Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waco TX

Superb old-world hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The art, probably
Cons: Virtually nothing
Location: Amazing location near some of Oxford's best restaurants, pubs and cocktail bars (The Duke of Cambridge is a block away).
I recently stayed at the Old Bank and Old Parsonage, both in Oxford, and both owned by the same people, and I am borrowing some sentences here from my Old Bank review. The Parsonage is an almost incredible place - lovely seventeenth century architecture, but fully redesigned in 2014 for comfort and convenience. Super helpful staff. One great touch is a fine library for sitting around and relaxing. Tip - the excellent English breakfast is more expensive than other items, but includes a very wide range of extra choices. Great value. Do eat on the patio. One thing you might not realize before you walk through the door is that the hotel has a cosmic collection of twentieth century and contemporary British art scattered all around, certainly of top class museum quality. The same is also true of the Old Bank, which is owned by the same people. If you took all the art in the two hotels and combined them under one specialized exhibition space you would have a major national attraction – and there they are, gazing down at you while you are eating breakfast! My one complaint is that they don’t have a printed guide of some kind to these paintings. I loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Toby Aspel, Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Philip. Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Old Parsonage. You will be interested to learn that our proprietor, Jeremy Mogford, is considering an updated catalogue of his extensive collection of art. We receive a great deal of interest and compliments for this collection and I love your description of it being a 'major national attraction'! Thanks again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Fantastic in every way

Posted Jul 23, 2016
This fantastic boutique hotel retains it's historic feel while blending ultra-modern facilities. It's gorgeous, comfortable and delightful, easy walking distance from all the major sites in the city. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Beautiful hotel in Oxford

Posted Jun 1, 2016
An amazing little hotel not far from the train station and the centre of town. The staff were excellent, with the exception of the young woman who greeted us who seemed to go out of her way to make us feel unwelcome. Fortunately, we didn't see her again during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, great service

Posted Apr 26, 2016
An overall great experience, best of British. Breakfast was delicious, service was attentive and rooms were inviting and clean. Close to colleges, shops, pubs and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Enjoyed great late lunch.....served until 6! Loved the library area with direct phone to bar. We had stayed before and will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Good for a romantic break.
Cons: with no lift some people with mobility issues would struggle
Location: all good!
Disappointed that I thought I had booked B&B so didn't welcome the £40 breakfast charge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by Toby, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. Our rates do state what is included (e.g. free car parking, complimentary WiFi and newspapers, a walking tour of Oxford, use of hotel bicycles). Breakfast is not included, giving you the choice from our menu. We do have ground floor rooms, including rooms which have been adapted for disabled guests or those with mobility issues. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Old Parsonage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good facilities. Cozy. Friendly staff

Posted Jan 15, 2016
The hotel is very comfortable with fireplace and cozy afternoon tea. Room was really nice with view of garden. I aldo liked their library upstairs. The whole place is very tastefully done. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful boutique

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Had a wonderful stay at the Old Parsonage. The staff was thoughtful and the amenities were wonderful--little things like heated bathroom floors and comfortable bedding made it an excellent stay. The hotel is cozy and has the feel of a private cottage. Definitely a great boutique to check out!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Nice perfect for a treat!

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: It's old an cozy
Cons: Nothing
Location: It's close to walk in to the center of Oxford, a couple of good pubs near by. It's a 10 minute walk to the rail station too!
We really enjoyed the luxury of this small intimate hotel, it is definitely worth treating yourself to if you are thinking of a w/end away. It's perfect for exploring Oxford and returning to in the evening to sit down for a nice meal followed by drinks in the library. The food was superb and the staff wait on you hand and foot. Very welcoming place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2016 by Toby, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely feedback Sarah. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Your review even makes me want to spend the weekend here (as a guest!) We hope we will see you again? Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Best hotel in Oxford

Posted Dec 10, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Why mess with perfection?
Location: Near pubs, restaurants, colleges, easy walk to city centre.
The Old Parsonage is new again. A major renovation has transformed an historic building into a modern classic. Greeted by a blazing fire and a friendly check-in desk, the welcome is cosy and warm. Smallish rooms are immaculate and kept that way by an efficient staff, including fresh towels at the evening turn-down service. Handy restaurant and bar provide nourishment and drink, suitable for family and friends. Located at the quiet end of St Giles with nearby historic pubs and a choice of restaurants and take-aways. Easy walk to major sites, on bus route to Bicester, with on-site parking and bicycles for those so-inclined. Not cheap but a great value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2016 by Toby, Hotel Management
Thank you very much! What better feedback could we ask for? Kind regards