Ratings based on 957 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torquay

Great staff, great hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The staff were genuinely friendly and highly professional. The grounds were beautiful, and our room had an outlook over horses in green meadows.
Cons: Perhaps a map could be provided in the room, showing clearly where all hotel facilities are located.
Location: Oxford itself is a vibrant and interesting city, with many historical attractions. The Ashmolean Museum is a highlight, and it's free.
The Oxford Spires Hotel staff were universally friendly and efficient, which made our stay so relaxing. Check-in was quick and efficient, despite our jet-lagged vagueness. The room was comfortable in all respects and spotless (thanks to Rita). Breakfast was a generous buffet of hot and cold foods, and tea and coffee was served and replenished graciously. The complimentary min-bar was a welcome surprise, including white wine, bottled water, orange juice and chocolate. Wi-fi signal was strong. Express check-out was speedy and our bags were stored safely, while we explored nearby Oxford. On return, I took advantage of the room's free drink voucher, and savoured a welcome and refreshing pint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Lovely setting and great room

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: Sorry, gym
Location: Great settings, fields all around and Thames at the bottom of the hotel. Grounds kept lovely. Short 10 minutes into Oxford
Arrived early and a very nice receptionist managed to find us a room for an early check in. Was in the annex part of the hotel, beautiful old lodge. Lovely size room with views over the gardens, huge bathroom, no shower, but great roll top bath, beams etc. House keeping was excellent, left everything we asked for every day, always cleaned well. Really enjoyed the breakfast, quality food, very clean. We also ate a meal in the same dining room on the first night, that was also very good. Staff always very helpful and polite Just a 10 minute walk, by the river I would suggest into Oxford, past Christ Church College on the way, beautiful walk. Ample parking but this is a very busy hotel, lot of conferences. Used the gym on a daily basis, very basic, equipment took me back to the 80s, although cardio a bit newer. But it's not why you are there, so make do, I've trained in worse. Staff, again, very helpful and polite All in all a lovely experience, looking forward to returning. I thought is was very good value for money too. Many thanks to everyone who assisted us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
It was a lovely experience! Waking up to the sunrise was lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
About 20 minutes walk along the tow path into Oxford - pleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Nice hotel. Not right in the centre of Oxford but it's a lovely 5-10 minute walk along the river into town. Seeing as it's not in the centre it benefits from a large carpark so you don't have to pay for expensive parking in town. The hotel reception and bar area are very modern, our room was a little dated but clean and comfortable. The pool area was also a little tired but a nice addition to the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Nice hotel but very dated in parts

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Very clean great food and staff good but very dated in parts and modern in other parts. We had ground floor room that was extremely dated, smelt as if it had been a smoking room in the past. Leisure facilities especially changing rooms were extremely old fashioned and 2 showers with a shower curtain to divide from each other is not what people want these days. This hasn't changed in 17 years since last at hotel. Lobby, outside terrace, lounge bar and restaurant had been refurbished and were great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Comfortable place to stay near downtown Oxford. Clean rooms and friendly staff made this an enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Good hotel but......

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Excellent location. Great food
Cons: Shower in room 21.
Location: We walked along the river into Oxford which took about 10 to 15 minutes. Got on the "hop on hop off bus tour"which was a good way to see Oxford.
Had a very enjoyable stay with friends at the hotel marred only by the temperamental nature of the shower in our room. My husband could wiggle and manipulate the shower lever to give some level of water but I could not. We did report this to reception but nothing was done to rectify the situation before we left. However this did not stop us enjoying our stay.We ate in the hotel and the food was excellent as were 90 per cent of the staff. Hats off to Claire who is an asset to the hotel with her efficient dealing of customers complaints. Pity we did not report our 'shower problem' directly to her.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A room with a view

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Gorgeous dual aspect views to parklands from my room, fab rainforest shower, and friendly & helpful staff. An oasis of quiet just 15 minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of Oxford city centre. Slept like a baby!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spires Oxford

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Warm welcome - smiles from all staff. Generous with everything. Good size room two comfy chairs Nice temperature Restaurant food excellent Reception knew their facts about the bus times etc Parking particularly good and allowed to leave car after booked out. Breakfast perfect choice. A very happy experience