Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frederick, MD USA

Best location possible. Fairly reasonable room ra

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Location location location.
Cons: The restaurant food was only oK.
Location: All of Oxford's most interesting sights are within walking distance. But plenty of buses available for those things a little further out.
The location made my visit to Oxford much more accessible to the sites I wanted to see. Liked the hotel a lot. The restaurant was just OK.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location about the best thing about hotel

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: the location for our stay at the end of the high street was just about spot-on
Cons: the car parking is a nightmare
despite booking in as a couple we were only given one set of towels. I had to contact reception for two more and exactly the same thing happened the following day - not really what I expected. I was also charged double for the car parking on the first day and had to flag this up myself.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Bad experience

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Bathroom not cleaned properly. Bed not made properly. Had to request tissues, shower cap, and lightbulb for a main light. Broken sash window so unable to close window safely. Staff on arrival were unapologetic for wait in reception while a dispute with other guests was happening. Slipped over on an uncleared floor in breakfast area; hotel made out it was my shoes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Great Oxford Hotel; Terrific Staff

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Pros: The location, helpful staff, the larger rooms, and the charm of the hotel
Cons: The elevator only goes to the second floor. We stayed on the third floor. Not a major issue but the only thing that I would recommend for improvemen
Location: Location is excellent; in the middle of Oxford University and the most popular colleges within Oxford. Easy access to bus routes, shopping and dining
Located on High Street near the center of Oxford, the Mercure Eastgate Hotel is a terrific place to stay. This was our first trip to Oxford. We were able to walk the entire Central City from our Hotel. The bus line is very convenient to get longer distances or to/from the train station. The rooms were clean and well stocked. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with directions or recommendations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Great staff. Small rooms and a bit out dated but your in Oxford.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 night stay

Posted Mar 20, 2016
We had a pleasant two night stay and found the staff very helpful as my husband left his address book behind which the manager forwarded very promptly to us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great Location, Friendly Staff

Posted Feb 29, 2016
We loved the location of the hotel! Close walk to major Oxford sites and the University makes for convenient sight seeing. On our first night the toilet in our room wouldn't stop running and when I called the front desk to have it fixed they upgraded my room immediately at no charge. Very cool. The only thing that I didn't care for was that I booked a room for 2, expecting a full or queen sized bed. But it really was just two twin beds on wheels pushed together which makes sleeping right next to someone almost impossible without falling between the crack of the two beds. Not so romantic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: small in scale - homely feel
Location: Oxford and its glories right outside the front door
Just an overnight stay - staff very friendly and helpful - no complaints.
4 out of 5
by Ricardo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels