Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Location and character
Perfect country pub ,good breakfast freshly cooked , bedroom comfortable what you would expect from an old pub .quiet location but easy to get to surrounding attraction , would recommend .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient pub/hotel, handy for touring the area

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Its convenience
Cons: The public rooms downstairs are looking a bit tired & could do with some refreshment (while needing to keep the 'pub' character)
Location: Handy for North Oxfordshire villages & on the edge of the Cotswolds
Pleasant. The room (No 1) was small but homely. The price was on the high side for what you get. A pleasant chat with the owner/manager/licensee at breakfast. She told us that they have recently taken it over, which probably explains why some things are yet to get fully up to speed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Yorks

Nice quiet country location

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Nice quiet location, great atmosphere
Cons: Don't change anything
Location: Lovely countryside location ideal centre for local sightseeing
Just a really good experience - staff very accommodating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice pub/hotel but nothing in vicinity

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Very old building and room and stairs not ideal for the elderly. Our rooms floor sloped down making it feel a little unsteady. But well worth a visit if you like old buildings and it certainly has a lot of character. The food was excellent as were the staff, very attentive. A little too far out from anywhere for me but if you want a relaxing stay and like history then this is ideal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

A VISIT TO A PLACE FONDLY REMEMBERED.

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Everything, really.
Cons: Well. I have a sentimental attachment to the place which could have set me up for a disappointment. Nothing about our stay disappointed, however.
Location: Beautiful village; didn't really look for things to do.
It might have proved a disappointment, but the pub had changed not a jot; the staff were friendly and accommodating; their dog and our dog go on well; the beer was good and there was a good choice; the food at dinner was fine if unspectacular; the breakfast was very good; the location is gorgeous; the accommodation cosy and comfortable but cramped (which is fair enough given that it is a conversion of a farm cottage dating from about 1630.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Superb Stay here

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Service , food, staff, local people, ambiance. Could not fault it at all.
Cons: Nothing to improve at all. Room was nice, quiet and comfortable for one night. Stayed room 1, had a very small bathroom but all else made up for that
Location: Lots to see and do nearby. Chipping Norton is a nice place to visit. Banbury good for a bit of shopping or sightseeing and of course Bicester village.
Stayed a night here with my daughter. We had an amazing time with good food, company and service followed by a mega good breakfast the next morning. The staff were fantastic and made us feel very welcome. They were attentive at all times without being imposing. We will definitely go here again as we spent the evening in the company of local clientele who were very friendly and welcoming.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
A warm welcome from friendly landlady and landlord. Friendly and characterful inn. Excellent breakfast , good food and decent ale. We will return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Proper English country pub !!!

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Good food , good beer ..... a great pub that's full of character !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

A wonderful place to stay

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: We loved its location and the fact it had so much character.
Cons: I'm struggling to think of anything I didn't like!
Location: The Falkland Arms is tucked away in the tiny village of Great Tew. We did a circular walk collecting,sloes,sweet chestnuts and brambles along the way.
A wonderful place to stay. Very friendly, helpful staff. We arrived when it was very busy so were offered a drink while we waited to be taken to our room. The pub itself is full of atmosphere and with the fire burning in the bar was a very cosy place to relax. Our room at the very top of some old spiral stairs was full of character. We had lovely views from windows at the back of the pub and a view of the school at the front. Tea and coffee facilities and water were on a tray in the room. The bathroom is compact with a good shower. A free car park is a minute walk away if you're unable to park in front of the pub. We had a meal in the evening which we had booked in advance - delicious food. Breakfast was equally tasty and relaxed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the setting. The room was very warm cosy

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Loved the beautiful setting in the cotswolds and walks around.
Loved the hotel, good food and friendly staff. The room was warm cosy clean, a very comfortable bed and the teas, coffee available in the room very welcome.