Ratings based on 645 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Very good value Oxford hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: It seems well managed and although not that new, generally maintained to a high standard. Most people will be happy with the breakfast available.
Cons: Not much. Unless you expect a luxury hotel at budget price you will be happy staying at this hotel.
Location: If travelling without a car it is bus 1 or 5 for Blackbird Leys from Central Oxford. Stop: Spindleberry Close. Use smartphone app to reach hotel.
This hotel, one of the Holiday Inn Express chain, is a budget hotel and a comfortable place to stay. It is next to the Oxford United football ground. This might be an issue for you on a match day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3rd visit

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: location, free breakfast and parking
Cons: Need new beds; cleaning of rooms needs to be supervised and double-checked.
Location: Great for overnight travelers
Was not as good as the first two visits. Room was cold. Heating was inadequate. Shower was full of previous guests hairs. Bed needs to be replaced. I thought the sheets were wrapped up under me but it was the cheap mattress. However I will stay there again as the price was affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for travelers

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Room was a little chilly. I put the heating on full but it wasn't sufficient (for me, but I like it warm).
Location: Location was perfect but the GPS setting wasn't accurate. Had to keep driving past the setting.
Great location for the traveler. Easy 7 minutes drive from city center. Plenty of free parking. For the price of the hotel, there was definitely value for money. Room was a little chilly but I am from the tropics so this wasn't unexpected. Staff were very helpful and cooperative; they couldn't do enough for me. Overall, a good experience. This was my second visit and they'll definitely be a third when I'm in that area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stafford England

Car broken into

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Park at your own risk.Had my car broken into by professional thieves whilst using the car park luckily nothing taken just the inconvenience of having to get a new rear window screen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Very comfortable and nice breakfast, easy access to city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Great stay and very friendly staff. The rooms were nice and tidy and it was great to have breakfast included.
2 out of 5
by Jo

Would never recommend this - AVOID

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Room: decor was dated and needed some maintenance. Bed was small and too soft. Only 1 tea bag in the room so impossible for both of us to have tea. The lighting outside was very bright so needed curtains closed which made room stuffy. In the middle of the night (for several hours) the sound of heavy rain falling from the top 'guttering' to a set of metal slats below (appalling design flaw) was so loud that it woke us up and we could not get back to sleep for several hours. No point calling down about this as there is obviously nothing the staff can do about it. Breakfast: the 'hot' water machine left a foamy scum on the water which wasn't hot enough to make a decent brew (again!), limited hot food options (none of which looked very appetising and certainly weren't very hot). The design of the breakfast bar area was again appalling; not enough room for two people to pass each other comfortably and where the hot food was (what there was of it) you had to balance your plate on a counter which wasn't deep enough for the it, then try to open the hot cabinet door with one hand, serve your food with the other (while holding the cabinet door up) with your tummy pushed against your plate to stop it falling off the already too-small counter (unless you have 3 hands of course!). Such a terrible night was bad enough. However, when the receptionist was very indifferent about our experience and had no interest in finding us a feedback form it was the final straw.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weston-super-Mare

Nice budget hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Ebookers
For the money this was a nice hotel, but not somewhere to stay if you want luxury as it's pretty basic. It was clean and tidy throughout and the breakfast was nice. Bed was too soft for us so didn't sleep very well and the toilet roll was very cheap feeling. But nice shower and view of the football ground.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great value for money

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Close to football ground. Close to entertainment and restaurant's
4 out of 5
by Paul from Wales

good location

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
very clean and welcoming place to stay, excellent places to eat very close by