Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location, yummy breakfast, and comfortable.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
This place is a bit of a walk from the main area, but that was perfect because it was a calmer area. Clean and very comfortable room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IOM

Good location for central Oxford

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Location and car park. Excellent staff.
Cons: Soundproofing on rooms. The room we had was comfortable but conversation, television, telephone could be heard clearly.
Location: All sights of Oxford within walking distance
Pleasant overnight stay we were in Oxford for a wedding so most of the time spent at wedding.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Convenient, slow service, only worth 149£ no more

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Good Italian restaurant attached, The only issue we had was the slow and sometimes forgetful service and the cheap hard pillows. Adam always had an excuse as to why he forgot or was delayed in responding. Worth 149£ if more then go to Old Bank for wonderful comfort and superb, responsive and friendly service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located in Oxford.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Staff, location.
Cons: Cleaning of the rooms and general carpet, door appearance on bedroom floors.
Location: Colleges, river and shopping within easy walking distance.
Excellent location to walk throughout Oxford, just off the High St. in an original building that has been completely refurbished within. Lobby area, restaurant and bar are very nice. Tiny elevator that does not reach all floors and even if it goes to your floor there are still stairs to be managed, take note if you cannot do stairs! Rooms are small, pleasant and clean. Although I have to be honest, my stay was five days and the cleaning went downhill after the first night. The tops of the shower units need to be steam cleaned and my room service tray was not picked up on two occasions. Having said that the staff more than made up for the minor complaints, could not do enough for guests and Adam even walked my large suitcase down to the bus terminal for me. Very pleasant stay, centrally located and yes I would return if I needed to be in this area again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Good location

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Air condition, for the price with have to paid maybe then can have a technician at hand
Location: High street, restaurants and Coffe shops
Very disappointed, we checking about 3pm in a very hot day, when we arrived in the room fans where turned on, we tried to turned on the air condition and it was not worked, the staff did not tell us from the beginning that we will without for two nights, we could not sleep because we have to sleep with the windows open and the noise was terrible. We complain but the staff not took any notes, it was a busy weekend. The hotel did not charge us for the car park.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ashford kent

Weekend break

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Hotel room too small . Breakfast confusuhg ; what you can or can't eat , how much breakfast deals include , didn't want to add to the bill, they quiet rude when they got the breakfast bill . Bar staff very good , friendly and helpful. Great location and price reflect that
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Good location. Noisy room. Stale smell in hallway

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Hotel staff were helpful pleasant and swift. Room nice but noisy-could hear traffic into night and beginning early in morning. Hallway air was stale, stagnant. Otherwise nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: 静かで快適。風呂の湯量が多い。歴史的な建物とレストラン。
Cons: バスローブが古く汚れがあった。それ以外はティーセット、アイロンなど英国のfour starの要件を満たしていた。
Location: オクスフォードのハイストリートに面し、市内の散策に便利。Christ Church Meadowも近く、朝の散歩が気持ち良い。
フロント、バー、レストランのスタッフは皆心地よく応対してくれた。レストランで2回夕食をとったが、おいしい。量が多いので注意。ここには、あのJRRトールキンも通ったという。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frederick, MD USA

Best location possible. Fairly reasonable room ra

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Location location location.
Cons: The restaurant food was only oK.
Location: All of Oxford's most interesting sights are within walking distance. But plenty of buses available for those things a little further out.
The location made my visit to Oxford much more accessible to the sites I wanted to see. Liked the hotel a lot. The restaurant was just OK.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location about the best thing about hotel

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: the location for our stay at the end of the high street was just about spot-on
Cons: the car parking is a nightmare
despite booking in as a couple we were only given one set of towels. I had to contact reception for two more and exactly the same thing happened the following day - not really what I expected. I was also charged double for the car parking on the first day and had to flag this up myself.