Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in village centre

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Great location and with lots of charm
Cons: Beds was on the small side
Location: Write on the doorstep of Blenheim Palace
Hotel was very easy to find and was located in the centre of the village. Staff were excellent and food was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Beautiful 700 year old inn recently renovated.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Old but fully modern fixtures
Cons: Not a thing
Wonderful place. A couple of hundred yards from the Blenheim gate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Woodstock is lovely and close to Blenheim Palace

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: It's a quirky hotel that has retained historic features whilst also providing quality modern accommodation bedrooms.
Cons: Very little in our opinion as it ticked our boxes and exceeded expectations.
Location: Blenheim palace is easy walking distance and plenty of countryside. For shoppers Bicester retail village is about 25 minutes away.
We arrived early well before check in and left car in hotel car park. Adriano on reception was very helpful with local knowledge. We ate in Woodstock rather than the hotel where there is plenty of choice and chose Daba an Indian restaurant. It doesn't look much from the outside but is worth a visit we had a very good meal. The hotel is close to Blenheim Palace which a great experience with both the palace and beautiful grounds to explore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

excellent location to visit Blenheim Palace,.

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: location. cleanliness, staff friendliness. access to Blenheim Palace
Cons: top rate, no improvement required
Location: Woodstock is a medieval wool town situated on the edge of the Cotswolds, Oxford isn't far away. Winston Churchill's family grave is nearby.
we stayed overnight at the hotel, greeted by Craig who was polite and efficient. Room was quiet, and clean. breakfast was excellent, will book again if visiting the area.
2 out of 5
by Alan

Very disappointing

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Efficient and friendly check in and an upgrade offered. Bar service before dinner was poor, long wait for the bar to be attended then told the local draughty beer had run out with none until the next delivery the following day. Just over an hour or so later there was the draught local beer on again but horribly cloudy, the waitress said it wafted like that when they changed over barrels. Our room was warm, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a complete disaster. We arrived at 9.10, Cherenkov was one family finishing breakfast and a group of four at another table. It took over ten minutes to be asked for tea/ coffee and toast. It arrived shortly after but the toast had barely been introduced to the toaster, it was not toasted bread. Our breakfast order took another ten minutes to be taken by which time we had finished our coffee, another 30 minutes later we were served a breakfast on a small cold plate with a burned tomato , half a slice of black pudding, one over cooked rasher of bacon, two undercooked sausages and a hash brown complete with a poached egg that was the consistency of a hard boiled egg. If not included in the room rate they would charge over £21 for breakfast. The waitress did apologise saying it had been one of those days. On check out they were not interested in feedback. We stayed here on a recommendation, I woul not recommend this from my experience. Great location for Blenheim Palace.
5 out of 5
by Christopher

Great Hotel.

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great Hotel with lovely room and nice quality touches in it. Lovely town and would very much recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Jeff

Fab hotel in fab location

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel in picturesque Woodstock. Only a Stone's throw from Blenheim Palace
5 out of 5
by Arica

Historic Hotel in quaint village setting

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful historic hotel in a quaint village. Walkable to Blenheim Pslace and on the bus route to and from Oxford. Recommend getting reservation for dinner. We were there two nights but three nights would have been the better amount of time.
4 out of 5
by Terence

MacDonald Bear Hotel, Woodstock

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
A very comfortable hotel with individual rooms separate from main hotel, good facilities, well presented.
5 out of 5
by Wen Jie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels