Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Nice English country Pub.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Nice village location but not too difficult to find. Easy drive to Banbury. Room with en suite shower/WC not palatial but quite adequate and included all usual things like tea/coffee making, TV, soap/shampoo etc and hair dryer. Bed very comfortable. Room a bit too hot to start with but radiators easy to adjust. Food particularly good - plenty of choice on menu - I had an extremely nice homemade chicken & mushroom pie in the evening and excellent full English breakfast. Bar had 5 of my favorite real ales (though I only actually sampled the local bitter on this occasion). All staff very cheerful and helpful. Very good value. Suited me well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South East Wales

Cheap but basic

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was very good
Cons: The check in, the room and some of the staff's attitude.
Location: Middle of a small village, Banbury is about 10 mins drive away
Check in was poor. The one staff member was harassed and this didn't improve when another arrived for their shift and moaned at him and ignored the customers waiting. He did his best. Room was basic, clean but needed updating. Restaurant service was poor but the food excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Updating of rooms needed.
Location: Nice location.
Very basic but served the purpose for an over night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Lovely pub with great staff and a good vibe.

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Great staff and good vibe
Cons: Hand rail needed at top of stairs to bedroom.
Location: Near canal with great canal walks.
Great vibe in the pub on a Friday night. Lots of locals here for early doors dirnks in the garden on a nice sunny evening. We stayed a night with family and had a good time. Staff flexible to needs and gave good service with a smile. Food in restaurant was spot on for our needs. Well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

FOOD EXCELLENT, RECOMMENDED

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: GOOD FOOD (BREAKFAST) CLEAN QUAINT OLD WORLDLY PUB IN PICTURESQUE SURROUNDING AREA COMFORTABLE BED QUIET
Cons: DID NOT HAVE A PROBLEM WITH ANYTHING
Location: QUAINT OLD WORLDLY PUB IN PICTURESQUE SURROUNDING AREA VERY CLOSE TO LOVELY CANAL
LOVELY PICTURESQUE B & B, FOOD LOVELY AND EXCELLENT CLEAN ROOM, CANT FAULT IT
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice pub, cute village on a canal.

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: The pub was very cozy and the food was good.
Cons: Updating room, odd selections on the tv
Location: Fairly close to Stratford
The rooms were very outdated and moderately clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Unexpectedly isolated

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: The staff and the fact that it is quite a characterful pub.
Cons: The access to the room annexe and tidying and landscaping of the lovely, extensive back yard area.
Location: Canal walk in the town. Historic site for the Battle of Cropredy. Cute church with some interesting history.
I booked online with the expectation form the information provided that this Hotel B&B would be in close proximity, if not part of, Banbury. It's not...it is quite a way out in the very small village of Cropredy. Once I got reliable directions it was relatively easy to find - even in the dark!! Once I got over the 'isolation' of the location, I enjoyed the hotel and the surrounds. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The facilities were fine. The pub surrounds could do with some serious attention as there is lots of rubbishy stuff around. Also need to walk out in the weather to get the the rooms which are in an extension of the pub. Not pleasant in wet/cold weather. Breakfast was good but pub meals, as there doesn't seem to be any alternative close by - were quite expensive (I thought). Location gives the hotel a 'captive clientele' for meals.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean b&b attached to a pub in a beautiful village

Posted Dec 17, 2015
I have stayed here twice in the same room - room 6 . It is small but quaint and has a very comfortable double bed with comfy pillows . The room would be hard for two people as it has so little room in it but great for one with a nice ensuite and effective shower . Tastefully decorated . Downsides - no hairdryer, bedside lamp didn't work , no water , no herbal drinks for late at night when caffeine not wanted . Pub apparently has excellent food at night which I will try next time I go . The breakfasts are good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Beautiful pub set in very attractive village

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: See above
Location: See above
We spent an excellent night in a spacious , comfortable room in quiet surroundings and at a reasonable rate. Breakfast was served in the restaurant part of the pub, which is old and has original beams. There was a good choice of food for breakfast and it was served promptly and well cooked. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. In the morning we strolled along the canal, which is very close to the B and B. We would certainly return and would like to have an evening meal there too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Great Food, Friendly staff

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and great food
Location: There is a canal close by if you enjoy walking
This is a lovely place to stay, warm welcome and friendly staff. The food was superb the best burger we have ever had. This was brilliant for a one night stopover from Bournemouth to Manchester. Shame we didn't stay on a Saturday when they have some good music on.