Ratings based on 489 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Twickenham, West London

Mercure Oxford Eastgate

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Superb location. Extremely relaxed ambience. Excellent staff. Clean state-of-the-art room facilities.
Cons: Perhaps the cost of breakfast could be a little cheaper - maybe a reduction if one doesn't wish to have a cooked breakfast.
Location: The hotel is in the heart of Oxford city, with all the locations within minutes' walk! Park-and-ride bus-stops very close too!
This hotel couldn't be more convenient for the centre of Oxford, but, since it is located on one of the quaint and quiet lanes of the old town, it was also very relaxing. Immediately upon arrival we were greeted with warm smiles and helpfulness, even though we arrived somewhat before the advertised booking-in time. Every member of staff was welcoming and helpful, including the restaurant staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from spain

Good location

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Good location- hard pillows- pretty noisy room- tea, coffee and sweatener in roon just for one time because they never replenish- the hotel 's restaurant is so bad and expensive- lift up to second floor- nice check in staff- poor cleanness in room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bc

Quaint hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Very narrow stairs and hallways. There was sleet at the time I was there and outside stairs not salted , thus I slipped and fell. Staff were not concerned. NO heat in bathrooms and only provide one towel for 2 people.the sign states you share the same towel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Nice hotel near everything.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Bed was lovely .
Cons: Should be changed to a single room. Was a bit uncomfortable as a double.
Location: Great location . Near to everything.
Hotel was ok . Close to everything. Room small. Attic space so husband could only use one side of the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfectly located reasonably priced hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for two nights in November when the Christmas season was in full swing. Quick and efficient check-in, we were assigned a room near the lift which was convenient for me(I have MS) The room was clean as was the bathroom and the bed comfortable. The hotel's location is perfect, being close to the High Street, colleges and multiple cafés and restaurants. The only negative point is the high uneven steps at the entrance, difficult if one has any disability
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016
The room was nicely done but very small, and the bed was not comfy. The location is great, right in the middle of where you want to be to discover the city. I felt generally that the hotel was overpriced, but I have to commend the reception staff who were really professional, charming and so helpful, particularly when one young man took a good deal of time helping me jump start my car.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, great location, lovely room!

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Terrific staff - extremely helpful all the time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great base for a visit to Oxford.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Location, decor, breakfast room, staff helpfulness and courtesy.
Cons: Mobility access - although I didn't check it out closely. Looked pretty bad to someone who normally travels with his wife in a wheelchair!!
Location: Very central location, walking distance to all the main attractions in Oxford. First rate.
Very central location, with good facilities. As my wife is in a wheelchair, she did not accompany me to Oxford, but if she had I doubt I would have been able to choose or use this hotel - big steps at the front, complicated and narrow internal staircases, narrow doors etc. But the room was comfortable, the staff very helpful, and the decor and ambience attractive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Facilities

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Good location. Plenty in Oxford for all wherever you are staying because of the various park and ride buses
I booked this room as a twin room as I was taking my son for our annual weekend away. Spent far more than I usually do to facilitate this. When we arrived we had a double bed - be it large and were very disappointed. I could have halved my costs elsewhere if I had known this. Two flights of stairs - no lifts. No notification about the lack of twin beds or a lift - this could have been a disaster for a disabled/elderly person. Very average room. Charged an extra £40 on my card on arrival in case we used the bar! Now refunded but unpleasant start to the visit.