Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location poor staff service

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: location
one of the best locations in the Cotswolds unfortunately let down by service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, not too many facilities.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Nice hotel, not too many facilities. Our check in was weird as the receptionist english was very poor and the only thing we got is the keys without any explanation on the hotel, facilities, breakfast. We had to carry our luggage on our own in the old part of the hotel narrow corridors and stairs, not a good start. The room is small and they try to put a lot of thing into it, like coffee place, chairs and additional table which left no place in the room. Breakfast was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Lovely building in beautiful surroundings.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Staff are fantastic, facilities good and location OK. Stay was let down by the size of the classic room. If you can afford a superior room then I'm sure you will have a much better experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Lovely stay in a beautfull hotel .couldn't do enough to for us .will be back
3 out of 5
by Andrew

Not what it was.

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
A bit mixed really, because although the room was adequate, the rest was not really up to so called 5 star rating. Not quite sure how it gets this rating as there is no room service available and no means of ordering drinks from the guest lounge areas. You have to leave the building and go to the pub next door yourself-- not ideal when it is raining. Two out of three of the log fires were not ,presumably to save money. I am however comparing this place to previous visits before it was sold on to new owners. The drinks and food were always expensive but the 5star service you used to get with it has now sadly gone. Evening meals were of a good quality but the choice of breakfast has gone downhill. Overall there is a general feeling of cost cutting going on-- which is fine, but you can't continue to call it a 5star establishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Super hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Ebookers
It was my partners mothers 80th birthday and they gave us a free upgraded rooms, a glass of prosecco on arrival and put her a birthday card in her room - nice touches that made it that bit more special. Food was lovely. Only negative was that you have to pay an extra £25 each if you wish to use pool or spa facilities which I personally feel is expensive if you just want an half an hour dip in the pool, although the spa did look very inviting.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middlesbrough

Beautiful hotel in a quaint cotswold style

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Hotel looks charming and old with gorgous entrance hall including a huge Christmas tree. The rooms were refurbished to a lovely standard. Breakfast was really tasty with lots of choice. Staff very helpful and friendly even offering a torch so we could walk in the fog to the pub up the road. Didn't get time to try the spa, fishing or go for a bike ride but maybe next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bothell, United States of America

Very nice stay

Posted Dec 2, 2016
The grounds are magnificent and the meals were great. Make sure to make a reservation for dinner when you get there though as the restaurant can get busy even in winter. Super friendly staff. The hotel itself was quite the experience and a cool place to stay. The only downside was you could hear the neighbors real easily. But this is expected in this kind of place, so I wouldn't deduct anything for that. Overall a lovely stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newbury

Lovely hotel, food not too good

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Ebookers
Room fantastic, breakfast was not good and bit of a shambles, Luke warm food and half item run out Did call hotel and ask manager to call so I could explain but he never did, great shame room was fantastic but breakfast and restaurant let it down, a few small changes would make it 100%