Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

V central and comfortable

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Location and own car park
Cons: The pillows - hard and uncomfortable!
Good base for activities. Good sitting room and bar. Didn't use restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Comfortable, friendly but a few things to watch

Posted Dec 24, 2015
An excellent welcome with a friendly, attentive receptionist to check me in. Parking was available and a good price based on the hotel's excellent location and close proximity to the city centre. The hotel's decor was plush and it was to a high standard. The room was, on the whole, decorated to a good standard and it was definitely comfortable. Sadly the tea/ coffee tray was dusty and one of the cups was dirty with a used spoon in it. The ensuite's shower cubicle was tiny and the shower had no pressure which was very disappointing. I enjoyed my stay and the staff were fabulous except ok check out when reporting the shower, the friendly receptionist failed to apologise but instead offered a reason (issues with air con system). He was friendly and attentive other than this small oversight. Regardless of these minor issues, I would definitely return and recommend the Eastgate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Viedma, Argentina

Nice boutique style hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: Very nice overall. Staff very helpful
Cons: The issue of too many stairs is structural, but it does not takes too much from the pleasent experience
Location: Very well located
The hotel is very nice and gives very good value for money. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are quite good. Some excess of stairs to reach the room can be a problem if you need to move too much lugagge, but there the staff helps too
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2015 by Pedro, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review, greatly appreciated and a huge morale boost to the team. I am sorry about the stairs, the hotel is over 100 years old and although we do have a lift to the first and second floor, the third I am afraid is by stairs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very good hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: Modern, new, trendy and very comfortable and welcoming. Good bed linen and towels.
Very good hotel in a great location with parking paid as extra. Good restaurant onsite and good service and staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2015 by Pedro, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review, greatly appreciated and a huge morale boost to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ハイストリートでバスに便利です

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: ルームサービス 朝食を部屋で食べれるのでちょっと贅沢な気分です
Cons: ルームサービスの計算がセット金額でなく個々注文になっていた点 スタッフの勘違いなのだとおもいますがびっくりしました
Location: デベナムズなどショッピング街へ徒歩でも10分です 図書館の近いです バス停も目の前
Oxfordはけっこう広いのでバスで移動するのに便利です 国鉄のちょうど反対側になります そのせいか静かです
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by Pedro, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel was recently renovated at the beginning of this year I am afraid Oxford is a vibrant city and full of students, who work and play 24 hours a day. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Second Visit

Posted Nov 15, 2015
This was a return visit, we like The Mercure because it has a great location and offers on site parking. In our first visit we had a standard double room which was a bit small for two people staying for more than one night. So this time we opted for a more expensive room and that was very spacious. The reception at this hotel, although friendly, is pretty chaotic . Some refinement of their parking system and extras charging is urgently needed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2015 by Pedro, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review, and I am pleased that you enjoyed our privilege rooms. I am afraid depending upon time of day / week, reception can be extremely busy with people arriving by taxi, car, train or coach and people leaving by various entrance. The car park is an added extra however we do have limited space and have to car jockey most days. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back. With kind regards Peter Watt General Manager
3 out of 5
by Carin

Comfortable stay in Oxford

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is well located to do sightseeing in Oxford. One complaint is that the lift do not service the third floor where our room was - however the staff arranged for our suitcases to be brought to the room. There is a carpark available but I thought the fee per night was high.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by Iain, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and Oxford. I am very sorry that we do not have a lift to every floor of the hotel, the hotel is listed and over 100 years old, which has meant we are unable to extend the lift to the third floor of the hotel. With reference to the charge for parking, I am afraid we are extremely lucky to have onsite parking, and to guarantee a secure and private car park, we do charge a small fee. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back. With kind regards Ptere Watt General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Ground floor room overlooked by people leaving car park meant we had to keep the bathroom blind closed throughout our stay, frosted glass is really needed in this location. On arrival there were a few minor problems that we sorted ourselves e.g. the hot water tap ran cold for several minutes and the TV remote was temperamental. Otherwise we found this to be a very comfortable hotel in a central location and the staff in reception were very polite and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2015 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our newly refurbished rooms and hotel. I do apologise for the issues you encountered with the hot water and TV controls these have now been checked. We look forward to welcoming you back With best wishes Peter Watt General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Oxford Hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Pros: The staff were very helpful and the lounge was comfortable.
Cons: Breakfast I found to be too expensive there. Add a cheaper option on the menu.
Location: very central.
I liked the hotel and would return there again. It is a good location as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2015 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the team made you very welcome. We are ideally located in the centre of Oxford and within walking distance of the shops and most universities. We are at present reviewing our breakfast offer, and your feedback is greatly appreciated We look forward to welcoming you back With kind regards Peter Watt General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Great location, tiny room

Posted Oct 27, 2015
The hotel has a fabulous location in the heart of Oxford, next to a beautiful college. The staff were very obliging. The hotel is smart and nicer than the pictures. The only downside is that the room we were in was the smallest hotel room I have ever been in. It had a double (not King) bed, about a foot each side and two foot at the end, and a fitted wardrobe, and that was it. There was barely space on the floor to plug in the mini-kettle. The bathroom was fine. There was also a huge amount of noise through the aircon / pipes. Not the usual hum of aircon, more like having a washing machine going in the room. The noise was mostly in the early morning, not all the time. I realised afterwards that we could have paid extra for a bigger room, and might have done so had I realised quite how tiny the actual room was. Still, it is a nicely done out hotel in the heart of Oxford, so I would still recommend it, but make sure you know what to expect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2015 by Pedro, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review, and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and Oxford. We are ideally located in the city centre however due to the age and structure of the building, we have were possible enhanced the limited space we have a few of the bedrooms. I have taken on board your concerns with the air-con, and our maintenance engineer is investigating your concerns. I do hope you had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you back. With kind regards Peter Watt General Manager