Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: It was dead-set convenient to pretty much everything.
Cons: They really should consider installing a lift. Although I like climbing stairs for exercise, it became a chore after a few nights.
The Royal Oxford is just about as convenient as it gets. A two minute walk to the railway station, or a 10 minute walk to the centre of town, its location cannot be surpassed. That being said, it's not the "W". However, it's clean, the staff is friendly, and frankly, it's a bargain considering it's convenience (it's also right next door to the Said School of Business). Our room was clean, rather spacious and comfy. The only downside, there is no lift (elevator). Be prepared to use the stairs. Overall, it easily exceeded expectations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

already thinking when can i return

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Having to ring for access to the hotel after 11pm. We had a little wait outside, but not too bad.
Location: 10mins walk to everything. Great choice of restaurants just down the road.
The staff were friendly and helpful. They allowed us an early check-in and gave us a very useful map, which definitely helped on our walkabout round Oxford. We were pleasantly surprised complimentary fruit, water and lots of biscuits as well as mint chocolates. And the bathroom was very well stocked too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 新潟県

駅近くの分かりやすいホテル

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: 部屋においてあるりんごやオレンジのフルーツが毎日補充されてたところ(無料)。 Wifiの電波が良いところ。
Cons: 洗面所の水道の蛇口がどんなにきつく締めても水がちょろちょろと流れてたので直してほしいです。
Location: 駅のすぐ近くで分かりやすいところにあるので迷いませんでした。 徒歩10分以内に小規模の商店があり、飲み物や軽食が売ってます。
駅近くで迷わずたどり着けました。駅から重いスーツケースを引きずってあまり歩きたくない人におすすめです。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Very convenient to the train station & nearby restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Caroline from Guildford

Excellent location, very pleasant staff

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
A big plus was having parking facilities. Otherwise the hotel was good in all respects and I would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best place place to stay in Oxford...

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
Cheaply renovated room (new curtains and bedding but nothing else). not value for money. price-quality not satisfactory - even for Oxford, where hotels are quite pricey due to limited number of hotels. no hot water in the shower - although there was hot water to the bath.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
The location and amenities you receive are well worth the value for this hotel. It's located centrally to everything in Oxford. The only issue I encountered was that the room and water were absolutely freezing. I had colleagues staying in other rooms at the hotel and we all had the same experience. Rooms lost heat faster than the radiator could keep up and the showers didn't get hot until you complained to the front desk.
2 out of 5
by Vincenzo from London

Not going back

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed at this hotel for two nights. Shower was cold both mornings. Reception closes at 11pm. You have to ring afterwards. Got to the hotel at 10:30pm one night and the door was closed because the only employee was doing a "security check" upstairs. Had to call a phone number from my cell and somebody showed up after 10 minutes to open the door. Room in fair conditions, bathroom subpar. No elevator. Hotel needs a serious update. Not going back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Hotels