Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod Massachusetts

Excellent location,close to museums restaurants .

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Lovely hotel,unfortunately in the middle of some renovations.Excellent staff. Good sized room,with very nice accents.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

A traditional hotel in a fantastic city location

Posted Jan 10, 2017
We only stopped for one night and as a result we didn't really get to see much of the hotel (which seemed to be having some restoration work undertaken in Jan.2017). What we did see: Valet parking (at a price) with friendly staff; Friendly staff at reception and an early check in request was accommodated; Lovely old stately hotel, lovely wide staircases, landings with chairs and books; The bedroom was quite small and 'aged' as per the hotel, however it was excellently equipped and the bed was very comfortable. The ensuite was clean, modern and more than adequate, again with all the features you would expect in a quality hotel (robes etc); Breakfast in the rather stately restaurant was excellent. Service was good and both the quality and choice of breakfasts was superb. Would I stay again, yes please, but for two nights next time 😀
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room 304 as a double was just a little too Small

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Overall very very good .Highy recommended . Will cone back in 2017
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Very nice, historic place

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: The staff upfront was great, especially the doorman -- very polite and helpful (his garb really put us back in time and in the mood for the holidays).
Cons: A bit more clean? The gal at the front desk when we got there was not super friendly. Rest of the staff was great.
Location: Very close to everything. Great place.
We had a comfortable stay for a single night while passing through Oxford. The staff upfront was great, especially the doorman -- very polite and helpful (his garb really put us back in time and in the mood for the holidays). The one standout individual was the manager in the breakfast room. Got us a table and gave us coffee and toast at no charge. Lovely gal who does a fantastic job running her crew!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Exceeded expectation. Very Central

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Central location. Elegance of hotel. Staff. Quality of room and food
Location: Oxford ......What more can you say
Very friendly upmarket hotel in centre of Oxford.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: central, spacious rooms, quiet area, friendly staff, lovely decor Cons: over heated - the air conditioner couldn't combat the central heating, elevators are small and slow (though there are only four floors at least, if you are able to take the stairs), aging building with creaky, noisy floorboards in hallways Note: it may be down to poor reading comprehension on my part but we came back to a letter offering complimentary breakfast in bed. Unfortunately, it was the 'in bed' part (room service charge of £5) that was complimentary resulting in unpleasant bill shock at check out. If I had realised we would be charged £43 for cold eggs and bacon I would've passed. It soured an otherwise pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel in the centre of Oxford

Posted Dec 23, 2016
All staff gave us an impeccable service and our room was beautiful and very very clean! We had our bed turned down when we came back in the evening which was a lovely touch and our in-room breakfast was very tasty. Our only issues were it was a very cold room (had to get out an extra small heater it was so cold!) and for it's price our room was on a busy, noisy road side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham

Amazing hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Whole thing was exceptional made perfect by the staff who all went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice for visiting the Christmas market

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location, location. Location
Cons: We did have an issue getting into our safe. After 3 calls to reception and 45 minutes later I went down in person. Problem solved then.
This hotel was so close to everything. Lots of shopping, restaurants and pubs within a very short walk. We arrived by bus from Heathrow and walked to the hotel with luggage in 5 minutes. I can't comment on the hotel restaurant as we didn't eat there. 21£ for breakfast is too much for me. We choose Weatherspoons Four Candles restaurant just around,the corner for good food and value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Nice hotel close to most colleges

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: I like the way how it looks from the outside, wanted to try "something British". The staff is very friendly and helpful. Good experience overall.
Cons: I didn't get the feeling that there was enough effort put into making the elevator usable again. The smell was awful and I complained on a daily basis
Location: The hotel is in the middle of the city, opposite the Ashmolean Museum and close to many colleges. The central bus station is within a 5 min walk.
I travelled with my son for his college interviews, so the location of the hotel was just right. When you see the hotel from the outside, that should give you a clue what to expect from the inside ( not meaning that in a bad way !! ) But nobody should expect a modern flair in the hotel. Thick carpets, small corridors, all a bit dark. The room had an acceptable size for my needs, the bathroom was actually very spacious and new ( big plus for that !) I didn't like the central heating ( very personal dislike ), so the staff immediately came with an electrical heater which I just turned on and off for my needs. The housekeeping staff was also very friendly, always willing to help and quick. The connection between reception staff and housekeeping worked excellent while I stayed there, any wishes were passed on immediately and some were done before I even reached my room in the 3. floor ( bc I was taking the stairs for a good reason ) The elevators won't work for a claustrophobic person, both are tiny !!! And to our bad luck one guest had vomited inside and they were not able to get rid of the bad smell ( thick carpet ) So I considered the stairs as a bit of exercise.