Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2017
when i arrived in my room the window was ajar and there was no heating on in the room. it took about 6 hours for the room to reach an acceptable temperature which was disappointing in a hotel in mid january. the bathroom fixtures were also falling to pieces
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Attentive staff and lovely setting.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Beautiful sunsets in idyllic grounds with plenty of space to run and take in the country air.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kidderminster

Escaping from the Family

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: We like its rural setting but also its proximity to Oxford and Abingdon. The hotel is warm and comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly.
Cons: Our only complaint. £12.50 for a medium glass of wine and a pint of beer in the hotel bar is extortionate.
Location: The timeless pleasures of the 'dreaming spires' of course.
We had a night in this hotel as a treat for ourselves after a very hectic and busy Christmas. Although we have enjoyed a stay in the hotel previously we felt that some refurbishment had taken place since our last visit. Our bedroom in one of the annexes had a fresh feel and the bathroom was modern and clean. The public areas had been nicely decorated for Christmas and were warm and welcoming. The bedroom was tastefully furnished and the bed comfortable. The hotel is situated within easy reach of Oxford and the surrounded countryside. Most importantly, there is a nice pub within walking distance where a good meal can be had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Good business hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms, big beds and huge flat screen tv's. "Coffee corners", where you can get a variety of hot drinks
Cons: All fires in public rooms have been removed; just forlorn fireplaces remain. Such lovely spaces wasted - could be made cosier by putting in gas fires
A nice, very well-equipped hotel. The setting and facilities are great for a business event venue or wedding, but probably not so much for a weekend away, as there is probably a wedding or other function on most weekend nights. The rooms were lovely but you would expect them to be for the price. I asked to change room because the shower was pathetic - a bit of a dribble that went hot and cold. The staff seemed a little surprised at this request and were reluctant at first, telling me to wait until the maintenance person had tried to fix it. So I had to come back to the room in the evening and test the shower for them, at which point they graciously agreed to the move. A surprising level of service, especially as it was a Sunday night; the hotel was practically empty. The only other issue was the vast, drafty corridors and public rooms - even the restaurant and bar was freezing. Most of the time it seemed to be due to external doors being propped open by staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Handy for various towns. Liked spa, swimming pool and gym.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
There were some 'quirky' problems with the room but the staff were great in putting these right.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor response

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel's system was down when I came to check out and they promised to email my invoice. Still no mail after several attempts to contact them
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
very nice and comfortable, staff very friendly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lovely hotel with helpful friendly staff

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Overall it was a very good stay, easy to get to, plenty of parking spaces. Good customer service, most helpful and friendly. The room was a bit of a walk through the hotel complex but plenty to see enroute or you could take the car round and park closer to your room in the Garden Wing. The entrance to the Garden Wing and hallways are in need of some TLC and updating of the decor but the room itself was nice and comfortable. The bathroom a little on the small side with a rather small bath but an ok shower. It was peaceful even though a number of people were staying there. The pool and gym area looked good so next time I shall make use of these! It is a hotel I would recommend and perhaps to advise booking a room in the main hotel building where the rooms are bigger.