Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel with style

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Pros: The architecture of the original hotel and the friendliness of the staff
Cons: Covered access to the pool facilities
Location: Very secluded and near the Cotswold villages. Golf facilities
Pleasant experience. Enjoyed the Christmas deco and music in the grand Hall. Evening dinner excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Majestic hotel in beautiful surroundings.

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: Historic, charming and a perfect hotel for a weekend break for a busy Londoner.
Cons: I believe Heythrop Park Hotel would look better without the Crowne Plaza extension, however it still blends well in with the surroundings.
Location: We went for a walk around the beautiful estate, which I would highly recommend. There are also some lovely villages and charming pubs nearby.
After reading some of the negative reviews we were a little bit concerned, however did not need to. We arrived in the afternoon and we were met by friendly and helpful staff. The room was modern in a Scandinavian style decor and very clean. I am definitely coming back here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

True English experience

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Uniqueness
I enjoyed this stay as it was not the usual hotel room. I felt like I was staying in a castle and really enjoyed the character and atmosphere of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

wonderful hotel in great grounds

Posted Nov 26, 2015
stayed for 1 night as on a trip near Oxford. only chose here as I was on South west side of Oxford but what a place. had one small issue with the room but it was very quickly resolved - a good test of a hotel in my view and the staff responded quickly and couldn't do enough wifi is actually free unlike it says on Expedia I will certainly be back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shropshire

Posted Nov 11, 2015
This is my second visit, although the last one, a year ago, was very good lots of the staff didn't understand English , which was a problem when ordering food or enquiring about something. This time the staff were fluent in English, very friendly and helpful and couldn't do more. Breakfast were good and so was the one evening meal we had in the bar. Would defiantly visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

A bit far out and no local or reasonable cabs

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Staff were great
Location: beautiful grounds but remote
All good except room very remote and outlook poor Not inexpensive but did not include breakfast Door to room was hard to close and was left unsecure after cleaners were in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fernando from London

Very good hotel if you are in the refurbished area

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Really nice hotel. Great for chldren as it's plenty of activities. The rooms are really good, if you are in the refurbished area. The children loved it, especially the playground and the swimming pool. Also you have jiraffes, zebras, rabbits,... 20 mins walking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic setting, lovely hotel.

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel itself was fantastic and is set in a stunning location! The room was lovely, if a little cosy. However the staff at the hotel could have been more polite. Upon checking out we were dismissed with a curt 'ok' and the women didn't seem to care whether we had enjoyed our stay. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful but the leisure facilities could be better. The spa itself was dirty and I received a towel with a muddy footprint on it. I would recommend the hotel because it is a fantastic place to stay in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from Banbury

A little gem!

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
Superb value for money. We stayed in the old house, and the room and bathroom were huge, with rich decor. Good golf course, nice walks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by maureen

Hotel OK

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
We were initially unhappy with our room which faced the delivery bays and had a frosted window but after an hour, the manager found us another room that was fine. The room is very small but well equipped. The staff tried their best but, as in many hotels and restaurants in the UK, nobody spoke English that well. It also took over an hour to get an omelet, coffee and hot chocolate at breakfast. The quality of the food was well below par and we skipped breakfast the second day. There was a good 30 minute wait to check out. Staff were coming and going but only one person was dealing with the guests. We did not use any of the facilities as we were there to see friends in the town.