Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from spain

Good location

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Good location- hard pillows- pretty noisy room- tea, coffee and sweatener in roon just for one time because they never replenish- the hotel 's restaurant is so bad and expensive- lift up to second floor- nice check in staff- poor cleanness in room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bc

Quaint hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Very narrow stairs and hallways. There was sleet at the time I was there and outside stairs not salted , thus I slipped and fell. Staff were not concerned. NO heat in bathrooms and only provide one towel for 2 people.the sign states you share the same towel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Nice hotel near everything.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Bed was lovely .
Cons: Should be changed to a single room. Was a bit uncomfortable as a double.
Location: Great location . Near to everything.
Hotel was ok . Close to everything. Room small. Attic space so husband could only use one side of the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016
The room was nicely done but very small, and the bed was not comfy. The location is great, right in the middle of where you want to be to discover the city. I felt generally that the hotel was overpriced, but I have to commend the reception staff who were really professional, charming and so helpful, particularly when one young man took a good deal of time helping me jump start my car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great base for a visit to Oxford.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Location, decor, breakfast room, staff helpfulness and courtesy.
Cons: Mobility access - although I didn't check it out closely. Looked pretty bad to someone who normally travels with his wife in a wheelchair!!
Location: Very central location, walking distance to all the main attractions in Oxford. First rate.
Very central location, with good facilities. As my wife is in a wheelchair, she did not accompany me to Oxford, but if she had I doubt I would have been able to choose or use this hotel - big steps at the front, complicated and narrow internal staircases, narrow doors etc. But the room was comfortable, the staff very helpful, and the decor and ambience attractive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Facilities

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Good location. Plenty in Oxford for all wherever you are staying because of the various park and ride buses
I booked this room as a twin room as I was taking my son for our annual weekend away. Spent far more than I usually do to facilitate this. When we arrived we had a double bed - be it large and were very disappointed. I could have halved my costs elsewhere if I had known this. Two flights of stairs - no lifts. No notification about the lack of twin beds or a lift - this could have been a disaster for a disabled/elderly person. Very average room. Charged an extra £40 on my card on arrival in case we used the bar! Now refunded but unpleasant start to the visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel with potential, but ultimately disappointing

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Very good central Oxford location.
To their credit, the hotel staff were friendly, professional and helpful. The central location of the hotel was wonderful. However, the tiny size of the bedroom was a shock. Given the high price of the hotel room, and the fact that this was a romantic trip with my girlfriend, the astonishingly small room left me feeling embarrassed and ripped off. This was easily the smallest hotel room I have ever been given, and in fact the room was so cramped that it was very difficult to enter with suitcases as the door almost collided with the bed as it opened. Our towels were hidden away at the top of a wardrobe which meant we had to go hunting for them, which perhaps made for a fun game but this isn't what I'm used to when I check into a four star hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Being able to park so close to town.
Cons: While there is a lift to the first floor, there are still some stairs to get to the room.
Location: Close to town, short walk to college and restaurants
Excellent staff, a short walk to everything, and good parking which is rare so close to town. Nice clean rooms, great shower, and quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A really average hotel in the middle of Oxford

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The Staff
Cons: This is an old established hotel and there is not a lot you can do with other than knock it down and rebuild
Location: There is plenty of things to do in Oxford it is a very nice City
This is a very average hotel in Oxford, the staff are nice and very friendly. The rooms tend to be small and there is no drawer storage. We visit our daughter in Oxford about twice a year but next year we will not use this hotel as it is far to expensive. standard of comfort and cost are not compatible
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location, yummy breakfast, and comfortable.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
This place is a bit of a walk from the main area, but that was perfect because it was a calmer area. Clean and very comfortable room.