Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016
I stayed 2 nights and plan to come back. It's centrally located and the room was comfy and clean. Light and bright. Upscale !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

High level of comfort

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Very very comfortable hotel with large rooms and friendly staff. I can't wait to stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Seven stars!

Posted Aug 17, 2016
We emailed ahead to let them know I was just recovering from an accident. When we arrived they provided everything we had requested to ensure my comfort. Thoughtful caring staff. Great friemdly service....Excellent !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO USA

Comfortable venue at the heart of town.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Wonderful place to stay in a very comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exelent

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Exelent hotel. Exelent services. Good food. Good location. Very friendly stuff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located right on the high street

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Loved the location, the building's historic appearance and the lovely room.
Cons: All guests should receive an email with instructions on finding the car park. Would have liked to have had an iron and ironing board in the room.
Located on the hight street with lots of shops and restaurants all around as well as medieval churches and buildings. We were upgraded and given a newly refurbished room with beautiful rooftop view of churches. The room had a little patio, was very cosy with a modern bathroom and tea/coffee and even espresso making machine. Would have loved to have stayed longer. It is complicated to get to the car park and we did drive down a street that was only for buses and taxis in an effort to find it. This will result in a fine for us as there are cctv's set up especially for that purpose. The Front Desk agent whom I called in frustration was helpful in directing us and was very kind and helpful getting us there and for upgrading us. Would suggest guests call before arrival for directions. Car Park is free as is wireless internet. Large restaurant with good food is adjacent to the Front Desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waco TX

First class hotel, with unadvertised attractions

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: See point above about the art collection
Cons: I would love to see a guide to the art.
Location: As I say, it is within about ten minutes walk of most of the essential things to see in Oxford.
The Old Bank is a superb and truly first class hotel. It has a wonderful location right in the middle of High Street, an easy walk from all the main points of interest in Oxford. You can walk anywhere – and in Oxford, that is essential, given the near impossibility of using cars. Very comfortable, excellent service, and worth every penny. Very helpful staff. Tip - the excellent full English breakfast is more expensive than other items, but includes a very wide range of extra choices. Superb value. One thing you might not realize before you walk through the door is that the hotel has a cosmic collection of twentieth century and contemporary British art scattered all around, certainly of top class museum quality. The same is also true of the Old Parsonage, which is owned by the same people. If you took all the art in the two hotels and combined them under one specialized exhibition space you would have a major national attraction – and there they are, gazing down at you while you are eating breakfast! My one complaint is that they don’t have a printed guide of some kind to these paintings. A lovely experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Where to stay in Oxford

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Amazing location with campus and shops surrounding the hotel. Beautiful restaurant on site, outdoor seating. Very helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location wonderful; Library a plusWalking tour fab

Posted Jul 7, 2016
The free walking tour was outstanding! The guide was the best one of the three I had in Oxford. I paid for the other 2 tours. Only downside to hotel is no fitness room and no coffe/tea service in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Oxford University surrounds it

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Location. Friendly staff. Quiet sleep.
Location: Museums, colleges, chapels, Bodelian, and more. Town is not chock full of murder victims as British mystery series would suggest!
The street numbers are so irregular and the sign so discreet that we walked past it three times before entering the small lobby. The staff greeted us warmly, smiling, and directed us to our room which was comfortable but perhaps a bit small. It was a pleasant place to sleep and convenient to tour the town. Staff gave us good advice about transportation choices. We did not eat at their restaurant but we saw many folks enjoying meals and cocktails or tea on the hotel's open air terrace, behind the modern bistro which itself opens onto the street. There are several breakfast places on the same block. There are several restaurants nearby, but we found one about a mile away that pleased us. The hotel is perhaps 100 yards from The Rotunda and another 50 from the Bodelian.