Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but not 4 star

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Clean bathroom
Cons: Attitude of reception staff, quality and quantity of breakfast, extended dinner menu. Improve decor to add atmosphere.
Location: Next you a main road. Near witney, blenheim etc.
Reception staff efficient but not friendly or very helpful. No lifts in hotel so had to carry luggage up stairs - no evidence of anyone to help. 'Superior' room' didn't seem to have any special features and only an average size bed. Breakfast very basic and evening meals OK but limited menu. Very expensive for what you get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Owings, MD

Delightful!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds, clean, safe.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Short five or six pound taxi ride into town...too far for us to walk ( in our late 60's) and you have to go past roundabouts and walk on edge of road.
Beautiful room on ground floor...hall has double doors so it is well insulated from noise from rest of hotel. Quiet, peaceful sleep...comfy bed...clean bath with various items for our use. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Front desk called for taxi when we needed it...free breakfast buffet was great...you can even order a custom made omlet at no charge...biggest omlet I have seen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a teamwork of great staff!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Every staff helps each other to create a comfortable and relaxed time for guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient lication

Posted May 24, 2017
Reception staff very helpful, room very comfortable and leisure facilities good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Starting to show its age.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
While the staff were very helpful, the Witney needs updating. The heating and showers are ancient, and the Television in our room was impossible to view from the beds!
3 out of 5
by Denis

Not a four star hotel.

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is tired. Couches in bar area are uncomfortable. Room spacious. Food very nice. Ok for a one night stop. Needs updating badly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Highly disappointed.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
After reading other reviews we were excited to stay here - however we were disappointed from the moment we arrived. Staff were rude and actually swore at times when we were nothing but polite and tried to make conversation. Shower pressure was awful so it was nearly impossible to wash out shampoo, and black liquid came up out of the plug hole. We hoped breakfast would be the saving grace but we left before we'd finished the meal. Will not be staying again.
4 out of 5
by J E

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mr

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ann

Touch of luxury and a warm welcome for every guest

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel gives us a touch of luxury at an affordable price. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the friendly and pleasant staff. The rooms were lovely and I would defy anyone to find as much as a stray hair or piece of fluff; it was spotless! There are all the little extras that make staying away special, like tooth mugs and wash cloths to making sure the tea and coffee is not only filled up, but the kettle has been emptied. You get the impression the staff take pride in their work and obviously love working at the hotel. We love the swimming pool and spa bath, there is also a steam room and sauna and there were plenty of extra towels and bags for wet swimwear. We brought family into the bar for drinks and they were warmly welcomed. Drinks were average hotel prices with a good range of local ales from the Hobgoblin brewery. Breakfast was delicious, which is a buffet style meal. There was nothing we could think of that wasn't provided. All in all, our perfect choice to stay in Witney.