Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by brenda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Abraham from Mexico

Great boutique hotel with great restaurant

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel near Oxford center and beautiful design rooms the only problem is for people who has problem to use stairs
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waco TX

Superb old-world hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The art, probably
Cons: Virtually nothing
Location: Amazing location near some of Oxford's best restaurants, pubs and cocktail bars (The Duke of Cambridge is a block away).
I recently stayed at the Old Bank and Old Parsonage, both in Oxford, and both owned by the same people, and I am borrowing some sentences here from my Old Bank review. The Parsonage is an almost incredible place - lovely seventeenth century architecture, but fully redesigned in 2014 for comfort and convenience. Super helpful staff. One great touch is a fine library for sitting around and relaxing. Tip - the excellent English breakfast is more expensive than other items, but includes a very wide range of extra choices. Great value. Do eat on the patio. One thing you might not realize before you walk through the door is that the hotel has a cosmic collection of twentieth century and contemporary British art scattered all around, certainly of top class museum quality. The same is also true of the Old Bank, which is owned by the same people. If you took all the art in the two hotels and combined them under one specialized exhibition space you would have a major national attraction – and there they are, gazing down at you while you are eating breakfast! My one complaint is that they don’t have a printed guide of some kind to these paintings. I loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Toby Aspel, Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Philip. Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Old Parsonage. You will be interested to learn that our proprietor, Jeremy Mogford, is considering an updated catalogue of his extensive collection of art. We receive a great deal of interest and compliments for this collection and I love your description of it being a 'major national attraction'! Thanks again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Fantastic in every way

Posted Jul 23, 2016
This fantastic boutique hotel retains it's historic feel while blending ultra-modern facilities. It's gorgeous, comfortable and delightful, easy walking distance from all the major sites in the city. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Anne from I wish to stay anonymous

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel has a wonderful feeling to it: very friendly and accommodating. They have done an excellent job of modernizing a very old building and keeping its charm and integrity. In the middle of the hotel there is a little library where you can sit and read and a glass covered area where you can feel outside. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in overall, even though it is not a fancy resort with large rooms and lots of glitz. They offer a free tour of Oxford and bikes to tour the city, but we were unable to take advantage of those opportunities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice, lovely staff, but not good value.

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
The room was quite small, much smaller than any room I have had in London, for instance. It was nicely appointed and in excellent condition, but with considerable noise from upstairs, of people moving around. I think we may have been directly under a service stairway or closet which saw frequent use by staff. Staffing at the hotel was outstanding and very helpful. Service was outstanding. Location in Oxford is excellent. I have stayed here several times, beginning over forty years ago, and will do so again--but it is quite expensive for what you get.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on CheapTickets
The rooms are small but beautifully fitted and furnished. The hotel's effort to check ahead of our stay if we needed parking then signposted a reserved spot created a smooth process and provided a personal touch. Reception seemed rushed busy servicing the restaurant at the same time as providing check in, check out and concierge services to guests. There were no tea or coffee making facilities or kettle in the room. This was disappointing as it would be provided at the most basic accommodation. We ended up having to pay 10 pounds at checkout for two teas and a coffee during our stay, which had cost some 400 pounds.
5 out of 5
by Suliman from KSA

Best hotel in Oxford

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Short for 2 days but amazing experiance for Oxford city
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A real gem in the heart of Oxford

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with attention to service. A real gem in the heart of Oxford.