Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Woodstock is lovely and close to Blenheim Palace

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: It's a quirky hotel that has retained historic features whilst also providing quality modern accommodation bedrooms.
Cons: Very little in our opinion as it ticked our boxes and exceeded expectations.
Location: Blenheim palace is easy walking distance and plenty of countryside. For shoppers Bicester retail village is about 25 minutes away.
We arrived early well before check in and left car in hotel car park. Adriano on reception was very helpful with local knowledge. We ate in Woodstock rather than the hotel where there is plenty of choice and chose Daba an Indian restaurant. It doesn't look much from the outside but is worth a visit we had a very good meal. The hotel is close to Blenheim Palace which a great experience with both the palace and beautiful grounds to explore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

excellent location to visit Blenheim Palace,.

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: location. cleanliness, staff friendliness. access to Blenheim Palace
Cons: top rate, no improvement required
Location: Woodstock is a medieval wool town situated on the edge of the Cotswolds, Oxford isn't far away. Winston Churchill's family grave is nearby.
we stayed overnight at the hotel, greeted by Craig who was polite and efficient. Room was quiet, and clean. breakfast was excellent, will book again if visiting the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quaint old world charm centrally located

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The freshly cooked breakfast and cafetière coffee
Cons: There was only nespresso coffee in the room, which I don't like and no tea. To obtain milk we would have had to call room service
Location: Well placed for Oxford, Blenheim Palace and the Cotswolds
The hotel is very attractive and in the centre of Woodstock. Entrance to the parking area is very narrow and could be a problem for a large car. The room was situated on a third floor without a lift which we managed at the age of 71but we were asked if we needed help with the luggage. Room and bed were comfortable and the breakfast was freshly cooked with freshly brewed coffee unlike the machines you get in many hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My Own Downton Abbey Experience at THE BEAR!

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Pure charm, history, comfort, delight.
Cons: This is perfection -- all others should be judged by its standards.
Location: It is in the center of one of the most beautiful English villages -- filled with book, charity, and other shops. It is a short bus ride to Oxford.
Walk a few steps from your room and you will see in the distance your own Downton Abbey! Blenheim Palace! Walk back into your room and you will see that while you were out, the staff have tidied and refreshed everything as though they had been trained by Mr. Carson! In the evening, walk across the street to The Star and have a pint of ale. On Saturday morning, walk out to see a farmer's market conveniently set up in front of your village home. And for $10 buy a miniature English garden in bloom in a large wood pail. Bring it back to your room and savor the feeling of pure blessing. The blessings of the BEAR!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midlands

Excellent location next to Blenheim .

Posted Feb 24, 2017
One night stay , comfortable quaint and warm .the staff were friendly and very polite . Would certainly stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We loved it!

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Accommodating staff and a good sized room at a terrific price (off season). We spent four nights here and took day trips to Warwick, Oxford, and the Cotswolds. It was a perfect location for us and we would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Sarah

Perfect treat

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
We planned our visit around visiting Blenheim palace so the location of the hotel couldn't have been closer.Woodstock is a perfectly picturesque old English town, delightful for a wander and finding a tea shop or pub. You can feel the history at the Bear, fantastic beams, bannisters, uneven floors and huge fireplaces but with all the comfort you would expect from a modern hotel. Plain, tasteful decor in the bedroom and lovely bathroom and an extremely comfortable bed helped make our stay so enjoyable. We had a delicious dinner in the restaurant, which we did need to book on a busy Saturday. Staff were friendly and smiling while giving discreet, excellent service. I would confidently recommend this hotel for a perfect treat to yourself!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

en route hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: room was great
Cons: bar snacks were small and pricey
Location: great for blenheim palace
very welcoming meals pricey but breakfast lovely room warm and cosy nice hotel in fact
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosy hotel near Oxford

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Charming staff and efficient. Woodstock charming , beautiful Palace to visit. Excellent transportation to surrounding areas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

AMAZING!!

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
I loved every minute of my stay. The hotel is historic and incredible. The gentleman who checked us in was professional and welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable. The only complaint I have is the bathroom remained very cold (I stayed in December) despite having the heater in the room on continuously. I should have alerted someone there but did not. However, the charming aesthetics and cozy feel makes it easy to overlook this small thing. By far my favorite part was their pub/bar area. I had the cream tea in there and it was the most quaint place I had ever been. The fire was going and it was heavenly in that room. I didn't want to leave. It was an amazing experience to stay here and it was only a 3 minute walk to Blenheim Palace gate. It was a comfort stay in a wonderful hotel in a adorable town.