Ratings based on 594 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Lovely hotel, shame about the renovation work

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: The location was first class. And the staff were very helpful and friendly
Cons: The hotel has a history and character that should not be messed with
Location: Location is suburb. It's possible to walk to all the museums and places of worship to visit. Lots of shopping and good eateries.
We stayed at the hotel for a relaxed city break. Great location. It was a pity though that we were not informed of the renovation work still being carried out after a fire in early 2015. Also, we were unaware of the evening dress code for the dining room. This was not the fault of the hotel, but the booking agent (Expidia). Therefore we didn't have access, (due to lack of appropriate clothing) to sample the food on offer. Overall it was a good trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was a nice old school hotel in central location.

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Was a nice old school hotel in central location. If you paid the full rack rate would seem expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Undergoing renovation

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Location: Visit Oxford University campus and nearby museums, tea at the Ashmonean's rooftop restaurant.
Excellent location, reasonable rooms (love Molton Brown products) and kind staff. They were unable to do early check in which was inconvenient. A bit noisy due to ongoing renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location and helpful staff

Posted Jan 24, 2016
This hotel is located right in city center. I requested a room with a view of the Ashmolean and they were able to satisfy my request. I was working late and had not eaten dinner yet. The concierge, Sam, called ahead to one of the nearby restaurants (Cote) to check if the kitchen was still open before I walked over there. I had a lovely meal on my first night in Oxford. I would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zentral gelegenes Hotel mit vielen Mängeln.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Gleich beim Check-In wurde ein dunkles, riechendes und feuchtes Zimmer zur Verfügung gestellt (durch die Baustelle aufgrund eines vorangegangenen Brandes war das Zimmer wohl noch dunkler und schmutziger als sonst). Nach kurzer Beschwerde wurde problemlos in ein besseres Zimmer upgegradet. Dort konnte man trotz ständig laufender Klima (eine Heizung sucht man vergebens) das Zimmer kaum auf eine vernünftige Temperatur heizen. In der Dusche gab es mehrere Schimmelspuren, ansonsten aber sauber. Beim Frühstück, das typisch Englisch eine schreckliche Auswahl bereit hielt, herrschte pures Chaos. Der Tisch der einem soeben noch zugeteilt wurde, wurde, während man sich das Frühstück holte, einfach von einer anderen Mitarbeiterin an die nächsten Gäste vergeben. Nachfüllen von Säften, Gläsern, Schinken dauerte ewig, so dass wir den Speisesaal hungrig verlassen mussten. Alles in allem eher ein 3-Sterne-Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

disappointing

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Great location. The room was very comfortable.
Cons: Breakfast.
Check-in took some time as I stood in front of the one staff member on the phone while hoards of other staff member stood around. At no point did anyone greet me. Breakfast was woefully disappointing. The first breakfast included a fried egg that must have been sitting under a warmer for quite some time. It was a piece of rubber. The second day. I was seated in the ballroom. After 10-15 minutes, I finally had to walk over to the server who was just standing at the front of the room and ask for coffee and have my order taken. It isn't the end of the world, but I just expected a lot more from this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Mini-break on Holiday

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Accommodations, staff and location
Cons: The entrance is a bit off kilter now because of construction, but it's not a big deal at all.
Location: A 5 minute cab ride from the train station and a 5 minute walk to the center of town. Very close to the pedestrian walking streets and tourist centre.
My husband and I stayed here for one night between Christmas and New Year, and found the accommodations warm and welcoming. The hotel is ideally located, a quick walk to the main part of town and extremely convenient to the train station as well. The staff was very welcoming and the room was comfortable and cozy. We'd definitely stay here again should we ever return to Oxford.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Perfect all round

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Fantastic place to stay - not only is it completely central to everything in Oxford, but the double rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was top notch. Morse bar is totally worth a visit as well as the spa, which we had to ourselves! Stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top class hotel with great service

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Really enjoyed my stay here. Location is superb. The hotel is well maintained and the room is very comfortable. What makes this hotel truly outstanding is its great service, everyone from front desk, concierge to cleaning ladies. They are the hotel's greatest assets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Still a work in progress

Posted Nov 9, 2015
The hotel is still undergoing much needed renovation following their fire in April. As a result some aspects are excellent and some not so good. The reception area looks very worn and the lift service is terrible. On the other hand our renovated room was quiet and beautifully decorated and appointed. The staff are very helpful and couldn't be nicer and the location is outstanding. Overall, therefore, a mIxed experience, but definitely trending in the right direction.