Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An English gem.

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Spent 3 nights. Stay exceeded our expectations - price was very reasonable for the available facilities. Stately home and grounds were impressive and room was comfortable. Breakfast was cheaper than advertised and WiFi was free. Would recommend the Heythrop and, if our travels take us back to this area of England, then we will stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jo from Chorleywood

Fantastic hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel and setting. Great staff. I would go back.
3 out of 5
by Sissel Tove

Bo på "slott" og opplev 1800 tallets England!

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Hotellet ligner på et slott og har egen butler, Alan, og vi fikk følelsen av å være "ladies" i en britisk TV serie fra 1800 tallet! Alan fortalte bygningens og stedets spennende historie og viste oss rundt i de mange flotte oppholdsrom og spisesal. Eneste minus ved oppholdet var restauranten der vi ble servert en fiskemiddag som var skuffende - noe som kun skjedde denne gangen på vår en uke bilferie i England og Wales.
3 out of 5
by Rob from St albans

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was nice and well presented, service was poor and food price to quality was awful probably the worst I have ever stayed at
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Fantastic Location, great gardens

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Fantastic location, great gardens, it has so much potential
Cons: The beds badly need replacing and updating and the rooms are tired looking and need of quite a bit of maintenance to get it to where it should be.
Fantastic location, great gardens, it has so much potential but the rooms in the main manor house had the windows sealed shut so there was no ability to get fresh air in either the bedroom or the bathroom. It was a hot few days and the fans in the room did little to help and kept our 4 year old awake. In the end we had to leave the main door to the corridor open to get cool air for a while. The beds badly need replacing and updating and the rooms are tired looking and need of quite a bit of maintenance to get it to where it should be. The staff were very helpful, arranging other rooms, as first room was below floor level and the for price it was really disappointing, 2nd room was too small as we were a family of 3 and needed a single cot bed adding and there was no room for it. the third room worked for us space wise, lovely view and was just a bit dusty. All of the rooms beds were old and worn and could do with replacing and the windows painted shut. It was such a shame :(
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derby

Beautiful setting

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: It's caricature and location
Cons: Cleanliness of corridors, there was grass on the floor when we arrived and 2 days later was still there.
Location: Lots to do, plenty of NT sites, Roman Villas and villages and towns to explore
Lovely building and grounds. Food was good if slightly limited in choice. Lovely location for a bit of piece and quiet. Good walks in the grounds with things to find.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart

Wir genossen das Leben in einem Schloß

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: schöne Lage, der Park, Golfplatz und das Fitness Center
Cons: Die Gebäude könnten etwas TLC (tender love and care) vertragen
Location: Geeignet für Ausflüge nach Oxford und Cotswold
wir waren hier 2 Nächte um Oxford zu erkunden. wir haben die Atmosphäre im Hotel und die großzügigen Grünanlagen genossen wir hatten ohne Frühstück gebucht, auf Basis der vorliegenden Bewertungen und können zur Qualität des Restaurants keinen Kommentar abgeben
4 out of 5
by Claus Berner

Afslapning i slotsomgivelser

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Godt slotsophold. Kæmpe stort værelse med plads til 5 personer. 5m til loft. Dog lidt slidt og uden aircon.