast and at the Brassry for a lunch snack & evening meal. I think possibly a great summary of the standard of food is; the chefs special sweet 'Black Forest gateaux' which we were later informed was no longer available and now the chefs special was orange jelly, we refrained was asking if it was Rowntrees!! Absolutely nothing appears freshly cooked, everything is processed, there are no organic or free range options even the eggs are not free range. The breakfast although a large choice was again mostly processed food, none of the meat is presented as local. We may stay again as the old hotel, it's grounds & it's location is are all just wonderful but we will not eat a morsel of food it has to offer and expect very little from the majority of the staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful house and grounds, poor staff

Posted May 3, 2016
Lovely old house with lots of character and our room was huge, very comfortable. The cleanliness and general competence of the staff leaves much to be desired. Our room was not made up without having to ask, and dirty trays of tea cups and room service lay in the hall for hours, and overnight. Could do with better management.
3 out of 5
by Jason from Rotherham

Lovely setting, but I would not stay here again

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
The noise from music from one of the rooms below continued until 1AM, which was annoying as I had an early start and a long journey ahead of me.
4 out of 5
by Susan from Brighton

Great Hotel, service could be improved.

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful hotel, and thanks to Sam we had an amazing room too, the rest of the staff were polite but extremely in need of training, the restaurant service was like something out of Fawlty Towers, with everyone (including us) getting the wrong food, when the right dishes arrived however, it was delicious...
5 out of 5
by christine from Bicester

Christmas party

Posted Dec 25, 2015 on Hotels
Had a very pleasant stay. We was here for the works Christmas party and decided to stay. The entrance was very grand and welcoming our room was very clean and nice. The food we had was excellent and the staff were all very nice and helpful. Will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by MARK from maesteg bridgend south wales

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
Very enjoyable stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel with style

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Pros: The architecture of the original hotel and the friendliness of the staff
Cons: Covered access to the pool facilities
Location: Very secluded and near the Cotswold villages. Golf facilities
Pleasant experience. Enjoyed the Christmas deco and music in the grand Hall. Evening dinner excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Majestic hotel in beautiful surroundings.

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: Historic, charming and a perfect hotel for a weekend break for a busy Londoner.
Cons: I believe Heythrop Park Hotel would look better without the Crowne Plaza extension, however it still blends well in with the surroundings.
Location: We went for a walk around the beautiful estate, which I would highly recommend. There are also some lovely villages and charming pubs nearby.
After reading some of the negative reviews we were a little bit concerned, however did not need to. We arrived in the afternoon and we were met by friendly and helpful staff. The room was modern in a Scandinavian style decor and very clean. I am definitely coming back here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed with friends and small children, we enjoyed the leisure facilities and the bar for food - rooms were very spacious and clean!