Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Good location

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: A makeover to bring it up to date
Location: Location good for getting into town. I was visiting relatives so didn't take advantage of things to do in the locality
Nice welcome from reception. Felt like going back to the 80s in the room however. A cling to me shower curtain, a standard lamp in the room and dated décor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Andy G, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. We are getting fully refurbished from the summer this year so the feel of the 80's will disappear soon. Andy and the team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2017
It was great ,would recommend someone.Improve on a breakfast serving need to have more vegetarians option. I like the fact that I got a room immediately on arrival. ,.......... ,........ ..................... ....................
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Andy G, Hotel Management
Good morning, Our breakfast can include porridge, poached or boiled eggs or an omelette if you wish. Just ask our team and they will be happy to help. Andy Gelleburn General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

very nice hotel, staff very good nice stay

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Location: Oxford centre short drive to the park and go
good parking, nice clean hotel, staff very helpfull.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Andy G, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. See you again soon. Andy and the team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Value

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Staff & Food & Valye
Cons: The expected refurb will do it
Excellent Value. Staff superb. Rooms are good but hallways tired - there is a refurb happening soon. This should make this venue even better. We really enjoyed the food.
5 out of 5
by John

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Shower was cold
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Everything fine, but was not impressed by the menu choice for the evening meal.
5 out of 5
by Janine

Couple of days away

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
In easy walking distance of the town. Friendly staff in shops and cafes. Hotel staff friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reception area & staff welcoming, hotel comfy

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very welcoming staff, easy check in, staff easy to chat to later in the evening, bar staff good. Great breakfasts. The only downside was that it was a bit noisy early morning, the housekeeping office was near our room and they were chatting at 6.30 Saturday morning. The plumbing was a bit noisy too. We have been told there is a refurb due later in the year which will sort out the slight tiredness of the corridor and room on the ground floor.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Mike and Joan

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Having family living in Abingdon, we stay at the Oxford Abingdon whenever we visit as it is very convenient. Our only comment about our room - No 5 - is that the safe cold be fixed at a higher level to avoid having to stoop low or kneel on the floor to set the code. Deanna in Reception was always very pleasant and helpful, as were the breakfast room staff. Your bar prices are rather steep, I'm afraid, which discourages spending time in the bar. News of your possible expansion/rebuild was interesting and we do hope we can still be accommodated on our next visit if the building work has commenced. All in all, however, we are happy with the service you provide and will continue to book with you.
3 out of 5
by Loraine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels