Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

A VISIT TO A PLACE FONDLY REMEMBERED.

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Everything, really.
Cons: Well. I have a sentimental attachment to the place which could have set me up for a disappointment. Nothing about our stay disappointed, however.
Location: Beautiful village; didn't really look for things to do.
It might have proved a disappointment, but the pub had changed not a jot; the staff were friendly and accommodating; their dog and our dog go on well; the beer was good and there was a good choice; the food at dinner was fine if unspectacular; the breakfast was very good; the location is gorgeous; the accommodation cosy and comfortable but cramped (which is fair enough given that it is a conversion of a farm cottage dating from about 1630.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Superb Stay here

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Service , food, staff, local people, ambiance. Could not fault it at all.
Cons: Nothing to improve at all. Room was nice, quiet and comfortable for one night. Stayed room 1, had a very small bathroom but all else made up for that
Location: Lots to see and do nearby. Chipping Norton is a nice place to visit. Banbury good for a bit of shopping or sightseeing and of course Bicester village.
Stayed a night here with my daughter. We had an amazing time with good food, company and service followed by a mega good breakfast the next morning. The staff were fantastic and made us feel very welcome. They were attentive at all times without being imposing. We will definitely go here again as we spent the evening in the company of local clientele who were very friendly and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

A wonderful place to stay

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: We loved its location and the fact it had so much character.
Cons: I'm struggling to think of anything I didn't like!
Location: The Falkland Arms is tucked away in the tiny village of Great Tew. We did a circular walk collecting,sloes,sweet chestnuts and brambles along the way.
A wonderful place to stay. Very friendly, helpful staff. We arrived when it was very busy so were offered a drink while we waited to be taken to our room. The pub itself is full of atmosphere and with the fire burning in the bar was a very cosy place to relax. Our room at the very top of some old spiral stairs was full of character. We had lovely views from windows at the back of the pub and a view of the school at the front. Tea and coffee facilities and water were on a tray in the room. The bathroom is compact with a good shower. A free car park is a minute walk away if you're unable to park in front of the pub. We had a meal in the evening which we had booked in advance - delicious food. Breakfast was equally tasty and relaxed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the setting. The room was very warm cosy

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Loved the beautiful setting in the cotswolds and walks around.
Loved the hotel, good food and friendly staff. The room was warm cosy clean, a very comfortable bed and the teas, coffee available in the room very welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sauble Beach

Wonderful experience!

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The cutest room up in the top of this wonderful old building. A trek up narrow spiral stairs to a short door and entry to a lovely room. Lovely bed and all we could ask for. The breakfast in the morning was excellent. Dinner that nice also excellent. Delightful location in a thatched village. Staff outdid themselves!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Picture postcard village

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Better lighting in the room and smaller bath towels.
Location: It's near Oxford and there's no shortage of things to do around there. Personally we went to Blenheim Palace, which is stunning.
Arrived in Great Tew for the first time and didn't realise we had booked in a pub in a small village. It is delightful, the staff couldn't do enough to help and the food and beer was most excellent. If you are looking for the Hilton forget it but, if quaint well run thatched pub with creaky floor boards and winding corridors is what you want, then you couldn't ask for more. We were made to feel really welcome and will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely Village and interesting historic hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Lovely building and very helpful and friendly staff
Cons: Don't change anything; bedroom small but in building this old, quaint and quite acceptable.
Location: Didn't stay long but beautiful surroundings,
Just very enjoyable stay; will definitely return. .................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Quiet & very friendly period Inn in idyllic hamlet

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Stayed here on our way to visit family. We loved it so much we are going back. Staff, without exception, are friendly and helpful. Sarah in particular. Rustic but comfortable. Prices a little more than other places but made up by many other great features.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A Step Back in Time

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: The authentic feel. It was unfussy and straightforward with an excellent staff team.
Cons: A new mattress! It was very thin rather like a caravan's. Also a heated towel rail that had a mind of its own.
Location: Really rural. An ideal base from which to explore the Cotswolds.
Real "oldie worldie" in a delightful setting. The staff were excellent both efficient and friendly. The pub' and its gardens were a delight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Quaint Cotswold pub in a very quiet hamlet.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: It's position, staff and quietness of the cottage
Cons: Pub decor very dark
Location: Blenheim Palace
We stayed in the little terraced cottage which was very quiet and well equipped, nice crisp white bedding and soft towels in the bathroom. The bed was a bit small for us but the bedroom would not take a larger bed, so it was in proportion to the room. The view from the front bedroom window was gorgeous. We didn't eat at the pub because we have family in the area, but the pub was very busy during our stay.