Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: free parking at sister hotel in Oxford was very convenient. You can walk down a path along the Thames to get into town from the parking
Overall excellent. Expanded hours for gym and pool may have been good. Directions using GPS and address on website was a little off.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from malaysia

Good hotel and peaceful

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Friendly , spacious and clean. Staffs are helpful, and near to town
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from reading

Expensive but not the standard expected

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We stayed in a standard twin room in August... The room was large but very dark, with only one tiny window. The window restraints were broken as was the safe and one bedside lamp. The room was boiling hot, no aircon only a fan, so not ideal. Cleanliness was good as was location (quiet). Breakfast was excellent but interrupted by a fire alarm (neither genuine or a test) so we ate most of it cold. It would have been appropriate to apologise to diners and offer to resupply warm food. Overall not what I'd hoped at £265 for one night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamburg

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Freundlichkeit der Mitarbeiter
Sehr freundliche und bemühte Mitarbeiter. Keine schöne Lage des Hotels. Zimmer sind geräumig und sauber.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Reasonable hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Reasonable distance from Oxford
Cons: see above
Location: Reasonable distance from Oxford. Plenty to do in Oxford and surrounding areas.
Disappointing restaurant menu. Bed and settee uncomfortable. Breakfast overpriced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cookham

Nice hotel and romm but Spa and Gym is a let down

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The rooms and the grounds the hotel were on are amazing
Cons: The Spa and Gym areas and the friendliness of their staff. All other staff were very pleasant.
We booked mainly for the Spa experience however this was disappointing. The Spa staff were not as friendly and welcoming as expected especially as this was for a relaxing weekend. The Spa had run out of men's products which was disappointing as this was the whole point of booking so we could experience. It was agreed with staff we could use the woman's products however they didn't appear to be knowledgeable. The facial and massage we received in the end was very good. The steam room needs upgrading to a more modern standard. There were a few other things that attention to detail could be better to bring the hotel to a higher standard that's expected. For example the sauna had no water in the bowl, with a water cooler just outside the sauna but had no cups, the female changing area run out of bags to put your damp costume in. The pool area was nice however only had 2 loungers which the whole time had towels reserved on them. The gym needs to be updated with more modern equipment. The Spa really lets the whole hotel down and the rooms, bar and grounds are really amazing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
This is a nice hotel for visiting Oxford. My only problem was it is a bit too far out of town in an area where there is nothing else nearby. The hotel itself is quite pleasant with a lovely garden next to river Thames.
5 out of 5
by Kjell from Raufoss

Oxford revisited

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
Good location, easy access to town centre. Loved spa and pool. Would go back to hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Nice quiet hotel, a little way out of town

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Relaxing atmosphere
Cons: wifi in some rooms is poor
Location: easy to access freeway, but a ways out of town (oxford). without traffic it seems about 15-20mins by car, but with traffic up to 1hr.
Hotel is relaxing and nicely laid out. Room quality is good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely stay