Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quaint old world charm centrally located

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The freshly cooked breakfast and cafetière coffee
Cons: There was only nespresso coffee in the room, which I don't like and no tea. To obtain milk we would have had to call room service
Location: Well placed for Oxford, Blenheim Palace and the Cotswolds
The hotel is very attractive and in the centre of Woodstock. Entrance to the parking area is very narrow and could be a problem for a large car. The room was situated on a third floor without a lift which we managed at the age of 71but we were asked if we needed help with the luggage. Room and bed were comfortable and the breakfast was freshly cooked with freshly brewed coffee unlike the machines you get in many hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My Own Downton Abbey Experience at THE BEAR!

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Pure charm, history, comfort, delight.
Cons: This is perfection -- all others should be judged by its standards.
Location: It is in the center of one of the most beautiful English villages -- filled with book, charity, and other shops. It is a short bus ride to Oxford.
Walk a few steps from your room and you will see in the distance your own Downton Abbey! Blenheim Palace! Walk back into your room and you will see that while you were out, the staff have tidied and refreshed everything as though they had been trained by Mr. Carson! In the evening, walk across the street to The Star and have a pint of ale. On Saturday morning, walk out to see a farmer's market conveniently set up in front of your village home. And for $10 buy a miniature English garden in bloom in a large wood pail. Bring it back to your room and savor the feeling of pure blessing. The blessings of the BEAR!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midlands

Excellent location next to Blenheim .

Posted Feb 24, 2017
One night stay , comfortable quaint and warm .the staff were friendly and very polite . Would certainly stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

en route hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: room was great
Cons: bar snacks were small and pricey
Location: great for blenheim palace
very welcoming meals pricey but breakfast lovely room warm and cosy nice hotel in fact
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosy hotel near Oxford

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Charming staff and efficient. Woodstock charming , beautiful Palace to visit. Excellent transportation to surrounding areas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

AMAZING!!

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
I loved every minute of my stay. The hotel is historic and incredible. The gentleman who checked us in was professional and welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable. The only complaint I have is the bathroom remained very cold (I stayed in December) despite having the heater in the room on continuously. I should have alerted someone there but did not. However, the charming aesthetics and cozy feel makes it easy to overlook this small thing. By far my favorite part was their pub/bar area. I had the cream tea in there and it was the most quaint place I had ever been. The fire was going and it was heavenly in that room. I didn't want to leave. It was an amazing experience to stay here and it was only a 3 minute walk to Blenheim Palace gate. It was a comfort stay in a wonderful hotel in a adorable town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lolvey old hotel with new features

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely welcoming staff, beautiful room, convenient for our dog, easy parking right outside door of room, new coffee machine in room and excellent full breakfast. lovely ambience and made to feel special.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Faulty towers with a smile

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived bed during a power cut. Not food available. Bar closed. Roomnot only had no hot water it had no water at all all night. No compensation offered.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for a romantic break

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for one night and we're delighted to be given a room upgrade to a superior room which was large, and well furnished, with a four poster bed. The en-suite was also very good, with a separate bath & shower, and all very clean. We had dinner in the hotel, the service was very good and the food delicious. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive but nice.

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Little bit more expensive than others on offer in the area but better standard. Breakfast is steep at £21. Rooms to a good standard but remember it's a very old building and floors are very creaky and thin internal walls. Would stay again.