Ratings based on 829 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prettig hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Mooie uitvalsbasis, 20 min. lopen van centrum Oxford.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Venlo

Goed hotel, relatief dicht bij het centrum.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Goed hotel voor een bezoek aan Oxford. Met de bus in een paar minuten voor een pond naar het centrum. Prima restaurantvoorzieningen.
Cons: Luchtverversing. Belachelijke wijnprijzen direct naar beneden bijstellen.
Location: Centrum Oxford nabij.
Het hotel is groot, de gangen zijn lang en verhoudingsgewijs smal. Het viel ons op dat de luchtverversing in de gangen onvoldoende was. Erg warm en benauwd. De kamers waren redelijk, bedden matig.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Nice grounds

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Really happy, rooms are well equipped, the staff polite. Could do with better ironing equipment, very dated (only a small issue though!)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, USA

Nice hotel close to downtown Oxford

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Cons: let customers know when they book rooms that their stay dates will coincide with renovation work
Overall very pleasant...staff very helpful...one problem: started renovation on the main reception area which created inconvenience for persons lodging behin d the reception area because one had to climb innumerable stairs and walk along long corridors...quite confusing...nice swimming pool and outside garden area..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Chill out time

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Great place to stroll from into Oxford or jump on a boat and have a cruise down the river. Walking into the city via the universities gardens and parkland is a great way to the outside of Oxford close up and then call into one of the many refreshment establishment hidden away in some of the small back streets. You must also try and fit one or two of the many university tour or a visit a museum during your stay, but don't over do it say some for another visit. We are now looking to our next visit,later in the year, to continue were we left off.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel to stay

Posted Aug 1, 2016
It's nice hotel to stay at Oxford. Walk near 15 minutes to the campus. The facilities are good and neat.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Overpriced and undeserving of its rating

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: very little
Cons: breakfast should be included at the rates charged.
Location: taxi ride to centre of oxford, not ideal for graduations at the Sheldonian
Temporary check in desk , with staff who were struggling to cope with no. of guests and from over hearing other conversations , not paticularly experienced. We had 2 rooms booked for our daughters graduation so the stay was part of a special occasion. No offer of help with luggage . Lifts were out of order . Taxi requested at reception was never ordered so we were late for our evening engagement. No air conditioning. 2 false fire alarm evacuations , post 10.30 pm , due to unruly guests Bed arrangement in rooms was incorrect despite checking at reception on arrival. We had booked one twin and one double. Both rooms were twin. So had to wait for this to be altered. Not advised at time of booking that the hotel was undergoing renovation. Finally icing on the cake , discovered when we got home that we had been overcharged for our rooms by £60 ! , now a mission to recover the overcharge. Sorry but will never be staying here again and certainly will not be recommending this hotel to any of our friends .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwich

good quiet position yet close to everything.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: The position to everything you need to see but also was surrounded by fields and very quiet.
Location: So much to see nearby and only about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. You can walk from hotel along the Thames to the centre. Lovely museum, theatre.
This is a lovely hotel which is near the Thames in a lovely quiet setting, yet close enough to walk to Oxford Centre. Although they were having some refurbishment done and the temporary reception was quite small, this did not detract from our stay and the lovely hotel that it is. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The hotel is close the city centre wita great 15 min walk via the riverside. The hotel looks great from the outside and very imposing facade. Sadly it is a facade as it is just a simple business stay type hotel and the facilities are quite basic. Our room was not cleaned whilst we were there and it was difficult to obtain new towels and extra coffee for the room. The reception desk was not helpful in the slightest. The only person who helped was the guest relations manager after we complained. The room doors are loud when opening and closing in the adjacent rooms. The hotel could be a beautiful place if kept in the same style as the outside and surrounding grounds. Oxford is lovely and easy to navigate and we would happily visit the city again, probably staying at a high level B and B instead.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire UK

Shame about the heat

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Appearance, room size, cleanliness, staff, food
Cons: Stuffy corridors and room on a hot couple of days let it down, as did a shower which had three settings; hot, very hot and scalding.
Location: Everything in Oxford
Lovely hotel, great sized room, good food, attentive staff, but the building doesn't deal well with - albeit infrequent - hot UK weather. Our room (222) was on the second floor and was very hot and stuffy on a day when the outside temps reached about 27C (81F). A fan was supplied, but really we could have done with Aircon. It's not unusual for UK hotels not to be air-conditioned, so please read this review with that in mind.