Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sussex, UK

good location for a short walk into Oxford

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Location, very convenient for the varios attractions in Oxford
Cons: Breakfast arrangements
Location: Lots of wonderful buildings, colleges and museums to lookaround, a lot of which are free or charge a small entry fee.
Hotel staff were very welcoming and arranged car parking very efficiently. A bit of late night noise from some of the local nightclubs and from a few inconsiderate residents. Room clean and comfortable, bathroom clean but a bit on the small side. Breakfast taken at a nearby cafe was interesting with excellent local produce but let down by bekow average tea & coffee arrangement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Close to train station, for better or worse

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Complimentary fruit, biscuits and bottled water in the room. Good wifi signal. Comfy bed and pillows. Pleasant atmosphere.
Cons: I don't know if they could do anything about the traffic and train noise. It's right at a main entrance to town.
Location: Oxford University and the Pitts River Museum (free of admission) were amazing. We went to Evensong at Christ Church Cathedral for splendid music.
Very nice place and just steps from the train station, so it was easy to find. However, because of that, it was pretty noisy at night. Otherwise, I really liked the complimentary fruit, biscuits and bottled water, and the guy who checked us in was friendly and informative. The room was spacious and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Ok but not great

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Staff were friendly and hotel very close to the station and town centre
Cons: The hotel had seen better days. The room was clean but a bit shabby. Also we had to go to a cafe across the road for breakfast, as there were no facilities at the hotel. The cafe food wasn't great ,with a mediocre range of continental breakfast food available. Also felt that staff at cafe were unhelpful and dismissive. They didn't properly communicate what food was available for hotel customers and there was no menu available .
Location: Short walk to town.Shops and train station nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and friendly staff

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Right next to train station, walking distance to the historical sites. Close to the Avis/Budget car rental. Friendly staff. No elevator, but staff will take luggage up for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: It was dead-set convenient to pretty much everything.
Cons: They really should consider installing a lift. Although I like climbing stairs for exercise, it became a chore after a few nights.
The Royal Oxford is just about as convenient as it gets. A two minute walk to the railway station, or a 10 minute walk to the centre of town, its location cannot be surpassed. That being said, it's not the "W". However, it's clean, the staff is friendly, and frankly, it's a bargain considering it's convenience (it's also right next door to the Said School of Business). Our room was clean, rather spacious and comfy. The only downside, there is no lift (elevator). Be prepared to use the stairs. Overall, it easily exceeded expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

already thinking when can i return

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Having to ring for access to the hotel after 11pm. We had a little wait outside, but not too bad.
Location: 10mins walk to everything. Great choice of restaurants just down the road.
The staff were friendly and helpful. They allowed us an early check-in and gave us a very useful map, which definitely helped on our walkabout round Oxford. We were pleasantly surprised complimentary fruit, water and lots of biscuits as well as mint chocolates. And the bathroom was very well stocked too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Very convenient to the train station & nearby restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nr WINCHESTER

GOOD LOCATION CLOSE TO STATION

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: RECEPTION STAFF VERY HELPFUL. LOCATION NEAR STATION
Cons: STATE OF FURNISHINGS
Location: CLOSE TO STATION. CLOSE TO SHOPS AND RESTAURANTS. GOOD ACCESS TO LOCAL PUBLIC TRANSPORT
ACCESS NOT STRAIGHTFORWARD BECAUSE OF MAJOR ROADWORKS AROUND HOTEL. ROOM OK BUT SHOWING SIGNS OF WEAR. BREAKFAST FINE. RECEPTION STAFF VERY HELPFUL.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden Gem

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Clean and comfortable. Near the train station and near the city centre.
Cons: Faster wifi.
Lovely hotel near the train station. I was worried when I first saw it because it was over a Korean Restaurant and there was heavy construction around the hotel but there was no need. We had an easy check in and our room with twin beds was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and quite large. It was an easy 10 minutes walk from the city centre with lots of shops and restaurant. We were only there one night but had a good night's sleep. The two minor issues were the very slow Wi Fi and the very noisy people who woke up early and made a lot of noise in the hallways. Other than that, great stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Close to said business school

Posted Feb 16, 2015
A minimal hotel that gives clean rooms for a reasonable price. If you are used to five star stay somewhere else. Staff was excellent. Room impeccably clean. Down sides.... Tv did not work, not in center of town.