Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, friendly staff

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Cosy; friendly staff; buffet breakfast; free car park
Cons: Informing customers of any changes in the facilities
The experience overall was excellent. The staff was friendly and the hotel was really good for the money. The large free car park was a bonus, yet we were not informed before arrival that the leisure facilities were not in use at that time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sutton Coldfield

One night stay

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Clean, contemporary and friendly.
Cons: Coffee wasn't the best, but ok
Location: Easy to get to the city centre
Clean, comfortable? Easy to get there, great price too:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well placed for lots of things

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Modern. Breakfast and dinner timings.
Cons: For the price, nothing.
Location: On the A40. Close to Oxford city centre, Witney (and the Cotswolds beyond), Blenheim, the M40 and the A34.
Chose the hotel because we couldn't get anything in Witney over Christmas. And very pleasantly surprised we were. Only 8 miles from Witney, we could reach the family within 15-20 minutes - but the hotel is also ideally located for getting into Oxford, for the A34 and for getting to the M40 and Blenheim (admittedly we didn't experience road conditions during a typical Oxford rush hour). The amenities and flexibility of meal and bar timings attracted us, and didn't disappoint - though the bar area was functional and wanted for character. The breakfast is very good. The hotel is in the final throes of modernization but that didn't affect our stay. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable and the towels were excellent - which made up for the bathroom, which was modernized but a little cramped. Stepping up into the bath could be tricky for the elderly, especially the fixed bath screen is at the end where the non-slip base to the bath is located. At the price we paid, the whole stay was excellent value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Overall the hotel was very nice, good breakfast and great meeting place
Cons: I think the room cleaning service could do with the improvement
Location: Things were within a short driving distance. Very near the town centre
Nice hotel but the bathroom was not cleaned well. There was a used sanitary towel under the sink and discarded contact lens on the floor near the bin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portsmouth

Christmas stay

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Position to my sons home!
Location: Great pub in wlovercote called the Jacobs inn great food good service, perfect!
Was fine for a bed for two nights except for the fire alarm going off at 7am on Christmas Day!!! Not good!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cyprus

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: S
Good bus to town centre .Helpful staff at reception .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Billericay

Pokey Room & No Facilities available

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: The name & the soft closing toilet lid
Cons: The outside, The Gym, The pool. The size of the rooms. A bus to the nearby hotel which has a pool & gym and bigger rooms
Location: Oxford was great as was the trip there and back. less than a few quid. Number 6 is just outside the main gates
We booked in with a very nice young lady, She gave us our room number and explained where our room was. We walked to the complete opposite side of the hotel which was a huge distance away from the front exit & reception. If your old or infirm then please let them know you want a room closer to the main area. Room was clean but tiny, But i suppose you could almost swing a kitten in there as opposed to a cat. View was the remainder of the dirty outside of hotel. We booked this hotel because it had a gym & a pool. Towels and swimming gear at the ready we decided we would go for a walk and use those facilities once we got back. We asked for the times of the pool opening hours only yo be told that they have been closed for some time this included the gym. The whole point of ticking the box POOL was to use the pool. They did recommend a hotel up the road but we had now way of getting there or back. Breakfast was a buffet affair and was okay. easily walked off getting back to our room on the far side of the complex. Getting into Oxford can be done on the number 6 bus directly outside the main gates and to the right. very reasonable and quick.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far from the town centre

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Room too small. Too far from centre of town. Too expensive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford UK

Very comfortable.

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Very quiet.
Cons: Too many flavoured teas I would have prefered at least a couple more breakfast teas available. Also more milk.
Location: Easy access to Oxford and the ring road.
Larger than I expected. Plenty of room. The beds were very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newly renovated, easy transport to Oxford

Posted Oct 5, 2016
The rooms are all recently renovated and very comfortable. The restaurant is still undergoing renovations, but service was available in the bar. Food was good, although a bit pricey. Our stay was quiet despite the work in progress. The number 6 bus is right around the corner and took us to the city center in about 15 minutes.