Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Fantastic Location, great gardens

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Fantastic location, great gardens, it has so much potential
Cons: The beds badly need replacing and updating and the rooms are tired looking and need of quite a bit of maintenance to get it to where it should be.
Fantastic location, great gardens, it has so much potential but the rooms in the main manor house had the windows sealed shut so there was no ability to get fresh air in either the bedroom or the bathroom. It was a hot few days and the fans in the room did little to help and kept our 4 year old awake. In the end we had to leave the main door to the corridor open to get cool air for a while. The beds badly need replacing and updating and the rooms are tired looking and need of quite a bit of maintenance to get it to where it should be. The staff were very helpful, arranging other rooms, as first room was below floor level and the for price it was really disappointing, 2nd room was too small as we were a family of 3 and needed a single cot bed adding and there was no room for it. the third room worked for us space wise, lovely view and was just a bit dusty. All of the rooms beds were old and worn and could do with replacing and the windows painted shut. It was such a shame :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Beautiful setting

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: It's caricature and location
Cons: Cleanliness of corridors, there was grass on the floor when we arrived and 2 days later was still there.
Location: Lots to do, plenty of NT sites, Roman Villas and villages and towns to explore
Lovely building and grounds. Food was good if slightly limited in choice. Lovely location for a bit of piece and quiet. Good walks in the grounds with things to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Haythrop Park recent stay

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: The Haythrop hotel & grounds are a wonderful experience with much to explore & discover. The concierge & reception staff were very friendly & helpful
Cons: The management - it's obviously felt appropriate to cut corners on extremely important aspects. Improve the food & employ staff that honour the hotel!
Location: Location is in a stunning area with many famous places to visit
Summary of our stay - We stayed for one night in the Longview room, the room was lovely, comfortable with everything needed & the view just beautiful. The Haythrop estate is large with much to explore, discover & enjoy, we would have needed to stay for many more nights to discover all it has to offer. Swimming pool facilities very acceptable, although take care, the floor is extremely slippery & apparently the mens changing rooms were freezing. The downside 1. Some of the staff were super friendly, namely the wonderful concierge and reception staff and a few others but some really were not & seemed not to care in the slightest. 2. The food, for a hotel of this level is atrocious, we ate breakfast and at the Brassry for a lunch snack & evening meal. I think possibly a great summary of the standard of food is; the chefs special sweet 'Black Forest gateaux' which we were later informed was no longer available and now the chefs special was orange jelly, we refrained was asking if it was Rowntrees!! Absolutely nothing appears freshly cooked, everything is processed, there are no organic or free range options even the eggs are not free range. The breakfast although a large choice was again mostly processed food, none of the meat is presented as local. We may stay again as the old hotel, it's grounds & it's location is are all just wonderful but we will not eat a morsel of food it has to offer and expect very little from the majority of the staff.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful house and grounds, poor staff

Posted May 3, 2016
Lovely old house with lots of character and our room was huge, very comfortable. The cleanliness and general competence of the staff leaves much to be desired. Our room was not made up without having to ask, and dirty trays of tea cups and room service lay in the hall for hours, and overnight. Could do with better management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel with style

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Pros: The architecture of the original hotel and the friendliness of the staff
Cons: Covered access to the pool facilities
Location: Very secluded and near the Cotswold villages. Golf facilities
Pleasant experience. Enjoyed the Christmas deco and music in the grand Hall. Evening dinner excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Majestic hotel in beautiful surroundings.

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: Historic, charming and a perfect hotel for a weekend break for a busy Londoner.
Cons: I believe Heythrop Park Hotel would look better without the Crowne Plaza extension, however it still blends well in with the surroundings.
Location: We went for a walk around the beautiful estate, which I would highly recommend. There are also some lovely villages and charming pubs nearby.
After reading some of the negative reviews we were a little bit concerned, however did not need to. We arrived in the afternoon and we were met by friendly and helpful staff. The room was modern in a Scandinavian style decor and very clean. I am definitely coming back here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

True English experience

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Uniqueness
I enjoyed this stay as it was not the usual hotel room. I felt like I was staying in a castle and really enjoyed the character and atmosphere of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

wonderful hotel in great grounds

Posted Nov 26, 2015
stayed for 1 night as on a trip near Oxford. only chose here as I was on South west side of Oxford but what a place. had one small issue with the room but it was very quickly resolved - a good test of a hotel in my view and the staff responded quickly and couldn't do enough wifi is actually free unlike it says on Expedia I will certainly be back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shropshire

Posted Nov 11, 2015
This is my second visit, although the last one, a year ago, was very good lots of the staff didn't understand English , which was a problem when ordering food or enquiring about something. This time the staff were fluent in English, very friendly and helpful and couldn't do more. Breakfast were good and so was the one evening meal we had in the bar. Would defiantly visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

A bit far out and no local or reasonable cabs

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Staff were great
Location: beautiful grounds but remote
All good except room very remote and outlook poor Not inexpensive but did not include breakfast Door to room was hard to close and was left unsecure after cleaners were in.