Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Being able to park so close to town.
Cons: While there is a lift to the first floor, there are still some stairs to get to the room.
Location: Close to town, short walk to college and restaurants
Excellent staff, a short walk to everything, and good parking which is rare so close to town. Nice clean rooms, great shower, and quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A really average hotel in the middle of Oxford

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The Staff
Cons: This is an old established hotel and there is not a lot you can do with other than knock it down and rebuild
Location: There is plenty of things to do in Oxford it is a very nice City
This is a very average hotel in Oxford, the staff are nice and very friendly. The rooms tend to be small and there is no drawer storage. We visit our daughter in Oxford about twice a year but next year we will not use this hotel as it is far to expensive. standard of comfort and cost are not compatible
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location, yummy breakfast, and comfortable.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
This place is a bit of a walk from the main area, but that was perfect because it was a calmer area. Clean and very comfortable room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IOM

Good location for central Oxford

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Location and car park. Excellent staff.
Cons: Soundproofing on rooms. The room we had was comfortable but conversation, television, telephone could be heard clearly.
Location: All sights of Oxford within walking distance
Pleasant overnight stay we were in Oxford for a wedding so most of the time spent at wedding.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Convenient, slow service, only worth 149£ no more

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Good Italian restaurant attached, The only issue we had was the slow and sometimes forgetful service and the cheap hard pillows. Adam always had an excuse as to why he forgot or was delayed in responding. Worth 149£ if more then go to Old Bank for wonderful comfort and superb, responsive and friendly service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located in Oxford.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Staff, location.
Cons: Cleaning of the rooms and general carpet, door appearance on bedroom floors.
Location: Colleges, river and shopping within easy walking distance.
Excellent location to walk throughout Oxford, just off the High St. in an original building that has been completely refurbished within. Lobby area, restaurant and bar are very nice. Tiny elevator that does not reach all floors and even if it goes to your floor there are still stairs to be managed, take note if you cannot do stairs! Rooms are small, pleasant and clean. Although I have to be honest, my stay was five days and the cleaning went downhill after the first night. The tops of the shower units need to be steam cleaned and my room service tray was not picked up on two occasions. Having said that the staff more than made up for the minor complaints, could not do enough for guests and Adam even walked my large suitcase down to the bus terminal for me. Very pleasant stay, centrally located and yes I would return if I needed to be in this area again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Good location

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Air condition, for the price with have to paid maybe then can have a technician at hand
Location: High street, restaurants and Coffe shops
Very disappointed, we checking about 3pm in a very hot day, when we arrived in the room fans where turned on, we tried to turned on the air condition and it was not worked, the staff did not tell us from the beginning that we will without for two nights, we could not sleep because we have to sleep with the windows open and the noise was terrible. We complain but the staff not took any notes, it was a busy weekend. The hotel did not charge us for the car park.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Most unsatisfactory assistance, prior & on arrival

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very unhappy about checkin...I advised party of two would be late ... After midnight. The chap (doorman) totally unprepared for receiving guests. Mother & son put into wrong rooms, despite two calls ensuring both late arrival & room swap, due to booking process. Most unsatisfactory, & disappointing for VERY expensive 8 hour stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ashford kent

Weekend break

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Hotel room too small . Breakfast confusuhg ; what you can or can't eat , how much breakfast deals include , didn't want to add to the bill, they quiet rude when they got the breakfast bill . Bar staff very good , friendly and helpful. Great location and price reflect that
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
They let us check in super early. Staff and room were awesome.