Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, UK.

will use again if in area.

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: good local pub atmosphere in bar. well laid out restaurant, good menu & food . friendly hosts.
Cons: Happy as is. Always something could be improved for some people but was fine for us.
Location: not really investigated as we were attending family get together. I did see that there is a brewery nearby which does have visits and tours of site.(
Confirmed booking in morning as would not be arriving 'til late p.m. Arrived to pleasant greeting and shown to our room. Unpacked and went down to bar to enjoy a well kept pint and a wine for the wife . shown the menu and ordered what turned out to be a very good meal in a larger than expected dining room. Would recommend to anybody not requiring silver service and a doorman. Have recommended it to my family who live nearby so that they can pass on our recommend.to friends visiting the area.
4 out of 5
by john

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient for visiting a friend in Hook Norton
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wakefield

Home from Home in a friendly local atmosphere

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
1 night stopover on business. Have been to the area many times, but never stopped at the Horse & Groom. Staff very friendly and accommodating, food and drink were very good and I'll definitely be back :)
5 out of 5
by Lee from Manchester

Great place to stay....

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Arrived too late for food but they still offered to cook me something to have ready for when I arrived, I didn't take them up on this offer but the thought was a nice gesture, great atmosphere and the people inside the pub at the time were very friendly and chatty. Great place to stay will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from N.E England

Pleasant and friendly country pub

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Easy going and friendly
Cons: All good
Location: We were there for a wedding nearby so didnt have time to do other things but it is clearly in a delightful area with plentiful things to do and see.
It was only an overnight stay so fleeting impressions - but everything was easy. Nothing was problematic - apart from the struggle to open the roof light which they came and sorted quickly. We had a key for the outside door - in case we came back late at night. The room was lovely and breakfast was of very good quality. Shame they had run out of black pudding.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly local

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, good food and quiet location. Very clean.
4 out of 5
by Kevin from Warminster

Quiet village pub.

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
This was my second stay here, so that has to be a bonus for a start. The place is very smart, a small rural pub with 4 rooms. All the rooms have been refurnished around December, so there maybe some reports earlier saying it needs updating. The owners have listened and have completed it to a good high standard. The only down side I can say about it is the walls are not very thick, nor is the floor so the floor boards creep a little and you can hear some bar noise. However the food is proper pub food, not that posh nosh where you need a kebab afterwards. The pub is closed in the afternoon, but you ring the bell and a friendly face lets you in and shows you to the room. The bedroom is spacious, the bed is comfy and there is enough tea and coffee for everyone. The restaurant was busy, however they had saved me a table. The food is reasonable priced and loads of it. The breakfast was freshly cooked and again they was loads of it. I have stayed here twice now and would not hesitate to stay here again when I am next in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gabriel from Warrington

Great Pub Hotel and quiet area

Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
Just renovated
3 out of 5
by Russ from Hampshire

Great food

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
Best breakfast we have had in a long time, & we travel a lot. nothing too much trouble, spotlessly clean, the evening meal was also great. Our room was a very basic - no surfaces to put anything, but bathroom had everything you would get if staying in a 4star hotel.