Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016
A well situated period hotel in the heart of Woodstock, with very good amenities, pleasant staff and fine food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Ideally located for Blenheim Palace

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The hotel has loads of character, is well presented, staff are polite, and the meal in the restaurant was excellent. Car parking outside our room
Cons: No comment
Location: Centre of Woodstock and just outside the gates to Blenheim Palace
We chose this hotel for its proximity to Blenheim Palace. A one night stay allowed us to make 2 separate visits to the Palace.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from norfolk

Lovely hotel, helpful friendly staff

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pleasantly surprised on arrival to find we'd been upgraded to a feature double in the courtyard area - very beautiful facilities. The staff are very friendly and professional. The only single thing I could pick fault at is the parking is very tight!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Great hotel - perfectly located for visits to Blenheim palace and other Cotswold attractions. They have a great restaurant as well
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a lovely town.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location was great. Room was excellent. Staff very friendly. Would recommend.
Cons: The bedroom did get very hot.
Location: Blenheim Palace is a great place to go. The local restaurants, pubs and coffee shops are all excellent.
Only stayed for 1 night but really enjoyed our trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Good location to visit the Palace

Posted Jul 29, 2016
The hotel is in a great location. It is an old charming building. There is almost no sound-proofing. The wood floor makes noise as you walk on it. The windows are very small and there is no air conditioning. The room size is OK. The bathroom is renovated and marble.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central Cotswolds

Posted Jul 27, 2016
The staff couldn't have been friendlier. The hotel was lovely with a very good location. Our room was comfortable with lots of little extras, e.g. Nespresso machine, bottled water, etc. the only problem we had was that the room overlooked the courtyard and was above the kitchen, so all night we could hear a hum from a generator and staff talking. Didn't spoil the stay but when mentioned at checkout I just got a lovely smile and 'thank you for staying with us!!' Comment clearly not listened to!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Usk South Wales

no lift

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Easy to get to Blenheim Palace and the hotel has a lovely feel
Cons: We had a cooler not a fridge and with temp.over 30deg it would have been useful...a lift would be great but understand that might not be possible
Location: Blenheim Palace Oxford and CS Lewis house The Kilns
As i have health issues i found our room was up quite a few stairs so was a struggle but no fault of the hotel i never requested a lower room...quite satisfied with everything
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at The Bear. The room was lovely and it is only a few minutes walk to Blenheim Palace.
5 out of 5
by M E from staffordshire

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
fab place