Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location ni e hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Problems with the shower never resolved properly.but overall a great place to stay. Great bar and cocktails
5 out of 5
by Peter from Essex UK

central boutique hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Recommended by friends
A brilliant hotel using the site of the ancient Oxford prison. Guests stay in modified and now luxurious cells. Very central and in easy walking distance from the university colleges and buildings and shops. Eager staff, with nothing seemingly too much trouble. Limited parking but close to other public carparks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
5 out of 5
by Lauren from Saffron Walden

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Very quirky as it was the old prison. Great hotel.
Cons: The parking.
Location: Good location. Right near the centre and right next to the old prison (well it's part of it!).
Very good overall the only negative is the lack of parking. There are only a few spaces outside the hotel that have to be booked in advance and it is not free - it's expensive. They also don't have any special rates with any of the nearby public car parks which are just as expensive.
5 out of 5
by thiwar

WOW!!! excellent!!

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: The location, staff and food.
from the time we pulled into the car park, the service has been beyond all expectations. the staff are so friendly, and so helpful. I came to the hotel with my 2 young children [6yrs and 3yrs] and they were so very helpful thoughout the 2 days i stayed there. The food was excellent, good central location., Main highlight is the exceptionally polite, knowledgable and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: The uniqueness of the hotel, the history surrounding it and the location.
Cons: Car parking is dreadful! £28.50 a day!! This for either hotel or multi storey car parking! Ridiculous!!
Location: The Oxford Castle tour is worth a visit.
Central location. Unique hotel. Friendly, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by Gav from london

Malmaisson

Posted Nov 2, 2013
As always amazing stay. However still disappointing that vegetarian food selection is poor.
4 out of 5
by Frank from Atlanta

Too expensive for what it is.

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: Cool, historic location. Had a nice morning walk in a historic setting right off my room.
Cons: Cost: the comfort is on par with good US boutique hotels, but at a much higher cost.
Location: Cool, historic location.
I had a room close to the bar, and sometimes noisy conversations spilled into the hallway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique premises but not that luxurious

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: The conversion of a prison looked spectacular in the main lock-up.
Cons: Staff, broken furniture, no hen parties.
We were greeted by the receptionist who didn't seem interested and we had to find out simple things such as what time is breakfast, where is it etc. The room was OK with little ventilation (but as a converted prison I suppose we should have expected that), the furniture in the room was tired/broken. Also (weirdly) there was a play outside our bedroom window, which was not a problem but it would have been nice if the front of house staff could have warned us in advance. Also on the evening the bar seemed to be infested with Hen parties.
5 out of 5
by Karoline from Trondheim

Flott hotell sentralt i Oxford

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Flott og innbydende hotell. Vi var der med en familie på 4 og hadde et supert opphold. Moderne og sentralt plassert og gode senger til alle. Vi fikk ikke til å reservere for barn, men det var ingen problem å få ekstra senger for dem da vi kom på hotellet.