Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bothell, United States of America

Very nice stay

Posted Dec 2, 2016
The grounds are magnificent and the meals were great. Make sure to make a reservation for dinner when you get there though as the restaurant can get busy even in winter. Super friendly staff. The hotel itself was quite the experience and a cool place to stay. The only downside was you could hear the neighbors real easily. But this is expected in this kind of place, so I wouldn't deduct anything for that. Overall a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Wonderful week at Old Swan & Minster Mill

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, charming, great food at all meals, staff was courteous and helpful
Cons: If you are very tall, ask for a room with a tall shower. Some of the rooms have showers with low ceiling that will not fit anyone over about 6 feet.
Location: Beautiful Cotswold village nearby to Oxford and Woodstock. So much to do!
Just spent a great week at Old Swan & Minster Mill while on business in the area. We had accidents with rental cars and all sorts of other troubles but our stay at Old Swan & Minster Mill always released the stress and made everything all right. The room was clean and charming and the staff were courteous and always did all they could to help. Meals are truly excellent. The breakfasts, presided over be Sandra, were probably the best I have ever had....anywhere! I am planning how to return with my wife for a vacation trip...I want to share this with her!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newtownards Northern Ireland

Sat Nav required, but worth the effort.

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: the quietness
Cons: the central heating
Location: convenient to Witney, Oxford and the magnificent Blenheim Palace.
Picture postcard cluster of old buildings beside a picturesque stream accessed via an old narrow bridge. Beautiful. Bedrooms in the Minster Mill are small but tasteful. Heating is a little underpowered. Food in The Old Swan both at breakfast and in the restaurant for an evening meal is excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Idyllic setting from which to explore the Cotswold

Posted Sep 22, 2016
... If you can bring yourself to leave the spectacular grounds!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Anniversary Treat

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly, professional and courteous.
Cons: The outdoor chess sets had some pieces missing.
Location: Lovely walks in the area. Lovely grounds for relaxing in.
Returned to the hotel 23 years after having our wedding reception here. We were given an upgrade to a lovely suite in the oldest part of the Old Swan - the stairs were a bit tricky with a suitcase but not a major problem. The Old swan is old! Really old in places, and as you would expect the floors are uneven, the floorboards a bit creaky and the windows rattly which adds to the charm. The receptionist arranged a taxi for us to go into Witney for dinner on the Friday evening - they arrived on time and took us into town for a very reasonable rate. We ate in the hotel on the Saturday night and the food was lovely. Some drinks were a little expensive though - Twelve pounds for a large (250ml) glass of Pinot Grigio! Spa treatments were arranged prior to our visit via email and the staff were courteous and professional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Rustic elegance in a charming English village

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in the Richard III suite in the Old Swan and it was perfection. Exposed beams, charming picture windows, rustic luxury and elegance. The 65 acre property is storybook picturesque set in a cozy village of 200 people. It's peaceful, serene, yet close enough to all major Cotswolds sites and neighbouring villages. Amazing service and hospitality. Scrumptious breakfasts! It's a very special place to stay and we can't wait to return!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Lovely hotel, fantastic spa treatment!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Spa treatments Quietness Garden Location Parker the cat!
Cons: Breakfast
Location: 3 miles from Witney - we would recommend Fat Lils for dinner if you like a good meal Burford is 5 miles - you can hire a bike at the hotel
We stayed in one of the Old Swan rooms which was the older part. The room was nice but not that big - the bed was king size and very comfortable. We also had a small garden as we were on the ground floor. The shower was great, very powerful and always had hot water. The White Company toiletries was a nice touch - I'm not sure I understand the reasoning behind providing new toiletries when only used once though! My husband and I both had a spa treatment which was amazing - I wanted to book another it was so good but unfortunately they were fully booked! We had dinner at the hotel one night - we both had steak which was very nice although I'd say over priced. If you want just pub food you would need to go somewhere else! Breakfast could have been better - it took 15-20 mins to replace cooked items when they ran out which wasn't really acceptable. We also had to ask for butter, tea and glasses - given the amount of staff we shouldn't have had to do this. Overall though, I'd say its a lovely hotel in a nice location. Parker the cat is also worth mentioning - he came and sat with us whilst we were having a drink in the garden and is a lovely boy, very friendly :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property!

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Beautiful grounds and comfortable rooms. Explored the property, which is located along the river. Recommend to rent bikes to explore the area! Enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
by Jean from Ilkley

Short break

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable hotel in beautiful setting We had a very long wait in the restaurant for our evening meal which we would not have expected in view of the price we paid.