Ratings based on 871 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Close to lovely river walk up to town.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Quiet peaceful, great facilities not too far out of town to be a trudge,reasonably priced, good value for money.Great room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Room lovely, staff helpful. Breakfast looked lovely but the full English was cold, eggs rubbery, mushrooms cold & meats only just warm. Fire alarm went off at 3am and just a note pushed under our door at 7am after a disrupted night's sleep.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

What's not to like?

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Easy access & parking, quiet location, good breakfast.
Cons: Breakfast would have been even better if the wait staff had been a bit more cheerful!
Location: A pleasant stroll along the river bank into the centre of Oxford.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An average hotel but expensive. Disappointing!

Posted Oct 22, 2016
At the price I expected something a bit more luxurious. It was adequate but I wouldn't go again. It was convenient for the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from folkestone

All the usual facilities but over priced

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Half hour walk from the train station
Friendly helpful staff. Food mediocre (attended an event - rather small portions). Guest rooms have the facilities but somewhat outdated bathroom and basic decor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Poor service in restaurant
Location: Excellent
Comfortable room and convenient hotel Staff friendly. Food fairly good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Avoid breakfast

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: the hotel is approximately 20 minutes walk to the city centre. The Thames path is just behind the hotel and is very pleasant.
We loved the room, it had great views. The facilities throughout the Hotel very good. However, I don't enjoy being told I have to pay cash before I can sit down to breakfast. It's humiliating and it takes up time when people are waiting to be seated, some of them elderly, while transactions take place. At breakfast, the atmosphere should be calm, and guests shown to tables swiftly. This makes it feel as though you are in a low- grade cafe. Very, very unimpressed. Breakfast for £12.95 (paid for up front- I should say demanded) was dreadful. The fried eggs were appalling, blackened round the edges, the yolks hardened and green in hue. I ordered coffee and never received it. Someone is prioritising payment here and not quality. Suffice to say I will not be staying here again, which in my view is a shame as the rest of the hotel was very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Nice choice in Oxford

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Comfortable room for the expedia price.
Cons: Wasn't much impressed with the hotel restaurant or menu. In the morning they are totally focused on breakfast, you cannot get food after 10 am.
Good choice of a room in Oxford, very pleasant room and location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, nice rooms,poor service from staff

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The rooms are nice clean and well equipped
Cons: Every aspect of the staff service experience. Making your customers feel like criminals is never good.
This is a nice hotel in a great location on the edge of Oxford city centre. There is a lovely walk from the hotel into the city along the banks of the river. The rooms in the hotel are nice with a high standard of fittings, we can recommend room 200 which is super. However, and this is a big however, the service from the staff was very disappointing and I am not sure we would stay again unless there is an improvement. We stayed in the hotel for one night on Saturday 24th September and from the very beginning the service from the front desk was very poor. We arrived at the hotel in two groups with my wife and two children arriving first. At check in wife was given very poor treatment by the staff who made her feel as though she was going to leave the hotel without paying, because I had made the booking on my Amex card they would not allow her to check in unless she paid in advance for the two rooms. During the whole process the staff were very unaccommodating and made my wife feel like a criminal who was going to leave without paying, in spite of the fact that the hotel had my card details and could have charged to my card if necessary. Very very poor. Our second poor experience was the breakfast on Sunday morning where again we were ordered to prepay by a very rude and unfriendly man who said "you will have to pay in advance before you eat". The breakfast quality was very average, barely warm hot dishes. Overall very poor service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Great location. Beautiful setting. Nice room. Very helpful staff.
Cons: No
Location: Close to all the attractions in Oxford.
The hotel is close to the city center but is very quiet. Hotel staff were exceptionally helpful. The room was very comfortable and quiet.