Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reykjavik, Iceland

Nice hotel, close to the motorway so easy access

Posted Feb 16, 2017
The gym was not up to snuff and housekeeping had its off days, probably just due to who was working
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice comfy bed

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Apart from few delay in understanding the order and squeaky seat the room were clean, spacious, the biggest plus comfortable bed for a good night sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec

Great Staff

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Staff, and particularly the lounge area had a great atmosphere with the terrace just outside.
Cons: Maybe offer some rooms with dressing drawers. There is definitely space to include an extra piece of furniture.
Location: Great location. Not too far from Oxford city centre. Bicester shopping, Blenheim castle. If you want to use the bus, very easy to get across town.
We needed to stay in the Oxford area for about 9 days. We came across the Holiday Inn and figured it would have all the accommodations for a stay that would be somewhat "home away from home". It did. The staff at the hotel were amazing, Jacqui at the bar sent up flowers to the room and was so kind. The morning Chef made sure everything was to our liking, as did the rest of the staff working the restaurant. The reception team quickly recommended and searched for whatever we needed. Even Jon the maintenance man recommended we visit Blenheim Castle nearby which we did. Kyle was terrific, as was Claudio, and so many others. The only thing (albeit minor) is that the rooms did not have "dressing drawers" but then again maybe it is because this is a hotel whereby people do not stay as long as we did. This is a very minor thing as we would probably stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great price and great stay. No pressure to eat in or check out early - very relaxed and great to use the pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Superbly situated to get into Oxford

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Well placed, and free parking.
Location: Oxford is a truly delightful city with large amounts of music, theater and other events. The museums are excellent and architecture superb.
The Holiday Inn Oxford is situated right off the Peartrees roundabout and so is easily reachable from several major roads. It is also a 2 minute walk from the Park and Ride system so it is very easy to get into the city of Oxford (where you will be lucky to find anywhere to park and, if you do, the charges are horrendous). The rooms are fresh and comfortable. They are also quiet, even though close to major roads.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Conveniently situated hotel with great breakfast.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Easy parking, very good evening meal and an outstanding breakfast.
Cons: Comfort was let down by dreadful pillows and an undersized duvet.
This hotel lacks character, but is clean and convenient. The staff are OK, but tried to charge again for a pre-paid room, and changed the key card access after the first 24 hours of a two-night stay. The card was re-coded without an apology.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very poor as a 4 star; fine for a 3 star

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is advertised as 4 star. In reality it is little more than an upgraded Travelodge. For example: the room doors are a piece of plain wood with a coat of whitewash (and that is on the executive floor). The bed is not very comfortable and the duvet is not wide enough for two people. The breakfast is self-service. Everything about this hotel (though I did not use the spa) reeks of having been done as cheaply as possible. If you want a 3 star hotel this is fine and I would have given it a higher rating, but this should never be advertised as 4 star.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

VERY CLEAN AND CONVNIENT FOR US.

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
It was fine for what we wanted.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Service @ the restaurant

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Should give a very good but on the last day morning when we were having breakfast, I intended to order an omelette and tried to wave a waitress who named Nina, no matter how many times I raised my hand up, said hello to her whenever she passed by, she just ignored me, then I gave up and waved to another waitress and she was very helpful. Nina even didn't take up the plates we used but she did that for our next table. I felt discrimination because I am a Chinese.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Best hotel to travel between London and Oxford.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Friendly as always. Taxi arrangements are done without fail. Easy environment for business person. 10 minutes from the bus terminal.
Cons: Holiday Inn starts running a paid shuttle to bus station or train station every 30 minutes, that would be perfect.
Location: Supermarket, Starbucks and eating place are located within the hotel area. You can buy food and drink and whatever.
Very friendly staff, quick check in and clean room.