Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Fantastic Location, great gardens

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Fantastic location, great gardens, it has so much potential
Cons: The beds badly need replacing and updating and the rooms are tired looking and need of quite a bit of maintenance to get it to where it should be.
Fantastic location, great gardens, it has so much potential but the rooms in the main manor house had the windows sealed shut so there was no ability to get fresh air in either the bedroom or the bathroom. It was a hot few days and the fans in the room did little to help and kept our 4 year old awake. In the end we had to leave the main door to the corridor open to get cool air for a while. The beds badly need replacing and updating and the rooms are tired looking and need of quite a bit of maintenance to get it to where it should be. The staff were very helpful, arranging other rooms, as first room was below floor level and the for price it was really disappointing, 2nd room was too small as we were a family of 3 and needed a single cot bed adding and there was no room for it. the third room worked for us space wise, lovely view and was just a bit dusty. All of the rooms beds were old and worn and could do with replacing and the windows painted shut. It was such a shame :(
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derby

Beautiful setting

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: It's caricature and location
Cons: Cleanliness of corridors, there was grass on the floor when we arrived and 2 days later was still there.
Location: Lots to do, plenty of NT sites, Roman Villas and villages and towns to explore
Lovely building and grounds. Food was good if slightly limited in choice. Lovely location for a bit of piece and quiet. Good walks in the grounds with things to find.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart

Wir genossen das Leben in einem Schloß

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: schöne Lage, der Park, Golfplatz und das Fitness Center
Cons: Die Gebäude könnten etwas TLC (tender love and care) vertragen
Location: Geeignet für Ausflüge nach Oxford und Cotswold
wir waren hier 2 Nächte um Oxford zu erkunden. wir haben die Atmosphäre im Hotel und die großzügigen Grünanlagen genossen wir hatten ohne Frühstück gebucht, auf Basis der vorliegenden Bewertungen und können zur Qualität des Restaurants keinen Kommentar abgeben
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in the countryside of Oxfordshire

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The complex consists of two hotels: Heythrop Park, in a historical building, and Crown Plaza, the modern part. I was staying at Heythrop Park and have enjoyed the beautiful landscape and the quietness. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful and has made me feel welcome. Nice 20m indoor pool, many options to relax on a business trip, including a 4 mile hiking path and mountain biking. I will definitely return!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Haythrop Park recent stay

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: The Haythrop hotel & grounds are a wonderful experience with much to explore & discover. The concierge & reception staff were very friendly & helpful
Cons: The management - it's obviously felt appropriate to cut corners on extremely important aspects. Improve the food & employ staff that honour the hotel!
Location: Location is in a stunning area with many famous places to visit
Summary of our stay - We stayed for one night in the Longview room, the room was lovely, comfortable with everything needed & the view just beautiful. The Haythrop estate is large with much to explore, discover & enjoy, we would have needed to stay for many more nights to discover all it has to offer. Swimming pool facilities very acceptable, although take care, the floor is extremely slippery & apparently the mens changing rooms were freezing. The downside 1. Some of the staff were super friendly, namely the wonderful concierge and reception staff and a few others but some really were not & seemed not to care in the slightest. 2. The food, for a hotel of this level is atrocious, we ate breakfast and at the Brassry for a lunch snack & evening meal. I think possibly a great summary of the standard of food is; the chefs special sweet 'Black Forest gateaux' which we were later informed was no longer available and now the chefs special was orange jelly, we refrained was asking if it was Rowntrees!! Absolutely nothing appears freshly cooked, everything is processed, there are no organic or free range options even the eggs are not free range. The breakfast although a large choice was again mostly processed food, none of the meat is presented as local. We may stay again as the old hotel, it's grounds & it's location is are all just wonderful but we will not eat a morsel of food it has to offer and expect very little from the majority of the staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful house and grounds, poor staff

Posted May 3, 2016
Lovely old house with lots of character and our room was huge, very comfortable. The cleanliness and general competence of the staff leaves much to be desired. Our room was not made up without having to ask, and dirty trays of tea cups and room service lay in the hall for hours, and overnight. Could do with better management.
3 out of 5
by Jason from Rotherham

Lovely setting, but I would not stay here again

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
The noise from music from one of the rooms below continued until 1AM, which was annoying as I had an early start and a long journey ahead of me.
4 out of 5
by Susan from Brighton

Great Hotel, service could be improved.

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful hotel, and thanks to Sam we had an amazing room too, the rest of the staff were polite but extremely in need of training, the restaurant service was like something out of Fawlty Towers, with everyone (including us) getting the wrong food, when the right dishes arrived however, it was delicious...
5 out of 5
by christine from Bicester

Christmas party

Posted Dec 25, 2015 on Hotels
Had a very pleasant stay. We was here for the works Christmas party and decided to stay. The entrance was very grand and welcoming our room was very clean and nice. The food we had was excellent and the staff were all very nice and helpful. Will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by MARK from maesteg bridgend south wales

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
Very enjoyable stay