Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

beautiful hotel in huge beautiful grounds

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: room in the main part of the hotel
Location: bleinheim palace, childrens farm animal experience
we stayed for only one day but it was great the room was huge we will definitely go back. room service prices were reasonable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Work conference

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Ebookers
Nice enough hotel, a bit tired in places. My room was in the main house on the ground floor which had a lovely comfy bed and was very clean and modern. The walls are paper thin though and I was woken up by people walking down the corridors and people talking in their rooms above me. Breakfast was nice. We were given plenty of food and drink at the conference which was generally ok, nothing special but did the job. Lovely grounds and a gorgeous historic building but as I say, it could do with a bit of maintenance as I noticed door frames coming loose and general wear and tear visible in places. The toilets we were using for the conference in the Archer wing really should have been kept cleaner throughout the two days of using them as they smelt horrible every time I used them, probably due to the volume of people using them but this should have been kept on top of by the hotel staff. A nice stay overall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location but a bit spooky at night!

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was ok but evening checkin poor and had to lug all my luggage up stairs with no help
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with a difference

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
We had seen a couple of negative reviews but don't understand them. Service was excellent particularly in the dining room. Welcome on arrival was good. We had heard that the staff had very poor English but this was not evident. We had one small problem in that a bulb was faulty in the bathroom and meant the light was poor for shaving, this was not replaced despite us asking. Heythrop section of hotel could do with better signage for the restaurants and should advise people staying to follow signs for the main house.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent overall - a few small issues were that no child price for Breakfast was available, and there was no historical information about the very spectacular old mansion house.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over rated and over priced.

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Room was cramped, no air cond, tramped up and down 4 flights of steps with suitcases etc. Overall the facility we saw was impressive from outside , lovely grounds etc, but needed lots of upgrade inside the building. Eg the windows were not double glazed or able to be opened to let in fresh air. Car parking poor, a few hundred metres walk, raining and no courtesy pickup or even umbrella ?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An English gem.

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Spent 3 nights. Stay exceeded our expectations - price was very reasonable for the available facilities. Stately home and grounds were impressive and room was comfortable. Breakfast was cheaper than advertised and WiFi was free. Would recommend the Heythrop and, if our travels take us back to this area of England, then we will stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jo from Chorleywood

Fantastic hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel and setting. Great staff. I would go back.