Ratings based on 809 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Cons: Wi-Fi
Location: Great location.
The Wi-fi did not work in our room. Also, there were dirty clothes left over from the prior guest. Otherwise, a fine hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Not a 5 star hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Central location - opposite the Ashmolean.
Cons: Everything
Entrance was through the garage and in a filthy side room (the foyer was being painted). Chaotic check-in. I had booked a classic double, which was small and cramped. Room was noisy (it fronts on to a busy junction - ask for a back room as the traffic noise goes on all night). Air con didn't work - it just chilled the room however much I raised the temp gauge. No cable tv and no radio. Very disappointing experience. Oh and the expensive rate did not include breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Potomac, MD

Great hotel with very nice British feeling

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Great hotel with a British flair, Great location for sightseeing the city. Loved walking the very popular shopping street nearby.
Cons: They do it really well. Can't think of anything they missed.
Location: Great location, centrally located. We took the "Hop-on Hop-off" bus which has a bus stop just steps from the hotel.
We loved this hotel. Very nice, quiet, clean, large, updated room. Terrific location with a very close "hop-on, hop-off" bus stop only a few steps from the front door. Very helpful concierge staff who went out of their way to make our stay grand.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Central Oxford

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The car park was an additional £28.50. It was very convenient being across the road from the Ashmolean museum.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. Bathroom really good

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Room too hot and they could not adjust central heating. told us to open window and turn off heating!! Very noisy room - could hear everything from the road outside the window and from the corridor outside the door
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Good central position for all of Oxford offerings

Posted Feb 5, 2017
A good central position of seeing all that Oxford has to offer. Prices a bit above average for food and beverage, but service and staff are very good. Small issues where very old building meets 21st cen expectation of well fitting windows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Beautiful hotel in centre of oxford

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Very comfy. Best shower at a hotel for a long time. Very good concierge service and general service. Cooked breakfast only luke warm and I found the coffee bitter, and the room was very hot, but really those are minor points and we were made to feel very cosseted and special, which is what you want when you treat yourself to a really nice hotel. Thank you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old English hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Nice old English hotel. The best way to describe this property. It is a well-located hotel with the emeninties found in a Victorian hotel. The rooms are very small, the wifi , like the decor, is also Victorian. The restaurant is the best proponent of eating out and the bar is well-stocked and pricey. That said, I enjoyed my stay. Just don't expect the four star rating to provide four star accommodations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, tired facilities

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Cons: Improve the sound-proofing so that the rooms are quieter.
We chose this hotel for its location, and its car parking service (important in Oxford city centre). It was good on both those counts. But on other measures the hotel didn't live up to its "star" rating. The staff weren't terribly friendly, the breakfast was slow and poorly stocked, and the room was noisy because the floorboards in the corridor outside squeaked every time somebody walked past.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bc

Location is good

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Renovations and very noisy staff early in the morning. Elevators very small and smell. Front desk staff friendly and efficient. Doorman non existent when you need help . Service in restaurants poor . Pub/lounge very nice