Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a lovely town.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location was great. Room was excellent. Staff very friendly. Would recommend.
Cons: The bedroom did get very hot.
Location: Blenheim Palace is a great place to go. The local restaurants, pubs and coffee shops are all excellent.
Only stayed for 1 night but really enjoyed our trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Good location to visit the Palace

Posted Jul 29, 2016
The hotel is in a great location. It is an old charming building. There is almost no sound-proofing. The wood floor makes noise as you walk on it. The windows are very small and there is no air conditioning. The room size is OK. The bathroom is renovated and marble.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central Cotswolds

Posted Jul 27, 2016
The staff couldn't have been friendlier. The hotel was lovely with a very good location. Our room was comfortable with lots of little extras, e.g. Nespresso machine, bottled water, etc. the only problem we had was that the room overlooked the courtyard and was above the kitchen, so all night we could hear a hum from a generator and staff talking. Didn't spoil the stay but when mentioned at checkout I just got a lovely smile and 'thank you for staying with us!!' Comment clearly not listened to!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Usk South Wales

no lift

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Easy to get to Blenheim Palace and the hotel has a lovely feel
Cons: We had a cooler not a fridge and with temp.over 30deg it would have been useful...a lift would be great but understand that might not be possible
Location: Blenheim Palace Oxford and CS Lewis house The Kilns
As i have health issues i found our room was up quite a few stairs so was a struggle but no fault of the hotel i never requested a lower room...quite satisfied with everything
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and comfortable hotel, excellent restaurant

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Some of the best food I have had in the Southwest of England. Lovely hotel, but room a tad outdated
Location: Right next to Blenham Castle.
We very much enjoyed our stay. Charming and clean hotel, helpful staff, great restaurant with attentive service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Centrally located

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Well located in town with car parking although not enough to accommodate all guests and you cannot book a parking space
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from somerset

Old but nice hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Very old but we'll modernised. Staff and food high quality. In the centre of busy old town with private parking.
Cons: Wouldn't change anything
Location: Visit Blenheim Palace
Staying in Woodstock was a lovely experience enhanced by staying in The Bear. Quaint room with Four Poster Bed. Food and service high quality.
5 out of 5
by Hope Vere

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by gary from enfield, CT

Quiet getaway in the Cotswolds

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
beautiful old Inn in a small town, close to Oxford, an hour from Stratford upon Avon. On the edge of the grounds of Blenheim Castle, ample parking locked at night. Several small great restaurants in the town. If you want quiet, this is the place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weybridge, Surrey

Good Experience - Will return

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Convenience to Blenheim, and recommendations on how to enjoy all it had to offer.
Older hotel, but rooms have all been updated very nicely. Dinner in the hotel was very good, with portions a bit on the smaller side. Stayed here with our 10-month old with no issues. Extremely convenient to the Blenheim Palace, and the town itself is very quaint and enjoyable. Ate breakfast at a few of the local pastry shoppes, which were quite good. Small farmers market on Saturday morning had some extra treats as well. Enjoyed a couple of morning runs throughout the town, but was happy to have a GPS with me. Also convenient 20-25min ride into Oxford.