Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
Cons: Needs a hand rail to help getting in and out of the bath especially when used as a shower.
Room small as well as the bed. Excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Back in time but not in amenities

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: The decor, the staff & the location- within walking distance to everything but out of the fray.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lovely to get to hear Thursday evening bell practice
Charming is often a catch phrase for old carpeting & furnishings & antiquated non working plumbing, but in the case of our stays at The Old Parsonage, it truly describes both the setting & the staff in the most complementary manner. The building is a study in the most high tech of lighting designs for both ambience use & the BRILLIANT use of space makes me want to go home & redesign my own home. We never stayed in a more sumptuous & yet homey "hotel" ever. We were made to feel like an honored guest in someone's elegantly restored home. Thank you again for a fabulous stay !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location for touring Oxford!

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Staff went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and informative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it but

Posted Apr 11, 2017
I loved this hotel, But it is not in center so expect an extra 10min walk back to hotel from center of town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chic hotel in a college town

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Perfect location, beautiful hotel, quaint yet modern. Terrific staff. Food and wine were okay, not great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel well placed and generally comfortable

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Main complaint is that it was very expensive - nearly £300 for a one night stay -and the fact that there was no tea making facilities in the room spoilt the stay. Room up several narrow stairs making it not suitable for anyone with physical disability.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Toby, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write. I believe I have already addressed these and other comments made on another online review site. Given the luxurious accommodation and the service and amenities we provide, we do not consider a room under £300 to be poor value and I am sorry you do not agree. Naturally, rooms at the top of narrow stairs would not be suitable for guests with disabilities and we would provide suitable alternatives; ground floor or accessible rooms are available. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from guildford, surrey

Weekend in Oxford

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The hotel was welcoming, warm, newly refurbished, clean and quiet.
Cons: The car park spaces were very tight although it was nice to have them available.
Location: The hotel is perfect for visiting Oxford's Jerico and City centre. Restaurants and cafes within 5 minutes walk.
We went for a two night break to The Cotswolds and Oxford. The hotel was perfectly positioned just on the edge of the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by Toby, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review. Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again? Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Superb Elegant and Chic Hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The Old Parsonage is not in the heart of Oxford but it's just a 5 minute walk to it. The dining room is lovely and the meals on point and delicious. While my room was small and the closet was too, it was beautifully done. The whole hotel oozes pedigree and style. I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2017 by Toby, Hotel Management
Thank you Tom, very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you will visit, next time you are in Oxford. Kind regards
4 out of 5
by Robert

A fantastic find in Oxford.

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
Old Parsonage was a lucky find. its an old building so some quirky low beams and spiral stairs. Bedroom was lovely with an awesome bathroom and wonderful shower. The staff were very helpful. The restaurant was great with good service and excellent food. Theres a great library on the first floor with a direct lien to the kitchen if you want drinks. Lovely spot to read. Parking was a little difficult but the hotel is very central and easy walking to many interesting buildings. A fantastic short break.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Robert. It sounds as if you made the best of your trip to Oxford and enjoyed all the Old Parsonage has to offer. We do hope you will return, on your next visit to Oxford? Kind regards, Toby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Orbitz
As always, the hotel was excellent. I wanted to change my room as the one I was given was on the ground floor next to the car park. Reception were able to offer me a room on the next floor and handled my request impeccably. As a single traveller, the drawer space was fine but I can imagine that if a couple had a great deal of luggage that might be a squeeze. I always try to stay here on my visits to Oxford and recommend the Old Parsonage highly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Toby Aspel, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much. I am pleased we were able to assist with your request for alternative accommodation. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards